We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a 1 hour steamboat ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake George

Lake George
Lake George, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Lake George
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Motor-boating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: During a 1791 visit, Thomas Jefferson was moved to say, "Lake George is without comparison, the most beautiful water I ever saw." Not much has changed. Today this 32-mile long, 3-mile wide dazzling lake draws vactioners who come to enjoy a plethora of outdoor endeavors including sailing, swimming, cruising on historic steamboats, hiking and more.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Take a 1 hour steamboat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

1 hour steamboat ride on the Minne Ha Ha gives you a nice tour of the Southern portion of Lake George.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    169
    46
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake with clean water and Beach like atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the Lake in June 2013, stayed several hours on the Million dollar beach. We took the Minnie Ha-Ha steam boat ride for an hour. The boat ride was pleasant and relaxing with the steam puffing out in rhythms and the boat slowly moving through the gentle waves. The captain mentioned highlights of the houses along the lake and provided history during the ride.

There are many restaurants and shops along the beach road and Canada Street. You can park on the street near the meters or in public parking area where there were many parking spaces with parking meters.

Overall the shops and the atmosphere makes you think that you are in a shore town near an ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
203 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I visited the area on a trip from Albany to Lake Placid. It was well worth the duversion. There is a very nice sand beach. It was calm and I was struck by how calm and peaceful the lake was. Very nice!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lake George is so beautiful and the people are friendly and helpful. Just walking around the lake - even in the non-stop rain - was wonderful! I am sure our next visit will be more sunny, but honestly, we enjoyed both days we were there despite the rain!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing new”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Not a lot to do. Lots of miniature golf. Beautiful and quaint.Not worth a 5 hour trip. Good to recall some of my childhood, but doubt my children will have any lasting memories.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake George also viewed

 

Been to Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.