We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to take your friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Log Inn

Olde Log Inn
2814 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-6307
518-668-3334
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 146 restaurants in Lake George
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A place to take your friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

A log cabin style bar and grille. The portions are plentiful, homemade, and the taste is fantastic. The Chili, burgers, sweet potato fries are out of this world, as are all the dishes. For lunch or diner the rustic casual Adirondack atmosphere and service are excellent and compliment each other. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    32
    15
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It was a perfect lunch for a chilly autumn afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I must begin by warning any reader that the serving portions in this restaurant are among the most generous I have encountered anywhere! Make sure that your appetite is fully primed before entering its wonderful doors. The environment is genuine and rustic, perfect for its Lake George location. We expected a light lunch and received most ample portions of the BEST chili and homemade mushroom soup ever. I also delighted in the sweet potato fries, a definite must-have. The staff was friendly and efficient. We'd go back again and try to taste the entire menu!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere, USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A place where the locals go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stopped here for lunch after passing a bunch of chain restaurants in Lake George proper because we were intrigued by the witty sign out front. Inside we were pleased to find a log cabin-type interior of heavy wood beams and walls and nice big windows for looking out at the surrounding hills. We ate lunch here, having the fish sandwich special which was really good. My husband also had the clam chowder which he said is the best he's ever had with nice tender clams and even a bit of bacon. We were served by one of the owners who was very friendly as was the group of guys sitting around the bar. We would go back. I have marked the cost $$ as I thought it was reasonable for a high tourist area.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good variety of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

We met up with friends while on vacation and came here upon recommendation. I got the bbq burger, which was great. The menu had a nice variety and everyone enjoyed the cabin type atmosphere. We als had 3 kids with us, and I was happy to see they offered applesause instead of just fries for the kids. We'll come back next time we're in town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

We went for dinner and had some basics and decided to eat light. The grilled chicken on the chef salad was hot and fresh, a good sign for other items. The place had a really nice log cabin/pub feel.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Log Inn also viewed

 

Been to Olde Log Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Log Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.