We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was good, breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-2906 (Formerly Garden Plaza Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Irondequoit, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room was good, breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was great aside from the bathroom. The beds were super comfortable and you can tell that there was just some refurbishing done to spruce the place up. Our bathroom had food stuck to the counter and floor which was unappealing at best, but aside from that our stay was nice! The desk staff was very very helpful with directions to a restaurant we were interested in and gave us detailed instructions to an event we were going to in the morning as well.
Breakfast was included which was a big factor with booking here and they did not disappoint! Waffles, sausage and eggs, cereal, pastries and common juices and coffee were kept well stocked!
I would definitely stay here again and I would tell others as well that it is good.
A better cleaning of the bathroom before new guests arrive would be my only thought that is needed, but it could have been a fluke accident.....

Room Tip: away from the door/stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the bath cleanliness may have caused you. This is certainly not acceptable and not a usual issue we have with our housekeeping department. Thank you for alerting us. Thank you also for recognizing our staff and our breakfast. We appreciated your comments and hope to be your choice next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This motel was said to have been recently refurbished? It looks more like a hotel in the PDRK...everything is Out of fashion! Take a look at my pictures of the "recreation area"
But they had a Good Breakfast!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the new decor of the hotel recreation area. We have completely re-decked and resurfaced the entire indoor pool area - now featuring an upgraded tiled floor. This area also features new lounge chairs with coordinating tables & chairs with teal umbrellas. The game area of the hotel will soon be completed and our fitness center was just completed this week. Thank you for your endorsement of our house breakfast offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bound Brook, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked online after reading some great reviews. I was very impressed by the renovations, which made the hotel quite the bargain for the quality of the work. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was good. My only complaint was the uncomfortable pillows. I would stay again but would bring my own pillow.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the extensive renovations. Like everything else we have upgraded to the Best Western brand standard and have nice high quality new pillows. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

while best western is a typical national chain hotel and this one was being renovated, the entire staff from bar keep to lifeguard to desk clerk to housekeeping was extremely pleasant and made great efforts to ensure a comfortable stay. kudos to staff and management - seems the management understands that happy employees make happy guests. will stay again when I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments and especially for recognizing so many of our staff. We certainly value our employees and it is great to hear that they are doing an excellent job to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience at the hotel. Our management team values these qualities in our very dedicated team. Thank you for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was recently renovated to be a BWPlus and it is very nice. The rooms were comfortable, it is convenient for what we needed (in for the marathon which was one block away) and several options for food in walking distance. Didn't get to enjoy the breakfast, but it looked like it was enjoyed by those there. The only complaint is that the staff didn't really seem to know what was going on in their own neighborhood, or the local area well. While they tried to be helpful, they were pretty clueless about anything happening off property even though they were one of the host hotels for the race. Good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. I am sorry we did not have the information you were looking for regarding the Kingston Classic marathon. They did set up a discount for participants but did not provide us much more information. We always attempt to assist guests with information on the many activities happening in our area. I am pleased you enjoyed the renovation. We made improvements to almost all areas of the hotel. Our last area of the project is our center courtyard, fitness and game area. All should be finished in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thankfully, we escaped after one night of a 4 night reservation from a very un Comfort able Inn north of Kingston. Travelling with two dogs meant our choices were limited, but a lucky phone call and James had us booked in. We were very impressed with the newly completed renovation at the BW Plus Kingston. Super convenient location, professional front desk staff, a pet wing convenient to a very nice creekside grassy spot, wonderful bed (albeit a tad high off the floor) and the spacious room (king) and bathroom all added up to a truly great stay. We stayed here a number of times in the past for the NYSW Festival when this was the Holiday Inn, and while everyone will recognize the pool area, the chlorine smell is much less noticeable. Apparently a salt water pool will reduce the amount chlorine necessary. The beautiful lobby and and an excellent hot breakfast in a large room with plenty of seating options, round out some of the advantages to staying here. Also: nice, thick towels, soft, white bedding, large TV, lots of outlets for powering devices and easy to connect, fast, steady wifi. I'm so glad we have this option for future travels.

Room Tip: Quiet hotel due to location, but rear may be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and especially for recognizing so many of the enhancements we have made at the hotel. We have opted to continue to accept pets and have designated a special wing near a nice spot to walk pets. Also thank for you recognizing our front desk clerk James. He is very customer service oriented and happy to hear he did a good job in assisting you. Please visit us again. The Sheep and Wool Festival will be held in the area again in October!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was very close to the small town where I would be attending a class early the next morning. It made the whole experience much better than it could have been with a VERY long drive before class.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and providing your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel, with easy access off the highway and nearby several small towns and just blocks from the historic district of Kingston. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 503 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-2906 (Formerly Garden Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a totally new experience at our modern, spacious and comfortable full service hotel and Conference Center. The entire hotel has been beautifully transformed inside and out with a multi-million dollar renovation. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston is located in the Historic Hudson River Valley region of New York State and surrounded by the picturesque beauty of the Catskill Mountains. Centrally located between Albany and New York City, this Kingston hotel is easily accessible from the NYS Thruway I-87 at Exit 19. Leisure guests should know that activities change with the season, ensuring there is always something new to do near our hotel. The Catskills offer hiking, tubing, farmers markets and county fairs in the summer and spring. Have fun at the Headless Horsemen Haunted Hayride and pumpkin and apple picking in the fall. Enjoy skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing during the winter at Hunter, Windham and Belleayre Mountains. We're the perfect pet-friendly hotel for guests participating at (HITS) Horse Shows in the Sun in Saugerties, NY. Business travelers trekking between New York City and Albany often seek lodging at our hotel and enjoy the calm, scenic atmosphere. The 24-hour business center and free Wi-Fi access are at your disposal as you work. Our Conference Center has multiple banquet and conference rooms for your next corporate event, as well as an indoor courtyard for more casual social gatherings. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston you can enjoy hiking, biking, rock climbing, shopping and sightseeing in this historic Hudson River Valley region. Plenty of fun can be found at the hotel, too, in the Garden Courtyard, with an indoor heated salt water pool, NEW fitness center and game room. Kingston has become a center for the arts. Working artist studios, galleries, music and performance venues create a vibrant cultural mix, minutes from the hotel. Make a reservation today to book your next stay! Businesses near the hotel:United Health Care, Huck/Alcoa, Ametek Rotron, Kingston Hospital, Benedictine Hospital, Adirondack Trailways, Bank of America, Ulster Savings Bank, Smith Barney, Ulster County Community College, Bard College, Northeast Center for Special Care and Iron Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.