We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick detour off the Northway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Baba Express

Ali Baba Express
287 Canada St, Lake George, NY
518-668-2037
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 146 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: They are basically Turkish, however they call themselves Mediterranean. Check out their site. Also the phone Number is 518-668-2037. Or simply check them out. They're great.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A quick detour off the Northway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We drive from Northern Vermont to Metropolitan New York City frequently. There is a "restaurant desert" for much of the ride--depending on the route, you are limited to fast food, rest stops and chain restaurants. We found this place on Yelp. It is about a mile off the interstate and in a beautiful area close to the lake. We were not in high season, so parking was easy-but be sure to feed the meters. The food was great. We had the falafel platter and a vegetarian entree. The service was quick and friendly. The food was fresh, healthy and delicious. We are considering altering our route in the future to be sure we can stop here on our trips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    50
    15
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Only did take out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in the mood for something different and we saw the reviews and decided to hit up Ali Baba.
We were in town for the car show and decided to do take out rather dine in.
As I stood waiting for our lunch I watched the cook make our meal. The ingredients all looked fresh and delicious and I have to say I was a little disspointed on the taste and to top it off we felt a little ripped off. Two gyros and a coke for 25. All we got was the world's thinnest gyro probably the width of a hot dog and thats being nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good food and good prices! Large portions. The menu has pictures of the dishes so you know what you're getting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of the best food in Lake George. Everything that we ordered was fantastic. Quail, Lamb chops, fish, everything tasted great and the price was reasonable. They are open late, which is a plus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For something a little different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Try the Ali Baba Express. Food was good and reasonably priced and a nice change of pace. Just beware the menu posted here is not their menu. They have maybe a dozen or so choices, all looked good, but not the extensive menu linked to this site.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Express also viewed

 

Been to Ali Baba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Baba Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.