We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere & good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnsider Smokehouse Restaurant

The Barnsider Smokehouse Restaurant
2112 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
(518) 668-5268
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 147 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stopped over Memorial Day weekend. Service was very slow as we found out 2 waitresses did not show up for work that day & saw a table get up and leave before ordering. Food was good, kids enjoyed their meals and the price was right.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    73
    48
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Finger lickin' good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had dinner here on our recent trip up to Lake George, Memorial Day Weekend. We sat out on the deck, since it was such a lovely night. It took a bit to get out food, but it was a very busy night, and they brought us a basket of delicious cornbread to hold us over. When our food did arrive, it was worth the wait! I ordered the baby back ribs and they were tender and flavorful. Great service, great food and good value! We will be coming back here again!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glens Falls, New York
1 review
“FANTASTICK!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

On thursday night during the OFF season, they have a $13.95 all you can eat ribs special... the first plate was huge with the sides (skip the coleslaw, bland, like eating just raw cabbage)....they piled the ribs high....we werent even done with out first plate and the waiter had already ordered us a second...another plate of ribs brought to us .....they would have kept them coming but we were full... and bonus, what you dont eat you take home!... there was a man playing music on his guitar, the atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable! I will be going there again OFTEN....

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
1 review
“Terrific food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We were passing through Lake George and were very lucky to have found the Barnsider! It happened to be All You Can Eat RIB NIGHT (Thursday) and our son was in PIG HEAVEN! The rest of us had delicious pulled pork sandwiches, which were wonderful. They were so big we had leftovers! The atmosphere is relaxed casual. They even had a solo guitarist playing; we enjoyed his music so much we purchased the CD! Our waitress was very polite and friendly. I'm looking forward to returning soon. The value was the best we found all weekend!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
1 review
“Best Ribs Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stopped here on a quiet Sunday afternoon and were so glad we did. The restaurant itself has a pleasant rustic look with a warm woodstove and fireplace in the dining area. The staff is friendly, the prices are very reasonable, and we got our food quickly. The food, WOW! My fiance pronounced the ribs the best he's ever had. I got the BBQ pulled pork wrap which was also delicious (nicely toasted on the outside). Love their homemade potato salad too. We will definitely stop in again whenever we visit the Lake George area!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnsider Smokehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Barnsider Smokehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnsider Smokehouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.