We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting something better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Middletown, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I was expecting something better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

these facilities have a lot of potential, but the site is neglected ... the old rooms ... the cold water runs through quickly to hot and cold hot changes alone ... the beds are too small for my husband who is six feet was impossible because his feet were hanging off the bed .... in my opinion this hotel lacks affection and conditioning urgent. One thing is certain is close to everything.

Room Tip: Not at all... need to changes beds sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    12
    13
    22
See reviews for
33
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This resort was a pretty fun time. There are tennis courts, horseback riding, pools, arcade, and a fitness center. The hotel has free parking. The rooms were a little outdated and were a little dirty. There was a suspicious white powder all throughout the room which bothered me. The amenities here are great but the rooms need work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schroon Lake, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I spent a wonderful long weekend at Roaring Brook Ranch this Spring 2012! The grounds were gorgeous, coupled with domestic geese floating on the pond, many well-fed horses to ride on the trails, and wild turkeys to view at nightfall! The resort is close to the Village if you want the busy nightlife, but far enough away to enjoy a relaxing vacation with your family. My children loved the wranglers, waitresses, pools and tennis courts. My husband and I agreed that the American plan, which includes your breakfast and dinner, was the hidden jewel at this beautiful resort. The food was delicious and service superb! Booked for next year already!

Room Tip: Abilene building second floor was perfect. Looked at suites, they were very nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Me and my family went to lake George for a week we didn't know we're to stay until we saw Roaring Brook. We had such a great time. We love how there were 3 pools to chooses from. We also loved the horses and cute geese. The staff came to our every need. We loved it and we are coming back next year

Room Tip: Ask for the maid Donna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was concerned by some of the reviews, raves and complaints, after I had already made reservations. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean (extremely important to me), but the entire place had seen better days, probably in the seventies or eighties. The rooms were dated and could use some upgrades and the property could use a bit of maintenance, their sign out front is broken. Would I stay again, not likely...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had a great stay at Roaring Brook. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and the food is great. Will go back many times.

Room Tip: Any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was quite surprised to stay at this resort for the first time-- good value. 1 mile south of Lake George village, big rooms (easily would accomodate parents +4 kids....), 3 nice pools. Definately showing some age, but clean, and at $100/night, hard to beat in the peak season! Huge property with lots of room for roaming.

PS: management, you need to add an on-line booking system-- I hate going thru other providers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Address: Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Hotel Lake George
Roaring Brook Ranch And Tennis Resort
Roaring Brook Hotel Tennis
Roaring Brook Resort Tennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.