We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started shaky, ended beautifully!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Depe Dene Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Depe Dene Resort to your Saves list
Depe Dene Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3494 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT SPECIAL!!!!
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
North Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Started shaky, ended beautifully!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We were staying at Depe Dene during Americade and had booked one of the two Mountain Cabins. The first night everything was fine, but then on the second as more of our group arrived and used the toilet more, our toilet overflowed, and our tub started filling up. We called the office around midnight, not realizing they weren't on call 24/7, which is understandable, but we couldn't flush our toilet or put toilet paper in it for the rest of the night, which obviously was pretty gross! The next morning the maintanence man came and thought he took care of the problem, which in the mean time they let us go down to one of the empty cabins to shower and use the bathroom, but not 10 minutes later when we where doing our dishes in the kitchen, the tub and toilet both filled up again. It was agreed that the problem was going to take some time and work to resolve, so we would need to be moved. The cabin we were in had 3 bedrooms each with 2 double beds. At first they suggested we move to a cabin with 3 double beds total and put my daughter on the couch, but to us that was not an option, so they came up with a much nicer solution, one which will keep us returning as customers for many years to come. They moved us to the owners private estate on the lake, where he has a guest cottage, which they rent out as part of the hotel. The cottage itself was a generous upgrade compared to our other cabin. It was 2 stories, with 4 bedrooms, 6 beds in total and huge kitchen and a livingroom with 3 couches plus 2 bathrooms. The 2 downstairs bedrooms both have sliders out to a stone patio w/ tables and chairs set probably 30 ft up the hill from the lake. Absolutely beautiful! Then we found out after that that we also had the use of the nearby gazebo, and beyond that a fire pit area with chairs and a 4 person rocking chair swing, and the farther down, we were also aloud to use the private beach. I have to thank Ana...she was nothing but helpful and out of the 2 women working in the office, she was extra friendly and outgoing, and really seemed to care that we got what we paid for and more, and that we were truely satisfied customers, which we were. Ana...thanks again and can't wait to see you again next June! I encourage more customers of Depe Dene to write in there good expierences because it really is a great place to stay. Only one little complaint...it said the pool is heated, but it was a cold as the ocean...if your going to advertise for a heated pool, you should let your customers know ahead of time if it isn't before they all jump in and freeze to death! :) Overall though, great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    11
    9
    39
See reviews for
71
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I was looking for a nice quiet and relaxing getaway before the birth of our first baby and this was definitely the place! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Has a private beach right on the lake. Mary the desk manager is so kind and helpful with anything you need. Can't wait for our stay again next summer with the new little one!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

For the past 8 years we have been going to the Depe Dene for an annual venue. I guess we were gluttons for punishment. Not anymore!! This last visit pushed us over the edge. Every year that we have been there, there has been a problem with the water. Either the hot water doesn't work or the water itself doesn't work. One year we had no water for 2 days. The owner, being the cheapskate that he is, wouldn't call a plumber to fix the line. He kept going to Home Depot to get parts. When his maintenance person was unable to fix it, he was fired! It wasn't his fault-it was a major break. No, we did not get any compensation at all-the owner's excuse was that a biker on his motorcycle broke it. Lame. I will give him credit for last year and this year for getting the hot water heater fixed right away though. But, what I don't understand is why they don't check/replace parts as soon as the water is turned back on. These sit all winter so obviously there's going to be problems. Now for the cabin. I can understand a little mildewy smell. After all they sit closed up all winter and are opened right before we come in but they don't clean spider webs or even spray inside and out for the Carpenter Ants. The shower is ridiculous-the shower head is so low that you have to bend down to take a shower and I'm not even tall! The kitchen lacks-if you want to actually cook while you're there you better bring your own pots/pans. And dish towels too. One year I opened the silverware drawer and it was filled with 2 inches of water. I had to empty, clean and dry the drawer and the silverware. The rugs are sticky, dirty and smelly. I don't think they've ever been cleaned. I guess they vacuum but that's even questionable. The couch and chair are sticky, dirty and smelly too. And they are falling apart. The cushions are sunk down and it's like sitting on a board. With the $$ this place charges, I can't understand why they don't replace them. They have to be at least 20 years old. The beds are gross too. I will not sleep under their sheets and blankets. I bring a sheet that I put over the bedspread and my own blankets. I even bring my own pillow. Only one bedroom has a mirror. The lighting in the bathroom and bedrooms is dark and yellow. It makes you look like you have jaundice. Now for the office staff. Although a couple of them can be pleasant, you can tell they don't want to be bothered. Two years ago they had someone in there that caused a lot of problems. She lied, lied,lied. Last year the owner said he fired her because of the problems. Well, guess who was back this year? Yup, same woman. And she lied, lied, lied again. When she was there two years ago she rented the cabin across from us to kids-no adults. All they did was scream and yell all nite-they were sleeping in cars, etc. She didn't care. Last year the owner apologized and promised us it wouldn't happen again and that they don't rent to anyone under 25 but last year there were more kids. This year the same. These kids screamed and yelled all nite. Each time there were no adults in the cabin. I called the office around 10:30PM and she said to me that she went down and told them to be quiet and then told me that they were going out. Well, they went out alright-outside the cabin where they continued to scream and yell. Once again she lied. We finally closed all the windows, went into the back bedroom, closed the door and put on a table fan we brought with us. We did try calling the office again but she had locked and left. That's another thing-God forbid you have an emergency at nite. There's no one in the office after 10-10:30PM. They don't even have a number to call or leave a listing of the police or fire dept. You're on your own. You have to wait until the morning for the office to open and even then they don't get in until 8AM if your lucky. Needless to say we're not going back next year. Eight years is more than enough. We're not the only ones that they have lost either. A lot of the regulars from over the years didn't come back. The owner doesn't care-ask any other business owner in town and you will find that they don't like him at all. He's nasty and uncaring. Just in it for the money. He didn't even say anything to us this year at all-would show up for a quick visit to the office and leave. Stay at the Boulders - heard it's much better. We have found a place that's new, clean and has a friendly office staff that is there 24/7. Can't wait. Steer clear of the Depe Dene. Maybe a long time ago it was nice but not anymore. It should be sold and bought by someone that would try to make it nice again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decator,tn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Mary is back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Give her a call!
I would recommend this hotel to my friends . The place is awsome. So many things for the kids to do and adults.They even had smores night with a nice campfire. A cookout on the beach. Many people think it should be like the Hilton. You have to look at the cottages as a cottage and not the Hilton or your home.They now have new microwaves also. The Deli has great food and the Lone Bull has awsome food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This place is absolutely relaxing, as a family we had BBQ every night .The location was close to everything there was a person on the beach every day to help us.The cleaning crew has to clean every cabin/motel in less then 1 day,may need more help there.But overall was very satisfied.DEFINITELY WILL BE BACK LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The only thing this place has going for it is it's beach, and the new trek floating dock. The first cabin we checked into was dirty - filthy, gross, to the point where we seriously contemplated trying to find a new place to stay. They offered us a different cabin, which was clean, but still dingy.

They do have good amenities - games, playground, beach...but when we went, the pool was not heated, and there was no water taxi to bring you downtown.

After our trip we visited a different resort that was much nicer - The Juliana. We're planning on staying there next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

My family vacationed here in august 2009, been comming up here for 27 years. We have had sometimes over 20 in our party renting thre to five units . We put a lot of money in the owners pocket when you figure its around 2,000 per week per unit to stay here. Over the years you expect to see improvement in this type resort,however the last 3 to 4 years i=the resort has fallen down in quality,service and just a general attitude problem. No money is going back into this place as the rooms are run down ...smelly moldy carpets, tile dirty and broken, toilet facilities broken , a smell of propane gas from the stove in the room. Outside raillings broken and grills. And to top it off the so called new manager is the worst one yet in the past 17 years.....rude and nasty oblivious to your complaints with the I have to talk to the owner and get back to you but never does. The owner is too old to care anymore and is just worried about taking your money, not families spending thier hard earned money only to find a I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU OR HOW YOUR VACATION HERE IS GOING FROM THE MANAGEMENT?OWNER!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Depe Dene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depe Dene Resort

Address: 3494 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Depe Dene Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depe Dene Resort is an 1800's Scottish Estate situtated on 11 acres. There are 87 different cottages, townhouses, and rooms/suites along the shores of beautiful Lake George with an array of options to meet your group or family’s budget and needs. Our Resorts boasts a 270 degree view of Lake George as well as the largest, privately owned beach on Lake George with paddle boats, kayaks and row boats. The Original Estate House, built in 1860 is available, featuring 11 bedrooms, 7 1/2 baths, three Jacuzzis, a solarium as well as numerous observation decks overlooking the lake. We offer arts & craft classes for children and give parents a worry free chance to relax. New this year: Yoga classes, private Kung Fu and Self Defense class by the lake are available by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Depe Dene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depe Dene Hotel Lake George
Depe Dene Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Depe Dene Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.