We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the bad, and the ugly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Kingston Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Kingston Motel to your Saves list
Super 8 Kingston Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   487 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Stevensville, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Good, the bad, and the ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The good: employees very friendly. Cheapest price in the area (see bad). Shower was better than expected, and had good hot water. Internet was free and worked (though was unprotected).

The bad: toilet would not flush unless handle was held in. Breakfast was subpar, even for free continental standards. Very worn rooms; some electrical plugs in the room did not work, bedspreads from the 80s, lumpy bed, no elevator. Though the cheapest in town, overpriced for what you get and the shape the place is in.

The ugly: almost zero lighting in the parking lot. Unsavory personnel wandering the parking lot and standing outside the entrance. The cleaning in the room was perhaps the worst I've ever seen.

We didn't feel like spending $200 per night (or close to that) in the area, so this was the most affordable option. As others have said, you get what you pay for ... and this place, to me, is a $40-$50 a night place. Sadly we paid more than that, and sadly ... the Super Lodge down the street looks even worse, strictly judging by visuals. If you can get it for around $50 ... do it. Otherwise, you'll likely be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for first floor if hoofing it up stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    73
    96
    48
    49
See reviews for
97
61
45
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed on two different occasions during the week of 8/19/2013 while the Dutchess County Fair was playing in Rhinebeck, NY. During our first stay, we were very comfortable in a corner room with a couch and a a bathroom sink with a long counter outside the bathroom. Our second room was not as large, but still suited our needs. Since we are both non-smokers, we especially appreciated having non-smoking rooms located far away from smoking rooms. Housekeeping staff were very gracious and constantly asked us to inform them if we needed anything. Hotel clerks Brian and Leilani provided excellent and professional service. When we encountered any problems, they addressed them immediately and courteously to our satisfaction. The free breakfast was great. However, I suggest expanding hours to 10 AM and adding hard-boiled eggs and one or two gluten-free items to the menu for those with limited diets.

Room Tip: If you are non-smoker, ask for a room located far from smoking rooms. Corner rooms are spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at the Super 8 in Kingston from 8/5/13 thru 8/26/13 and was extremely pleased with my experience. The room was spacious and clean which is the most important thing to me. They offer a nice breakfast and always accomodated me for things like an iron & board, extra toiletries, and advice about places to eat and visit. From the manager, Peter, to Leilani and Rebecca, everyone was always kind and considerate. For the price point, you can't find a better place to stay in my opinion.

A.Holden - Tennessee

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This will be a short review but hopefully helpful. We got our reservations on Priceline for a very good price and were pretty apprehensive about what to expect. Super 8's don't have a great reputation. We thought we had little to lose by trying it.

We were pleasantly surprised. The place is quiet, clean and has no serious problems that we could find. We could nitpick the amenities, but we weren't expecting much for the price. The breakfast was not much, but that it was there at all was a bit of a surprise. The bathroom was small but clean. Our room was cleaned nicely each day. (We tip the staff each day so that may have something to do with it. (For what it's worth, I highly recommend some generosity to the folks who clean rooms and serve otherwise any place you are...it tends to come back to you, we find.)

There is no pool, fitness center or business center. This is a no-frills sort of place, but it serves its purpose.

There's not too much to say otherwise. We had a decent experience at a great price. It's hard to ask for more.

Room Tip: I'd think the second floor would be a bit better in terms of quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Kingston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kingston Motel

Address: 487 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kingston Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 600am - 900am and consists of regular & decaf coffee and tea, apple and orange juice, two kinds of cereal with 2% milk and an assortment of danish, muffins, and donuts as well as white and wheat bread for toasting. All rooms have free cable TV, a chest of drawers, a clothing rack, either a king bed or two full-size beds, a desk and chair, night stands and lamps, a vanity sink and private bath/shower. We do offer free Wi-Fi on an unsecure network in public areas and our guest rooms. We have a guest laundry (washer and dryer) and a vending area with soft drinks and snacks. We are fortunate to have a variety of dining options within close proximity to our property. We have 24 hour diners, chain restaurants, ethnic and specialty restaurants (Italian, French, Southwestern, Indian, steak, seafood, etc.) as well as places that deliver. We are located 35 miles from Bellearye Mountain and are close to a wide variety of hiking trails, wineries and historic venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Kingston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Super 8
Kingston Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Kingston Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.