We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
410 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Sidney, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family has vacationed in Lake George for many years usually we stayed in smaller family owned motels a little farther out of town. We decided that we would try O'Sullivan's. What a mistake. The place was filthy. The bathroom was the most disgusting thing. The dirt on the grout was unbelievable. The Bedspread and blankets were dirty, I am not even sure if they changed the sheets when I pulled the blankets down there was hair on the sheets and pillowcases. No clock,No Iron,No blow dryer or even a coffee pot. The noise was unbelievable. I finally got to sleep at 3am. The only nice thing was the young gentlemen at the front desk. I cannot believe that they have the nerve to charge $150.00 or more a night when the place is like $59.00 night place. They should be ashamed of themselves. Please don't wasted your time or money on this place its not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel advertised recently renovated rooms which the staff confirmed when I call to make reservation.The room looked like it was out of the 1940's. The wood, countertops and bathroom was all nicked and broken. Cobwebs in each room and bugs on the curtains. Paneling in all the rooms make it even worse. Bedspreads and blankets were gross. Thank God we brought our own. No electric in the bathroom and one bedroom. When we called to have it fixed they said maintenance wouldn't be back till tomorrow. I had to get upset before they finally did something and then the staff was nasty. I left a note for the manager before we left and never heard from them yet. Please don't waste your hard earned money on this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Space Coast, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ok, first of all let me say, you can't beat Lake George, NY. We have had some of our best vacations there. The location of O'Sullivans can't be beat. It is right on the lake. It is also on the trolley stop. They have cabins that are closer to the lake than our room was, but they are rented by the week and we didn't have that time, so we stayed there one night of our stay. They advertise on the sign that their rooms are renovated. Maybe in 1975, but not anytime remotely close to this century. Now, anyone who has read any of my reviews knows that we enjoy kitsch and don't always need to travel first class, but this room was just sorry. We stayed in room 19 which had 2 bedrooms, enough room for all 6 of us. The view was nice, and that's about where it ended. There was a bad musty smell in the room that putting on the a.c. did not fix. Neither did air fresheners. The carpet felt smooshy in front of the refrigerator. The bathroom was small and disgusting. The grout around the tile by the door looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in years. There was an old bar of soap left on the top of the tile in the shower. The front door didn't close properly. We had to stack furniture in front of it to feel remotely safe. I called the front office to get towels and the person who left them never even knocked on the door to let us know they were left outside on the chair. Oh, we also wanted to use the kayak and they actually charge their guests to use them. $10.00 per person, per hour. Did I mention they charged over $210.00 for the room per night? Oh and they make sure they tell you upfront, NO REFUNDS! I know what you're probably thinking, "you should've looked at the room first!" And you would be right. If I had, I would not have stayed there. Period. I was just thinking that a motel that had been around since probably the 50s or 60s and advertised 'renovated rooms' would have at least been clean, but no... this room was sad. Oh, and dirty, and overpriced for what you get. Oh and also, pretty gross. We decided not to use the dirty bathroom for showers. It was just that bad. Thank God, we brought Lysol with us. My recommendation to you is stay away. If you want to chance it, look at the room first. Otherwise, skip it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSullivansMtl, General Manager at O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. I appreciate you giving us a try as well as the constructive nature of your comments. I do sincerely apologize that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and will make sure to share your notes with our staff. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

O'Sullivans was the perfect spot for what we wanted: a peaceful stay with lake access, a place to sleep with nice living room and great location, as well as being affordable. Took a row boat and kayaks onto the lake during a beautiful Sunday and could not have been happier, the staff at the front desk was very helpful.

I recommend eating at the Lakecrest Inn for breakfast, great service and tasty food just a short 3 min walk away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

In august my family will be heading to O'sullivan's for what I would expect to be another awesome vacation. We usually stay at the Motel portion but we decided to take a Lake view Suite this time!
We find O'sullivan's to be a very friendly place where you are only minutes away from most attractions. The hotel may not be the fanciest place on the lake but I guarantee it is the most friendly. We have noticed that some items are out dated but never have we felt they were filthy or unsafe. I recommend O'sullivans to everyone!! Look for my next review the second or third week in August! I'm sure I'll feel the same.

Room Tip: We found the rooms to be comfortable and safe. I will let you know how the suites are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for Americade. We had 2 cottages rented. They were rustic and quite nice and clean. The towels are a little rough , but that was the worst of it. Management was great and prices were reasonable. I would stay here before any of the chain motels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located just outside of town. A 10 minute walk to the waterfront, parks, restaurants, etc. There is a little beachfront access with bbq (bring your coles) and tables by water. There is also a pool as an alternative to the lake. Great price when you compare to surrounding hotels next to it when you will pay $50-$100+. It is not five stars but it is clean and affordable if you are looking to save.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel

Also Known As:
o`Sullivan`s On The Lake Hotel
o`Sullivan`s On The Lake Hotel Lake George
Osullivans On The Lake Hotel
Address: 410 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located lakeside, in Lake George Village, we offer a variety of standard rooms, spacious lakefront suites with private patios, two bedroom family suites and Adirondack Log Cabins! Many pet friendly rooms and lakefronts available! Complimentary rowboats available. Relax on our private beach or walk to all restaurants, shops and attractions in Village! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel to your Saves list