We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Log Inn

Olde Log Inn
2814 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-6307
518-668-3334
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 147 Restaurants in Lake George
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Back a few years ago, this business was leased to a couple that knew how to run the place. Service was good and friendly, and the food was well presented and delicious. That last couple of times I went there the food was on the level of an average diner, and tonight it was just plain bad. How can someone screw up mozzarella sticks? Burn them? Yes. The patty melt was made of some of the worst ground beef possible, and the fries were way over cooked. The service could have been a lot friendlier, maybe that could make up for the foods shortcomings. Oh well, there's really no good places to eat in Lake George.......in season or not!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Ewen, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Find in Lake George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were a party of 7 here for the Warrensburg Garage Sale Weekend. Had reservations and got seated right away. The atmosphere is very laid back ,easy, cozy . Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. The menu had lots of choices. I had the Roast Beef Dip..excellent. Sweet potato fries..to die for. Everyone had something different and all were very pleased. The prices were very reasonable !! We sat around after dinner just talking and there was no pressure for us to leave or hurry us out . Just a great local place with great food. Will definitely return for next year. Well done !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best Little Dining Spot That We Visited While at Lake George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was our last day in the Lake George area and the three of us just wanted something small like sandwiches or hamburgers. After looking through the TA reviews and their menu we decided to try the Olde Log Inn. The prices are very reasonable for the area, in the $10/person range, and the food was very good. One of us had the gigantic Angus Burger. Another had a Chicken Wrap. They both voiced delight in their choice. I had the mile-high Corned Beef sandwich. It may have been because one of the specials that night was Corned Beef and Cabbage and so they were cooking the Corned Beef fresh that day, but this was probably the best corned beef sandwich that I had ever tasted. There must have been a pound of corned beef, sliced very thin, moist and tasty. We were glad that we chose this place and we will dine here again the next time that we stay at Lake George. I'll give the corned beef another try, and I suspect it will still be excellent

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Cozy Dinner Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were in the Lake George area last week & based on trip advisor ratings we tried the Olde Log Inn for dinner - We're glad we did! The log cabin building, bar & grill are cozy & inviting & nicely decorated. There were quite a variety of choices on the menu & all 4 of us in our party order something different & thoroughly enjoyed our meals - their onion soup is terrific. The portions were generous & 3 of us took food back to our unit. The staff was attentive & friendly. The prices were quite reasonable for the Lake George area. If you're looking for really good food, pleasant surroundings & friendly people at friendly prices, it is hard to beat this place around Lake George.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is by far the best find in the Lake George area. We happened upon it via the Entertainment book, otherwise we would never had found it just outside the Village. Upon entering we were cheerfully greeted and quickly seated, and just as quickly had a drink order in. Good selection of micro brews, and inexpensive. Local brews were excellent. We opted for the house special sandwich, mile high corned beef & a corned beef rueben, one sweet potatoe fries the other regular fries. When they came, not only were they huge, but the quality of the corned beef can only be matched Gershon’s in Schenectady – it was that good. Toasted bread was very good too. I looked at the other food coming out & portions were large too. This was a by chance find, but will now be our regular stop when in the Lake George area. This place is sooo good I probably should have kept it to myself, but it was such a friendly happy place, especially the bar area, you have to go there for yourselves. Inside & outside seating, families & couples

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Log Inn also viewed

 

Been to Olde Log Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Log Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.