We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - lousy food !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Christie's On the Lake

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Christie's On the Lake
21 James Street, Lake George, NY 12845
518-668-2515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 146 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
nh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views - lousy food !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Looking for a nice restaurant with a view of lake George - got calamari app. which was basically flavorless and 1/2 doz watery oysters. Had the mahi coconut fish which was over cooked and dry. Steak had to back - overdone! Tuna steak was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    12
    25
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“. What a bad recommendation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a bad recommendation.The service was poor and the food -----
This had to be one of the worst meals we've ever been served

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A light meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We choose this restaurant because it had a nice view of Lake George. The food was just average. Many patrons were very loud at the bar. Not really our kind of a place - a bit scruffy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, way overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

$4.75 for a bottle of Miller Lite....I guess we're paying for the view!!! I never saw the bill or a menu though, I took the servers word for how much I owed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was my third visit here for lunch during shoulder seasons. The view of the lake and hills from the deck is great. If you sit near the edge you can also watch the passersby below. The service here has always been great, fast, efficient and friendly. They have a nice selection of unusual beers on tap so if you like to experiment that's a plus. This time I had the turkey and brie panini. As usual, this meal seemed to be better than average bar food to me. I always mean to try someplace different here but that view keeps bringing me back and really not complaints about the food or service in my visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christie's On the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Christie's On the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christie's On the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.