We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RBR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Albany, New York
1 review
“RBR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Me and my family went to lake George for a week we didn't know we're to stay until we saw Roaring Brook. We had such a great time. We love how there were 3 pools to chooses from. We also loved the horses and cute geese. The staff came to our every need. We loved it and we are coming back next year

Room Tip: Ask for the maid Donna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    12
    11
    18
See reviews for
31
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was concerned by some of the reviews, raves and complaints, after I had already made reservations. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean (extremely important to me), but the entire place had seen better days, probably in the seventies or eighties. The rooms were dated and could use some upgrades and the property could use a bit of maintenance, their sign out front is broken. Would I stay again, not likely...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had a great stay at Roaring Brook. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and the food is great. Will go back many times.

Room Tip: Any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was quite surprised to stay at this resort for the first time-- good value. 1 mile south of Lake George village, big rooms (easily would accomodate parents +4 kids....), 3 nice pools. Definately showing some age, but clean, and at $100/night, hard to beat in the peak season! Huge property with lots of room for roaming.

PS: management, you need to add an on-line booking system-- I hate going thru other providers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

For many years my family has been coming to RBR. What we like is that everything is so self contained. The kids can run free as it is set on several thousand acres. Horseback riding is what most people come for but there is tennis, 3 pools (one indoor), restuarant, 2 bars and a beautiful lodge.Service is very friendly and we see the same nice faces year after year. It's like coming home.

Room Tip: One of the newer lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Have stayed at the hotel for the second year in a row. Found the rooms comfortalbe, clean, and roomy. Brings you back to the seventy's with those big room keys (not those electronic card swipes). Staff was polite, cleaning staff was terrific. Will stay at this hotel next year when we come back for the car show on the second weekend in september.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

When we first arrived things did not seem that bad until,,,,,,,,,,,,,, We saw the broken down lodges that were empty and the water fountain that was fallen apart. Still we entered where we were greeted by Ginny. Personality is not her best qualtiy not sure what is. However, we do know that she firmly will tell you that she knows nothing about policy but she has worked there since 1966. The way the place looks well you can believe that not much has changed. Our room was smelly and had ripped wallpaper and we still shudder at the thought of what came out of the air conditioner. The pool outside looked like it might swallow you whole. The indoor door one was not that bad if you could get past the dirty and smell of the indoor area. Once you entered the pool that was cloudy you smell the stench of dead fish.
The dinner service well, you gotta give them a 1 star for effort. You just can not think to much about all the double dipping with the dressing that is passed through out the dinning hall ... YUMMY!!!! There are no activties for the kids other than getting asthma from the mold. Let's just say that if you want to be in a theme filled vacation then go here you are just waiting for the dead to party with you and you never know what you mind find popping out of the shower. Ginny thank you for our stay and always pointing out you have been there since 1966... It shows.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort

Address: Rte. 9N South, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Hotel Lake George
Roaring Brook Ranch And Tennis Resort
Roaring Brook Hotel Tennis
Roaring Brook Resort Tennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roaring Brook Ranch & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.