We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy D's Cafe

Sammy D's Cafe
1444 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-3480
518-793-3978
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 146 restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Great food definitely not your typical mall food , all food made fresh and tastes great. It doesn't look fancy but its the food that counts and it was excellent and service was also very friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    36
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place doesn't look that much at first. Once you taste it, you just want to go back. Food is homemade fresh and the service always with a smile. They even surprised us with an free ice cream delight, when we were done eating. It is in the entrance of a mall so don't expect any cosy atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“[UPDATE] This place just got a whole lot better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Now I have to say I have loved the food this place puts out from the start, its amazingly prepared fresh each order. I have reviewed this eatery in the past with flying colors, other than the dining area that used to be, well, nasty. They have completely redone the dining area with all surfaces new, clean and pleasant. No more putting napkins on the seats before sitting on them..... lol. Keep in mind the owner/cook here is a CIA graduate master chef, its a hole in the wall (literally) shop, but incredible food every time. Right next door to the Under Armour outlet, great place to be located. My favorite is "The Chief", a roasted turkey sandwich with bacon, avocado and a signature spicy BBQ sauce, awesome! Their pizza is all home made from scratch each day as well, and it is incredible. This is an all gluten free menu, I am not a gluten free guy but nonetheless, this food is all 110% excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OMG Delicious! Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When you are done shopping at the outlets stop here and eat at Sammy D's!! My daughter and I shopped here and we could smell the food when we got out of the Dress Barn!
We followed our nose and found this small counter where you could purchase food. Across the aisle were tables and we thought...hmmm.
We were greatly surprised at the quality and quantity of food! The staff was wonderful and helpful! I ordered a quesadios (sp?) with chicken, cheese and onion and it was better than any restaurant that I have ever been to! Crispy on the outside and the inside, just melty delciousness!
My daughter had a pulled pork sandwhich and she also said that it was the best she had ever had. She said that it wasn't all runny and gooey and had big chunks of pork in it to give it that great pork flavor. While we were there they had just made some homeade tollhouse cookie ice cream sandwiches and we got a sample! Homeade cookie taste with different ice cream flavors!
I of course had to buy one to split with my daughter after that taste test!
Will def stop in here again!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have to echo the great reviews on Sammy D's. This little gem focuses on quality, taste and choice for each customer. Not only are the breads and desserts freshly baked, the customer has the opportunity to mix and match a variety of ingredients. The staff offers additional suggestions for combinations or items that go together well. The talents of the trained-chef/owner are evident in this taste experience. It will be a required stop for my family whenever we're in the Albany-Lake George corridor of the Northway.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy D's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sammy D's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy D's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.