We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Isn't At the Quality Inn & Suites, Kingston, NY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Kingston

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Route 28, Exit 19 New York Thruway, Kingston, NY 12401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality Isn't At the Quality Inn & Suites, Kingston, NY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our room had a filthy toilet when we checked in. Complete with skid marks. The halls smelled of smoke and mildew. The wallpaper was splashed with something blue just above the dresser, and the remote did not work (yes, the light lit up, indicating the battery was good). The restaurant on the property had surly hostesses. All in all, clearly NOT somewhere I want to be again, nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn12401, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience during your recent visit at our hotel. It has been our aim to provide a great hotel experience to our dear guests and we are saddened that we failed to achieve that during your stay.

Comments regarding the cleanliness and upkeep of our hotel will be promptly taken care of by our staff to ensure a more likely stay in the future.

Thank you for your business and we hope to have the chance to serve you even better in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    33
    30
    43
See reviews for
39
34
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were greeted with an unfriendly male clerk at check in who wouldn't listen to my question regarding AAA or Senior discount. We paid $182 for the "last" room available (I had reservations).
The room had peeling wallpaper, holes in the carpet and splintering wood at the base of the bathroom door.
The noise from the NY87 rumbled all night.
I will stay longer next year in a local B&B.

Room Tip: I would not stay there again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn12401, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are deeply sorry that you were not able to enjoy your Senior discount during your stay. This will be part of our evaluation as we want you to have a great experience at our Hotel. There will also be a reminder to our staff to be always courteous and helpful as our primary goal is to deliver positive customer experience.

We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was easy to find but did not expect to be in the parking lot of a Ford dealer. May be okay for a business trip but would not go back for vacation time. Staff were polite but not what I would call friendly. We thought the hotel was clean until we arrived back after a long day of traveling around the area and discovered that no one had cleaned our room! Management did not offer to have it cleaned but instead told us they would make sure it was cleaned the next day. Who knew we would have to make our own bed?!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn12401, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay at our Hotel. Your comments will guide us to focus on the areas that we need to improve; especially customer service in this instance.

We will advise our staff to be always friendly and helpful to our dear guests during their stay. Be proactive to ask if there’s anything they needed more to make them comfortable.

Please give us a chance to serve you even better on your next stay should decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Pa.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were a little concerned about spending 2 nights here during our vacation based on Trip Advisor feedback but quite honestly we have no complaints about the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and we got just that. Our room was a 2 queen suite and it was very spacious. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The front desk was courteous. We would stay here again. However, we were very disappointed with the breakfast service. This Quality Inn has a restaurant attached to it and that is were we sent with vouchers for breakfast. You get a menu with 3 choices of breakfasts that offer no meat. There is no service buffet line or waffles that typical Choice Hotels have to offer. The entire room is served by one waiter or waitress. The service is EXTREMELY slow. The waiter or waitress is gone for long periods of time. The breakfast event drags on forever and a tip is expected. We would never recommend this free breakfast for anyone who cherishes their vacation time. It close to an hour to be served a lack luster breakfast. Do yourself a favor and enjoy a quality breakfast with good service at Deisings Restaurant that is 5 minutes away. Their bakery is very good too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the hotel are quiet and spacious, but the trash man comes around 8:15am on Tues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I had a room booked for two nights at this place. The reservation was made through Expedia, and was non-refundable ( otherwise, we would have left).
The hotel is easy to find, being right by the highway. What you do not know is that it is situated behind a truck dealership...
The first room that was given to us was a stinky smoking room ( I did not know they still existed), on the second floor, in a hotel with not even one tiny elevator.
The young man at the desk told us the reservation requested a smoking room, but our own reservation specified "non smoking"; I double-checked. There were no apologies.

We then went to the room we kept, which was on the first floor, concrete slab on the ground. The corridor had a bad smell of BO, old smoke and mildew. Our room smelled of mildew but after keeping the window open for a while, the smell went away.

The bed covers had cigarette burns, but there were no bed bugs ( whew). The bathroom was small, very basic, and was pretty clean. I managed to take a bath, but my husband complained of old urine smell.

We did not sleep well at all on our first night, because we had to keep the windows open and we were somewhat concerned about bed bugs, but on the second night, we used the covers of the second bed, and we slept okay. The hotel did not provide extra blankets, but they were happy to provide little envelopes to leave a cleaning tip...

The swimming pool was out of order, and so were the public bathrooms of this hotel. When we left this morning, no one was at the front desk. I waited and waited and finally left, without a "Thank you", or a "Please come back" or "We hope you enjoyed your stay"... We did not even bother using our "breakfast coupons". We went to a local diner.

This was probably one of the most awful place I ever stayed at, and I do travel a lot. I cannot believe the management dares charging over $160 a night for such a charmless hole.

Room Tip: You have a chance of a good room, if you go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I read the the reviews posted and was holding My breath about this place. But it was located in very close proximity to My business plans in the area.
I have concluded that these rants are those of deadbeats, mooches, and crumbs looking for a rate reduction.
The facilities were first rate including the staff.
The restaurant/LOUNGE was open late and the chow was great!!!
Try the sauerbraten & wienerschnitzel.

Capt. Heinrich Lehmann-Willenbrock

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Kingston

Address: 114 Route 28, Exit 19 New York Thruway, Kingston, NY 12401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Kingston hotel in the heart of the Catskill Mountains. Perfectly located off Interstate 87 near Catskill Park, the Quality Inn & Suites™ hotel is less than four miles from the Hudson River Cruises. This Kingston, NY hotel is within 15 miles of Horse Shows In The Sun (HITS) and Bard College. The State University of New York at New Paltz (SUNY New Paltz) is only a short drive from the hotel. The Dutchess County Fairgrounds, home of the Dutchess County Fair and Rhinebeck Antiques Fair, is just minutes away. The Hudson Valley Garlic Festival, voted the number one Food Festival in the United States by USA Today , is also close by. Several shops and restaurants are in the surrounding area. Be sure to visit Roudigan's Steakhouse and the Hollywood Lounge, located on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Kingston
Quality Inn & Suites Kingston Hotel Kingston
Quality Inn Hotel Kingston
Quality Inn Kingston Ny
Kingston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.