We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Grove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Grove Cottages
Save
You added Pine Grove Cottages to your Saves list
90 Philip St, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Everything about this "cottage" was horriable. The Hosts were pushy and rude, my family did not enjoy our stay and will not be returning to this property EVER AGAIN!!! If you have low standards and enjoy bugs and filth, mold and mildew... than this is the place for you!!! Also, there was no space at all in our cabin to function, and my daughter ended up waking up with strange red bites all over her body that we later found out were bedbugs.... Just, do yourself a favor and cross this place off your list!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hmmm ... We're impressed with the vehemence Margeret S. brings to her complaint, especially since we've never had anyone from Oklahoma stay with us. We suggest readers consider this outrage in the context of our other, more truthful reviews from people who have actually been here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse,NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed mid August. The location is close to the village but far enough away that feel like you are away from it all. It's probably about a 10 min walk into the village. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin w/ loft. It was very clean and had everything we needed for 2 couples with kids. The kids were too young to use the loft but for those older it would be a perfect spot to have fun and sleep. As others mentioned they could use either more firepits or a big community pit. One is next to cabin 9 and the other wasn't convenient for us. The pool was very clean. It was quiet at night which was nice for the kids to sleep and adults to enjoy outside. Not many bugs either! The shower worked fine and so did the TV if that is your thing. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose cabin 9 if you want to be near a firepit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

Our family had a great time in Lake George. Peter and Lori were very friendly and helpful. Our girls, aged 9 & 10, loved their loft and the large in-ground pool. Our cabin was the perfect size for us. Our only complaint was that there should be more fire pits. There are two. We only felt that we could use one as the second is tucked behind 2 cabins and seemed like it belonged to those specific cabins. There was not much room for another family to join us with their chairs. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend Pine Grove Cottages for other families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My family and I were disappointed in our visit. The cottages were very expensive and my family and I did not feel welcome by the hosts. I would not return to these cottages in the future. There are many other nice accommodations in Lake George that cost the same or less than Pine Grove cottages.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacandaga, ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just average cottages, location is not ideal for the price you pay. Owners not accomodating or friendly. Many repairs needed. Pool was dirty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
We never like to read complaints from guests who remained silent while here, because we hate losing the chance to fix what bothered them so they could enjoy their time with us. In our first 30 months we’ve made huge progress to transform a dated property into a modern, welcoming one. "Just average?" Maybe, before we overhauled two dreary camp showers into lovely and spacious tiled bathrooms, or completely gutted out two cabins while opening up cathedral ceilings in three more. "Many repairs needed?" We've got a list of things we can’t wait to mend or replace as soon as time allows -- but if there was something in particular you noticed during your stay, we wish you had pointed it out and allowed us to set things right for you immediately. "Pool dirty?" No. Just no. We vacuum twice a week and monitor it throughout every day, and we receive many compliments on our pool. It can be a challenge to maintain a pool in our woodsy setting, but it is a challenge we gladly undertake because it is one of our guests' favorite features. But we're most off-put by the suggestion that we are not accommodating or friendly. We live on-site, we welcome every guest personally, and we never fail to ask what else we can do to make each guest more comfortable -- as most of our other reviewers have attested. If you didn't find us to be friendly, please consider whether you gave us the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Despite the constant rain - we had a great time in our 2 bedroom cottage. Peter and Lori were very friendly and accomodating and the cottage was very clean with a great loft. My kids loved the loft, making campfires and the location was great. Close to the village but away from the hustle and bustle. Hope to be back next year. Would highly recommend...

Room Tip: check the website for specials..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

peter and Lori we're great hosts. the cottages were clean, and cozy. they will go above and beyond to make sure your stay comfortable. the kids loved the upstairs loft, and the bedrooms were big enough for a queen sized bed, and a playpen for our baby. made our family vacation just that much less stressful, would highly recommend these cottages. tucked away for privacy, and minutes away from all the fun of the lake George strip. A +++

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks Ashley--
We loved having you guys here too! It was a big effort adding the lofts our first year, but the right age (and size) kids really treasure them. We'll see you again next summer!
Warm regards,
Peter & Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Cottages

Address: 90 Philip St, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten charming, updated 1BR, 2BR and studio cabins, all with kitchens, several w/sleeping lofts. Big, beautiful pool, 4 blocks to main drag, owners always available, great family spot. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Grove Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.