We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loyal customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel

Save Saved
You added O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   410 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Mahopac, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loyal customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The new owner is the nicest guy you'll ever meet, and the staff is very friendly, and always eager to help. Sure the rates have gone up a bit, but they've made vast improvements, and it's still the best value on the lake.
I laugh at some of the complaints on this site. Rough towels? If they were big, fluffy, expensive towels, guess what will happen to them. Think of them as "exfoliating" towels. Or bring your own fluffy towel for your sissy skin.
In 11 years, I've never seen a dirty room. Or dirty linen. Or a rodent. Or bed bugs. Whatever genius complained about bug bites, you're on a lake, lakes have mosquitos.
It's true, some of the fixtures are old, but give them a break, it's been under the current management for only a few years and they've improved quite a bit, they can't do it all overnight.
Bottomline- great value, friendly, helpful staff, convenience to the village, pet friendly (although I don't have one), private beach, kayaks and rowboats, new pool, ice machine (always worked for me, always available, regardless of what other reviewers say), and reasonably priced dock space.
Disregard any negative reviews, they're written by competitors or high maintenance, cheap bellyachers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
26
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Well, the grass is not always greener. We stayed someplace else this year, and WE MISSED O'SULLIVAN'S!

The quietness of sitting outside, the roomy pool and the kitchen.

Please forgive us for going someplace else. We would love to come back to O'Sullivan's!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We ended up cutting our trip short, and the staff at O'Sullivans were very accommodating and super nice. We stayed in one of the lodge suites. There are a lot of pros w/Osullivans- great location, private parking space, private beach w/lounge chairs & equipment rental, really great service, good value, and their terrific pet policy! If there were any cons, it would only be because we'd never stayed at a motel before and may have expected too much. However, the staff at OSullivans were great, thank you guys!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went with 5 couples and stayed 2 nights. The place was very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Close to all the attractions. No problem parking. Great rates.
I would come back for a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My family just returned from a week at O'Sullivans and are very pleased. We have visited Lake George every year for eight years and this is the first time we found a place we would stay at again!! The room was large and clean. The pool was nice. The location was good for walking to the village. Great for families you will not feel squeezed in like some others that have small dark rooms! Beach was small for people who are looking for that.

Room Tip: deluxe queen room was so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have been going to Lake George for over twenty years and have always stayed at O'Sullivans ~ always twice a year and whenever I can, more than that. It is under new ownership and the new owners, Derek and Christina, are great people. In the short time they have owned O'Sullivan's, they have improved it 200% and continue to do so though I must say, it is probably very difficult to do during prime season without interruption to the guests though they have managed it quite well.
The cottages have had a complete attractive facelift and interior upgrading, but parts of the motel are still undergoing renovations, painting and such so it can't and shouldn't be judged by looks alone. It is not the Taj Mahal but has never claimed to be. And if that is what you're looking for then you need to stay at the higher priced places with less amenities.
There is a wide variety of rooms, suites, cottages, and cabins to choose from. The cottages and cabins all have new decks and have an awesome view of the Lake. The fireworks can be seen from the private beach and from the dock and the fireworks are probably some of the best I have ever seen.
The office staff (Chris, Matt, Agnes and Pauline) , Brian and the maintenance men, and the maids are all very friendly and accomodating and I have always been treated with the utmost respect by all. Never have they made me feel I couldn't ask for something if I needed to.
You can pretty much make it your own there - private beach, grills for outside picnics, brand new pool, kayaks, canoes, grassy areas to just lounge around and very friendly people all around. The owners/staff are not on your back every time you turn around as I have noticed in some other places. You can have a good time and not be afraid to as long as you are considerate of the other guests.
It is pet-friendly and they supply the little doggie bags for your use. And believe it or not, people actually use them! I no longer have my dogs to bring with me but enjoy seeing the others that do. I only recommend that if you bring your pet that you do not leave it alone in your room, or cottage, or cabin - it is just not fair to the other guests nor your pet, especially if it not use to being left alone. Some pets can be left alone, most can't.
So, all in all, it really is a great place to stay - reasonable, friendly, clean, inviting, within walking distance to the Mini Price Chopper and all the shops and restaurants in the Village, and most importantly, a safe place to be.
And something new, if you stay here you get 10% off your breakfast at their sister site's restaurant, at Lake Crest Inn - just a hop and skip away ~ Good deal and great food!
Can't wait to go again ~

Room Tip: Lakeview accommodations are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Likes: Location, lake view
Dislikes: ants, dog in lakefront unit allowed to bark all day and into night, also, dog allowed to go unleashed exciting other dogs, no access to ice early night, loud smoke alarm that was going of for hours, very rough bath towels

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel

Address: 410 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located lakeside, in Lake George Village, we offer a variety of standard rooms, spacious lakefront suites with private patios, two bedroom family suites and Adirondack Log Cabins! Many pet friendly rooms and lakefronts available! Complimentary rowboats available. Relax on our private beach or walk to all restaurants, shops and attractions in Village! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Sullivan`s On The Lake Hotel Lake George
Osullivans On The Lake Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.