We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new restaurant on our A list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro LeRoux

Bistro LeRoux
668 State Route 149, Lake George, NY 12845-3520
518-798-2982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 146 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Bistro LeRoux, chef-owned and operated by culinary team Jacob and Tiffany Guay. Located at the corner of Bay Road and State Route 149, Bistro LeRoux blends the heritage inherent in its name with the innovation of its menu to offer a truly unique dining experience.Its menu offers sophisticated Adirondack Cuisine made with only the season’s freshest ingredients. Items range from its Veal Osso Bucco, to its Grand Marnier Bur Blanc Grilled Salmon. Bistro LeRoux is proud to also offer half-plate options to suit any appetite, and well as gluten-free and vegetarian meals. A full menu, including a children’s and dessert menu, can be viewed on this page. With so many options for dining, and a great selection of food brought to you in the spirit of family, all that’s missing from Bistro LeRoux is your company!Bistro LeRoux is open Wednesday - Sunday, (Closed Monday and Tuesday), from 5 pm to close.
Halfmoon, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A new restaurant on our A list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has a cozy and welcoming atmosphere. Our server, Nicole, was personable and perfectly described each entree with enthusiasm. The restaurant offers small and large salad and entree portions. This is a plus for small eaters. The entrees ordered, small portion Surf and Turf and full portion Cabernet Braised Short Ribs, were impeccable. Bistro LeRoux is a restaurant that should be on your to go list.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    69
    22
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Far Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best culinary prowess near Lake George.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Dined at LeRoux for the first time last night and plan to return soon. After many years of visiting and dining in lake George, last night was the first time it felt like we were having something truly special. I had their glazed pear salad with mascarpone to start. This was followed up by the surf and turf - perfectly prepared fillet mignon with shrimp wrapped in prosciutto on a bed of the creamiest mashed potatoes. Both were perfectly seasoned and fresh. The fillet mignon had just the right amount of pink for the medium rare quality i requested. It was deliciously tender and juicy. Lastly, and to me, this was nearly as important as the taste of the meal - their portion sizes. Nearly all the items on the menu allow you to choose your portion size. I feel that the small is probably the amount of food that is healthier for a normal person to consume during a meal, especially if you also order an appetizer. The waitresses was also very good at describing the portion size, down to the ounces in case you're not sure what amount will be sufficient for you. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any special event or just a delicious treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in Lake George area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I spent much of the week in Lake George exploring historical and natural sites, but resigning ourselves to overpriced, lack luster food. It was then a very pleasant surprise to come across all the positive reviews of Bistro Le Roux on trip advisor.

The food is indeed the star here. A really nice feature is that you can order half portions of every entree. The price for a half averages around $15, but remember this is for chef- prepared gourmet food using fresh local ingredients. (You'll definitely pay that or more for microwaved frozen food on Canada st.) We took the opportunity to order 3 entrees: one to share instead of an appetizer and one for each. We shared the lobster risotto, which balanced the creaminess of the rice with the crunch of braised veggies and lobster tail. I ordered the pan-seared swordfish, which was served with large couscous, which had a surprisingly, yet satisfying tart taste. We wife got the cognac-braised short ribs. They were fall-apart tender, hearty, with a hint of cognac flavor.

I was feeling full by that point, but my wife spied the desserts and had to have the cheesecake. I'm not really a fan of cheesecake, but this was certainly the best I've ever had. It was a light and fluffy, bathed in caramel.

The price was entirely reasonable. We had drinks, three small entrees and dessert for $60. Definitely a "must do" if you value great food. You will probably want to make reservations ahead. We were there on a Wednesday night and it was very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an exceptional experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I had the opportunity to dine at Bistro Leroux this week with my family. We were absolutely blown away. Wha detail and attention. The menu was filled with highly original offerings. I had the crab cake risotto, which included braised beef and andouille sausage. To die for. Take the time to drive out of the village and hit this spot. Best food in the Adirondacks!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food is Fine, Experience is Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went to this restaurant on the basis of all the positive reviews. The food is indeed fine, although nothing really special. However the management needs to rethink the way to delivers "a night out" for its patrons. As a party of two we were first offered a small table jammed right against the cooking area within elbow distance of a large group (we had a reservation). When we asked for another table we were put in what was basically an aisle, at the end of a row of booths, with only a plywood board separating us from the backs of the heads of the diners on the other side. It was kind of icky. The waiter was all over us all night long and not in a good way. Wanted to take our orders right away, whisked the plates away before we could put our forks down, and generally made us feel uneasy. A young man whose only job it seems was to fill our water glasses hovered in the background all evening.

Overall this was not an inexpensive evening out, but we found ourselves afterwards standing in the parking lot feeling we had somehow been slightly ripped off. The chef/owners really need to learn a few things about how to treat their patrons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro LeRoux also viewed

 

Been to Bistro LeRoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro LeRoux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.