We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously????????????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shepards Cove Restaurant

Shepards Cove Restaurant
3 Lower Montcalm St., Lake George, NY 12845
518.798.0170
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 146 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously????????????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was the WORST place ive ever been to in MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!! the owner seemed to be too concerned with partying. me and my wife and kids went there by mistake. and not caring whats going on in his place.. I had a Asian dude wait on us.My wife went to the bar several times because we felt forgot about. The owner was hitting on my wife! bought her our round and flirting with is grey long hair and porn stash!. THE WORST!!!!!! none of the food came out properly.. There was people in the kitchen(we pay close attention we sat down stairs until I noticed all the fans were missing blades and rusty..that's where the kitchen is). the cook had Dreadlocks they called them.. hairy dirty people..NOONE I want handling my food(which is seriously over priced). There was even a girl server with them.. SO GROSS!!!!!!! We moved upstairs!..The deck is literally crumbling apart. This place is clearly a tourist trap with their hook all about the view. SCREW the view. There are other places right next door on both sides with a view!!!!!!!!!! How the health and safety codes passed in this place is beyond me! Save your dollar and find your View elsewhere!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    14
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
upstate ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Don't go for the food,poor service,we were the first to sit down and someone who arrived after us was served first,feel this place has the lakefront to draw you in,the food was not good

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“good food-bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The restaurant's patio provides excellent views of the lake. Food was excellent and price was reasonable. Sadly the service leaves a lot to be desired. Staff didn't seem interested in seating us, told to just sit anywhere. The empty tables and chairs had food debris on them and we had to clean it up. Lots of staff standing around saw us doing this and had no interest in helping them do their job. The restaurant wasn't very busy so there is no excuse for this. Took way too long to get our food, noticed all the other tables had similar problems. When we finally got our meals they never gave us our appetizers. Though it wasn't a problem getting it taken off the check. But like I said when we finally did get out food it was very good! So if you're in a rush you may want to eat elsewhere. If you want to spend a lot of time enjoying the lakeside views the poor service probably won't be an issue

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“I Will Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I came here for lunch, and decided to sit at the bar. There was a man playing the guitar in a corner and I have to say he was pretty good. I ordered a cheese burger which they cooked it the way I wanted. It was one of best burgers I've had. I want to thank the Bartender, Jackie, for making me an ice Irish Coffee. Great View, Great Service, Great Time. Thanks again, I will be Back!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

friendly wait staff and bartenders, fun atmosphere, good food, open late, live music several nights a week

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepards Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shepards Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepards Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.