We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.C. Montana's

J.C. Montana's
267 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1426
518-668-5085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 147 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Farmingdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really enjoyed dinner. The food was great and the server was excellent. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Average tourist strip food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had dinner here and it was nothing special, meals were not terrible but as I said they were nothing special. I really can't think of a reason that I'd return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York, USA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Laid Back Place. Food was Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

J.C. Montana's was one of the restaurants open in the early season. We had the fried calamari a caprese pizza and a spicy chicken with gnocchi dish. All were ok nothing that would have me running back but I wouldn't write them off forever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Casual, friendly dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good spot to feed your family. Great porch overlooking the park and lake. Excellent soups, sliders and meatball apps. Try to sit at the bar and enjoy Battles, one of the areas top mixologists. He alone is worth the trip. You can park in the back and find no frills dining at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The best thing about this place is the tap water, bread, and butter.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I'm surprised that the chef here is a graduate of CIA. The food here is barely edible. We ordered the ranch salad and it was drenched in dressing. I ordered a tuna sandwich with wasabi mayo and it was a poorly butchered piece of fish. It was unevenly cooked and the worst part of it was the ice cold bun that they served it on-I didn't eat the bun at all. They didn't even take the time to heat it up a little. My husband's chicken alfredo had good flavor but it was very, very heavy on the sauce. He didn't even eat half of it. These entrees did not seem like they were freshly prepared- perhaps they were just microwaved or put under the broiler. I know this because the entrees were ready about five minutes after the salad came out- no way they could have actually took the time to cook the meal properly. I would not recommend this place to anyone and would definitely not waste stomach space here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.C. Montana's also viewed

 

Been to J.C. Montana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.C. Montana's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.