We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad the BIG hotel was overbooked” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake George Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake George Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lake George Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
47 Montcalm street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Lake George B&B and Inns
Southern NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glad the BIG hotel was overbooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The young couple who run this inn are wonderful hosts. They really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. The place is super clean (a MUST for me) and the bed was comfortable. They also upgraded us to a larger room because the inn was not fully booked and the extra sitting room turned out to be really great for our three day weekend. THANK YOU! These two have their people skills down- if you want to chat they are more than happy to, and if you want to eat quietly they make themselves scarce. There isn't a big 'Waltons' style table, but a few different tables and a generous two hour breakfast window so you can sit alone or mingle. The breakfasts are out of this world good and if you don't care for what on 'todays menu' they are more than happy to make something else without even a hint that it is a bother. We had fresh (and good) coffee every morning and walked down to the lake which was practically across the street. The inn is close enough t walk to everything and just far back enough to have a quiet night's sleep if you turn in early. We came for a big Tiki event and that hotel was booked solid. I'm glad now because we were able to leave the party and retreat to our quiet room at the inn, and I know no one at the other hotel had breakfasts like we did-Super Yummy!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The hosts were absolutely warm and welcoming and the location is within easy walking distance of the main drag. The main dining area is gorgeous and perhaps it was after walking through this area that our room with the King bed was a little disappointing due to a lack of overall warmth and decor. I know from the journal entries that Mike and Marilyn recently began running the B&B so maybe they have plans to warm it up but so far it was not so hot. Also if I had known that it would sound like elephants on my head from the room above, I would not have chosen this room - they were up and walking about from 6am-8am on the one morning we wanted nothing more than to sleep in away from the kids. The private entrance to this room was the only plus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBBInnkeeper, Owner at Lake George Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
We’re glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of the inn, the high cleanliness, and our service. We’re so very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with a wonderful B&B experience in every respect. Had we known you were unhappy, we would have done everything in our power to make it right for you.

All of our rooms are decorated differently, and hopefully everyone will find a style to suit their tastes. We’re dismayed to hear that you did not find your room’s décor to be warm. You are right that we are always adding to the rooms – we search for special, beautiful, and unusual pieces to make each room something to remember, yet a place to feel relaxed and at home. It is unfortunate that the picture you posted did not include the gorgeous heirloom-quality quilt we had just purchased for the bed. We think its colorful patterns make the room lovely and inviting. Most recently we have added an exceptional antique accent table and lamp and a pretty art piece to that room.

We certainly understand the need for a quiet vacation, and are disappointed that we did not provide that for you on this occasion. The B&B is usually a very quiet place with extremely respectful guests. Our guests often compliment us on being a “quiet oasis.” As in most hotels and inns, you will probably occasionally hear sounds from other guests. However it sounds as though you were quite unlucky to have an early-rising guest treading heavily above you. Of course, had we known, we would have found the best way to compensate you.

The room you stayed in is one of our most-requested rooms among return guests. Guests love that room, so we are both surprised and saddened that you did not. We hope that you will return to the B&B one day to find a room that meets your expectations and provides you with the rest you deserve. We think you will find us one of the best values in Lake George. We have taken your comments to heart and will always continue striving to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Located on quiet street very close to the lake. Run by a very nice couple who cooks amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood-Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My dear lady and I arrived at the Lake George B&B to a warm and enthusiastic welcome from Marilyn Holmes, who owns the establishment with husband Mike. Both are down to earth, upbeat, and genuinely caring Innkeepers. Our room was bright, cheery, and very nicely appointed, keeping with the theme of the entire Inn. The bath was spacious, the bedding very comfortable, and the inclusion of a wall mounted flat panel TV provided welcome additional space for all of our "stuff". The common areas of the Inn, dining room, living room and kitchen, were all well kept, very clean, and comfortable. Parking is off street, on the Inn property.

Marilyn and Mike share cooking duties, and alternate days on which they cook and serve breakfast. Both are excellent chefs. Breakfasts were freshly prepared to order, abundant, and absolutely delicious, with Marilyn preparing savory dishes, while Mike prepares sweeter offerings.

The Inn is located two blocks from the town beach, which was unfortunately closed due to a broken sewer main. The state park beach is approximately twenty minutes leisurely strolling time, or five minutes drive, along the lakefront. Making us aware that the town beach was closed, Marilyn and Mike offered to pay for our parking ($8 daily) at the state beach, which was a wonderful gesture on their part, and speaks well of the type of hosts this couple truly are. We politely refused the offer, opting to stroll to the state beach, and would not have taken the offer had we driven.

We dined at several restaurants in the area, J.C. Montana's, Shepard's Cove, and Pumpernickel's, and I shall review each individually in separate discourse.

Suffice to state that we truly enjoyed our four nights at the Lake George B&B, and the warm hospitality of the Holmes'. We would definitely return, and have discussed so doing when the fall foliage is in full color. Many thanks to Marilyn and Mike for making our stay truly enjoyable.

Gary and Joan

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I booked this entire B&B for a reunion with some college friends and we all loved it here!
Mike and Marilyn, the innkeepers, were extremely attentive and accomodating to our needs. I dont think i've ever dont business with nicer people and they were so helpful in giving recommendations and tips and having our trip run smoothly. They even let us use their kitchen and grill! Also, their breakfasts are amazing and will surely leave you stuffed!

The B&B itself is both beautiful and well situated. It's just a block off the heart of the village and its easy to just leave the B&B and stroll around without feeling lost. The B&B is also just 2 blocks away from a small beach on the lake! I've never actually in a B&B before, and this place has turned me onto them. It's comparable to a hotel and much better than a motel. I wasn't sure what to expect from the rooms, but they were clean, adorable, and equipped with quality amenities.

I absolutely loved this B&B and Mike and Marilyn!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We visited this b and b for my birthday last year and couldn't have been more pleased. The hosts, Marilyn and Mike, were enthusiastic and helpful (and their adorable little girl Caitlyn just blew us away), the rooms--both private and public--were warm and inviting, and the breakfasts were fabulous. Try to stay over a Thursday night; the town has fabulous fireworks and the beachfront, one block away from the b and b, was a perfect place from which to watch.
We've stayed in b and b's all over the world and feel that this one is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We recently stayed at this B&B for Americade. The place is perfectly situated close enough to the festivities but far enough to be quiet. The Hosts are fantastic and make your stay worry free. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The breakfasts were unique and delicious. This is a must stay when you want to park your car or bike and just see the sights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake George Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George Bed and Breakfast

Address: 47 Montcalm street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lake George b&b
Lake George Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake George Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.