We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice property, needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this hotel via the internet, and since it was a last minute booking, it was one of the last places available to stay for Labor Day weekend. It was fine, but here is what I would have liked to have known before booking.

1) The place must have been built in the late 50's/early 60's and basically has not been updated since. It is about 2 miles from the Village of Lake George, so you still have to drive into town if you want to be near all the activities. I mention this because parking can be difficult in the little town - the municipal meters run 7 days a week including holidays and there aren't many parking lots.

2) The property has a few different buildings to stay in, almost like college campus dorms. The room we booked ended up getting a leak that dripped onto the back of the air conditioner and made an incredibly loud plinking sound which couldn't be stopped, so we had to switch rooms. We were also on the first floor and the people above us were incredibly loud, which had more to do with the construction of the building then the people. The staff was very nice and helpful with this.

3) The second room we stayed in was a smoker's room, and so it smelled really bad. It also did not have a land line phone or refrigerator, which was fine but a little odd. Luckily, there were no more leaks and the room was quiet. The place doesn't use fitted sheets on the beds, so just know the sheets will ride up during the night to expose an open mattress.

4) There are a number of activities to do on the property - 3 swimming pools (2 outside, 1 inside), shuffleboard, tennis, and archery (mostly for kids). They should update their equipment, as the tennis balls were falling apart and the bow/arrows looked like they were about to fall apart, but I guess everything is still usable.

5) Our stay was fine, but like I mentioned earlier, the place needs major renovations in order to bring it up to modern hotel standards. It was fine for a last minute budget trip, but I thought other people might want to know more about the place before booking.

Room Tip: Try to book on the second floor so there is no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piper O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just Plan Nasty And Distgusting. We Stayed Friday To Sunday. We Were Suppose To Stay Till Monday Labor Day But Left A Day Early. We Literally Were The Only Car On Property When We Arrived On Friday And The Lights Outside Of The Building We Were Staying At Were Shut Off. We Had To Ask The Hotel To Turn Them On. We Asked Why It Was So Quiet. They Said Oh, Were Sold Out Saturday Night Which Turned Out To Be A Lie. Ok, The Rooms Were gross Full Of Black Mold, Rust, Dead Bugs, Cobb Webs, Chipped Paint, Broken And Old Everything. The Rooms Also Smelled Like Mold And An Old Basement. The Rooms Were Non Smoking Yet The Cleaning Lady Smoked As She Cleaned The Rooms. The Indoor And Outdoor Pools Were Full Of Mold. You Couldn't Sit Anywhere That Is How Bad It. We Complained But It Got Us No Where. Just A Rude Staff Member Acting As If Everything Was A Big Surprise. The Entire Place Is Run Down And Old And Needs Major Maintenance. It Needs To Be Condemed. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY There Are Many Other Options In The Lake George Area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iroc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Pittsford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Roaring Brook could be a great spot for a vacation with some TLC.... horse backing riding was great and the views are good. Needs some updating and this would be the place to stay. I was told updating would happen IN 2014, WE WILL SEE. I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN WITH SOME CHANGES. EVEN IF YOU DONT STAY AT ROARING BROOK CHECK OUT THE HORSE BACK RIDING ITS A LOT OF FUN!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pose008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatineau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First time ever to comment on trip advisor. DO NOT GO TO THIS SO CALL RESORT. stayed for 1 night. it was run down and dirty. couldn't believe how dirty our room was. we took some pics and complained the next morning. they sent us a check for $25 to compensate. what a joke. i know some folks would say better than nothing however we should have at least received half our money back. so ok there is a rustic feel to the grounds but that's it. the only good thing about this place is the location. should have booked the Quality Inn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syl4mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed one night. The beds needed some serious updating. Very under-staffed at bar and dinning. was not worth 150.00. I should have booked the budget inn.
Its really to bad because I love the rustic feel and the land and location was great. I loved walking up to the stables to see and pet the horses. They will fold or go under if they don't get busy updating all of it and hire some help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a joke and a bad joke it was on me. Over $300. for 2 nights and no hot water and customer service does not begin to even exist here,called down to front desk to tell them they said they would send someone to check boiler like this was probably a common problem they consistently have. No apology not even a check back to see if problem was remedied I believe they could have cared less they had my money. Not even a apology or any concern upon check out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbievt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#16 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodges at Cresthaven
Lodges at Cresthaven
#3 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#35 of 89 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Address: Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roaring Brook Ranch And Tennis Resort
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Hotel Lake George
Roaring Brook Hotel Tennis
Roaring Brook Resort Tennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing