We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Stayed Aug 3 to 5. Very clean,large complex. Great pool. We had rooms right by the pool. Came with a group of 8 rooms of all ages. Everyone thought that the rooms were very nice. The food was Great. I did not see all the other rooms at the ranch but ours could not be better. I cannot beleive all the other bad reviews. We will be back next year.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable room, Great price
  • Disliked — no coffee pot in room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    12
    13
    22
See reviews for
33
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

We have stayed here a couple of times and always had a great time. This time there was many problems on the trail rides. There is a young wrangler who is only 16 years old and is very inexperienced. The father who runs the barn is letting him take out rides on his own and he can barely ride himself. We have never run into this before this year. This place has always had great experienced wranglers until this year. Be aware if you are sent on a ride alone with this wrangler as he has a very hard time controlling his own horse and due to his inability to ride has sent the other horses into a tailspin and it is not safe for inexperienced riders to be out alone with him. On our ride he almost fell off and upset all the horses behind him. Insist on one of the more experienced riders, Teddy , Cassidy or Jason be with your ride.
Wranglers are suppose to be 18 in New York and this wrangler has stated he is only 16 to the whole trail ride, but, that the office staff has been told he is 18 and he thought
We are hoping that Roaring brook will correct this situation as we believe they will lose a lot of business if they continue to make the guests fell unsafe on the trails with this child.
We always have loved coming here because of the great trail rides that Teddy has provided, but, we will not return until this situation is taken care of. We hope the management will remedy this situation quickly before someone gets hurt on the trails. The food is wonderful and staff is great and you can’t beat the location.
Andrea the bartender is a huge asset to the pool bar and makes everyone feel welcome. Jen at the front desk couldn’t be nicer.
Just be careful on the trails if you are sent with the young wrangler Dillon.

  • Liked — Horses
  • Disliked — Feeling unsafe on the trail rides for the first time
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

All the Lake George hotels seemed to be booked for the weekend and the RBR looked half good on the Internet and had availability. So when we arrived in Lake George at 10 pm on Friday nigh, we went directly there. We paid 159$. The room was kind of musty and really needed some paint.

In the morning we went for breakfast in the main lodge. It had known better time to say the least. We paid 9 $ for an OK breakfast. The highlight was the fresh fruits (strawberries, blueberries and pineapple). Then we decided to go to the pool. We were alone for about 30 minutes before one family arrived. The water was freezing and again the pool had known better times. We then decided to go see the horses, which we only saw from far. We also went to the "playground", which was not a safe place for our 3-year old daughter.

The RBR must have been a nice place and very popular in the 80s but right now, it is a sad place and way too expensive for what they offer.

  • Liked — It was very calm
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We were disappointed when driving into the Roaring Brook because the outside was not in the best shape and was definitely an indication of what the rooms looked like. From weeds growing everywhere to a need for a good painting, this place looks like its been ignored for some time. The rooms are very old! Stained carpets, both live and dead bugs, chipped tiles in the bathroom, and moldy smell are a description of what we had in our room. I cannot believe this hotel can charge over $150 per night when the rooms look like $50 ones.
This place is also very quiet. We noticed that all other hotels in the area were booked, but the Roaring Brook was very much available....not a good thing.
Lastly, we had no hot water in the morning. The groundskeeper/maintenance man said that other guests might have used it up. I've never run out of hot water in a hotel and oddly enough, who was using it? The place is practically empty!

  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in the village.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

I had read the reviews after booking / shortly before going and was very negative, especially after gettting there and the first room did have an odor and the AC unit was not working properly. They upgraded our room quickly at no extra charge, The food was phenomenal ( one dinner had the best scallops I had ever had . That was just one choice ... ) The horseback riding was great as well. We had to catch an early flight and the waitresses packed us a truly great lbreakfast to take with us...

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

The room was disappointing at $240. It had the smell of an old hotel. The sink in our unit sputtered everytime it was used (the hotel was not full while in the height of tourist season...a bad indication) probably because it wasn't used in quite some time. Tennis courts were bumpy (okay for duffers) which was disappointing in a place that uses "tennis" in its name. Breakfast and suppers were included. The menu was limited, and of poor quality (agian please reference the $240 price tag). There were two pool tables...had to pay to use them. In the end...threw away the money and left...couldn't spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

Fall colors hadn't quite started yet, but the view was lovely and their friendly staff always tried to please us. We had stayed here 5 years earlier and looked forward to returning to see the staff and the place itself.

Room was clean and waking up in the morning with the smell the fresh Adirondack air made a good start to each day.

The horse riding was pleasant but just hanging around the place is always fun. We will return again.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Address: Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Hotel Lake George
Roaring Brook Ranch And Tennis Resort
Roaring Brook Hotel Tennis
Roaring Brook Resort Tennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.