We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua Resort on Plum Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antigua Resort on Plum Point
Save
You added Antigua Resort on Plum Point to your Saves list
27 Antigua Road, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay in a beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in August 2012 for 8 days after booking a last minute family holiday to the US after the Olympics. We found the Antigua Resort online and after looking at other options in the area and reading the reviews decided to go for it, we are very glad that we did. As other reviewers have said it is not perfect or luxurious but for a family lakeside holiday it was pretty good and seemly well priced in comparison online. We had Unit 3 and it was clean and comfortable. The view from the main bedroom and lounge was terrific. I loved waking up in the morning pulling the curtain and gazing out at the lake through the tree trunks (rivalled the view from our Niagara hotel). The resort was peaceful but with the swimming area, canoes, rowboats, fishing spots and other children to play with our children (boy age 14, girl age 12) thoroughly enjoyed it. They spent any spare moment standing quietly together fishing off the docks, unbelievable! The resort is well positioned on the quiet side of the lake but within easy reach of the village if you want more action. There are a couple of good restaurants close by. The owners were friendly and helpful and we made use of the bbqs in the grounds and the campfire area. The twice weekly low key entertainment was very pleasant. In all our whole family enjoyed our week here. We found plenty to do in, on and around the lake and it was very relaxing after a hectic week in New York and Niagara. To other UK families we would describe it as alot like the Lake District but with much more sunshine, lots of trees and warmer water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great time - 2 adults & 2 kids staying here. Campfire by the lake every night. Convenient to all Lake George activities and great little swimming area. We stayed in the boat house which was right on the water. great views and sunsets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We traveled here with our families in August 2012. We stayed in Unit 7 and the Baywatch. We think that the Antigua is a beautiful spot on the lake, but, of course, there are pros and cons.

Pros:
There were amazing views, beautiful sunsets, live music, and campfires. The area is peaceful and laid back. The children all play manhunt at night together, and there are lots of nice families. Annie and Craig were friendly and hospitable owners who were very welcoming. The proximity of the lake was good.

Cons:
None of the bedroom or bathroom doors have locks!! The bathroom door in Unit 7 has a tiny little hook latch that doesn't lock very well. The Baywatch's bathroom didn't have a lock at all. The gravel pathway can be tough on your feet if you're walking barefoot, but that can be avoided.

You also have to remember to bring your own serving utensils (they have some, but when you travel with big families, you tend to need a little more.)

Overall, we were pleased with the Antigua. :0)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Having experienced numerous accommodations on and around Lake George for the past 40 years, we recently tried Antigua for the first time. Antigua sits on Plum point, arguably one of the best northern views of the lake anywhere on its 32 miles. It is a million dollar view to the north and the property is close to everything. Our selected "suite" was The Plum. A room that is on the 2nd story of an older - large mansion that is the center of attention on the property. The owners have cleverly converted any available space within this house into income producing "suites" and in fact, many of the accommodations throughout the property have been modified and converted for maximum profit to the owners and as an attempt to provide guests with the amenities desired. The "Plum' is accessed via a rather creepy side stairway that also services 3 other suites on the same floor in the main building. Once atop the stairs, you enter a narrow hallway filled with the sounds of other guests within very close proximity and the aromas of their cooking. However, once inside the "Plum" the deck overlooking the lake and the room itself are quit private and the sounds of other guests, although noticeable, was bearable. The room itself is very basic in appointments: minimal cooking facilities/equipment, older-unusual kitchen/bathroom pattern, very basic and "tired" mattress with no headboard, dated decor and worn furnishings and basic, older mom & pop appointments. Certainly, no luxury "resort" features here. A rather expensive, yet unusual and different experience in a grand location on the lake. If you're thinking Hilton type resort, this is not for you, but an open mind and some tolerance for an over priced "suite" can make an enjoyable stay. The owners are nice enough and they seem to care, albeit as much about profit as guest satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in Unit 3 - a 2 bedroom unit w kitchenette/livingrm/eating area - and front porch with table and chairs and hot tub. It was very cozy and very clean. The cleaning folks brought fresh white clean towels daily, all appliances were newer and very clean, beds were very comfortable, main room had a really nice 3 person sofa that seemed new, the bathroom had a great shower head and really hot water. The main room had nice newer tile flooring, bedrooms had newer berber type carpeting - both master bedroom and main rooms had a steller view of the lake - with oversized windows. The windows and screens were in mint condition and kept the bugs out. We absolutely loved the grounds and especially the Thursday nite fire pit and live music. This is a beautiful spot on Lake George. The owners were always available, were very down to earth but were not at all intrusive. This is a classic lake type resort - with a very nice sandy beach and swimming area. The master bedroom has a queen bed, I think the second bedroom had a full size bed. I liked the older style dresser drawers in the bedrooms and the knobby pine paneling throughout as ith reminded me of the many lake houses our family has stayed at over the years. I don't think my kids could have shared the full size bed in the second bedroom (they are full size teenagers!) but there is a large pull out sofa in the main room. The main room was large and can accomodate a family on a rainy day. Favorite memories - the stars at nite - AMAZING, sitting in the gazabeo on the point, hot tub, and watching the boats on the lake from the Lookout and the music by the fire pit. We will definitely go back again. (I have never filled out a review before and felt that there were too many reviews that give the wrong impression of this place - hope my opinion is helpful! I have never been to a lake cottage that supplies shampoo and conditioner - you need to take your own. They did provide soap in the bathroom and there was dish soap under the kitchen sink. Take your own paper towels if you want them! They provided coffee filters - you need to take your own coffee!) Great place to visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have to admit that when I booked this place I had reservations. For some reason when I hear Antigua I think Caribbean and in my mind I wanted a lake view retreat. While the name made me think of clear blue waters my experience here was exactly the R&R the doctor prescribed!

We stayed here during the off season, not too many places are open and fully operational. This place while it may not have been the least expensive it was well worth spending the extra bucks.

I have stayed at plenty of other resorts around the lake and this one is very nice. When we first arrived we were greeted by a very friendly dog (we love dogs). Following our check in we did a quick walk through of the grounds, we were then greeted by a very friendly cat. Although I am allergic to cats I could not resist the temptation to play with this one. My kid was by then complete! A dog and a cat definitely made for good tokens to add to the many other great memories we made that weekend.

I did not find anything negative, the room, bathroom and kitchen were very clean. The heat worked, we had hot and cold water. Fridge, stove and microwave were clean and functioning. The owners seemed a bit reserved but that's okay as we were looking for a peaceful and quiet time I can only imagine they did too. We did see them working throughout, after all their place definitely reflected the time and care they dedicate in making sure everything is running smooth.

I have read some reviews of this place and others in the area, what people write may be because certain things may not always meet their expectations. After all, take into consideration the area. It is a lake in the adirondacks surrounded by many trees. If something is a bit outdated, call it rustic and enjoy it as it is part of the charm. With a lake and trees you will also get wild life, yes there are insects! Live with it as it is part of it! Enjoy it and make the most of it as Lake George is a beautiful place that I will continue to visit year after year.






I will definitely come back as we enjoyed our too short of a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our weekend stay here was a mixed bag: the views from the room and the covered deck were stupendous and the room was clean, but it lacked many amenities one would expect for the price. The photographs on the website distort the dimensions, making a very cramped room appear bigger. The kitchenette was nice as far as it went: there was a coffee machine, but no coffee filters or coffee. There was no closet, just very high shelves and pegs on the wall, and no hangers; the use of one set of pegs covered the a/c, the other covered a light switch. There were not enough racks in the bathroom and minimal shelves. There was no grab-bar in the shower and no mat--clear safety issues. The water-saver showerhead provided an irritatingly mild mist, not a real shower. The mattress was a low-quality, bouncy mattress.

The grounds are in a very pretty setting, but the brick walkways were in very rough shape: another safety hazard. The upstairs landing to some rooms was extremely awkward. This place seems to have been renovated to maximize the owner's profit, not users' comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antigua Resort on Plum Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Resort on Plum Point

Address: 27 Antigua Road, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Antigua Resort On Plum Point Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua Resort on Plum Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.