We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-2906 (Formerly Garden Plaza Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just refurbished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am glad to see this building brought back to life, because it is in the best location of any chain hotel in Kingston. I hope the breakfast/restaurant area (breakfast included in rate) does not become overcrowded on mornings when the hotel is full. One plus: guests get to use china and stainless utensils (as opposed to biodegradable picnic products).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We have entirely renovated the hotel and joined the Best Western brand. Our new complimentary breakfast is a wonderful added benefit to our hotel. We do know that on our busy times this area will be filled to capacity. We do have additional areas that we will use for extra seating during the peak times. We appreciated your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this hotel and at first it seemed fine. After further review I discovered old bread of some kind on my room floor. I could hear the person next room brushing teeth. Could not access internet even with help from front desk. The breakfast area is too small for amount of guests. Garbage was filled to brim, ran out of bacon,plates. This is within 15 minutes of my time in breakfast area. Breakfast staff acted like " I'm hourly" punch the clock and I'm gone attitude. No smiles

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to Kingston for the night and this hotel was walkable (about three quarters of a mile) to the downtown area where we were headed. I did not know exactly what to expect but the hotel was nicer than I would have predicted. I was surprised by how full it was and there were lots of families and children. I believe this hotel may be used for ski mountains in the vicinity. We stayed there for BSP Kingston which is a music venue and found it very convenient.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are a great choice when looking for a hotel near the Historic District of Kingston featuring the BSP venue and many great restaurants. Your stay did coincide with the busy President’s Day long weekend so we did have lots for families staying with us to ski at Hunter, Windham and Belleayre Mtns. We have completely remodeled the hotel and just joined the Best Western brand. We hope to be your choice next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomingdale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a clean and modern place. Very comfortable. Good breakfast, which normally isn't the case with included breakfasts! Would like to try their restaurant next time. Staff was helpful and professional. Great water pressure in the shower ( a personal must for me .). Just wish the price was $15-20 lower.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and happy to hear your enjoyed the breakfast and our new beautiful rooms. Make sure you check the Best Western brand website for the best deals next time. Pool is now open so try us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to this hotel the first night to get out off the turnpike because of a winter storm. We had reservations at another hotel in the area for the next two nights. We couldn't get back to the Best Western fast enough. This hotel is spotless, the staff is friendly, and they have good coffee in the rooms. Not to mention an abundant breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and providing your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel, especially when the weather is bad and you were looking for a spot with easy access off the highway. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for recognizing the efforts of our staff. We just opened the pool last week so come back again. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been a tripadvisor poster for a few years now and actually enjoy trying to help people pick out attractive locations to dine and sleep. I did read many of the negative comments that some people had posted here prior to our stay in this hotel, but our options were limited because my wife and I wanted to take our pet shih tzu with us this year. Well, all I can say is we were extremely pleased with our stay here. Yes, the pool and court were still under construction, but it did not bother us at all because we just wanted to stay a couple of nights in a clean hotel in a convenient location near the thruway so we could take day and night trips to the towns of Kingston, Woodstock, Phoenicia and Big Indian, and have a short trip back home to New Jersey. The room was clean, there were no sounds of construction around us, and the free hot breakfasts were a nice addition. The woman at the check-in desk was pleasant and helpful and we were allowed to check-in hours before the 3:00 pm check-in time (sorry, I can't promise you this every time). All in all, a very pleasant stay. The signs near the pool construction gate stated the pool would be closed until late February, so once this conversion to a Best Western Plus hotel is completed, I'm going to go out on a limb here and say this hotel is going to do very well.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for comments. We have been working on our brand conversion for the past few years and glad you gave us a try. We officially joined the Best Western brand on January 14, 2015. We have opted to continue to accept pets as we see it as an important additional service to some of our guests. We have limited pet friendly rooms in a special section of the hotel. Our front desk staff always tries to accommodate our guests with an early check in whenever possible. You visited some special towns. Do come back again when the courtyard is finished so can experience that area too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I loved staying at the New Best Western in Kingston NY. It is located right off NY State Throughway and easy to get to. The hotel is clean and the people that work there are very friendly. We like to ski and we have our choice of 4 mountains with in a 1 hour drive.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the hotel and our staff. We are soon also to finish the pool and courtyard area so we will again be the perfect spot for families coming to Hunter, Windham, Belleayre and Plattekill ski areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 503 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-2906 (Formerly Garden Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a totally new experience at our modern, spacious and comfortable full service hotel and Conference Center. The entire hotel has been beautifully transformed inside and out with a multi-million dollar renovation. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston is located in the Historic Hudson River Valley region of New York State and surrounded by the picturesque beauty of the Catskill Mountains. Centrally located between Albany and New York City, this Kingston hotel is easily accessible from the NYS Thruway I-87 at Exit 19. Leisure guests should know that activities change with the season, ensuring there is always something new to do near our hotel. The Catskills offer hiking, tubing, farmers markets and county fairs in the summer and spring. Have fun at the Headless Horsemen Haunted Hayride and pumpkin and apple picking in the fall. Enjoy skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing during the winter at Hunter, Windham and Belleayre Mountains. We're the perfect pet-friendly hotel for guests participating at (HITS) Horse Shows in the Sun in Saugerties, NY. Business travelers trekking between New York City and Albany often seek lodging at our hotel and enjoy the calm, scenic atmosphere. The 24-hour business center and free Wi-Fi access are at your disposal as you work. Our Conference Center has multiple banquet and conference rooms for your next corporate event, as well as an indoor courtyard for more casual social gatherings. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston you can enjoy hiking, biking, rock climbing, shopping and sightseeing in this historic Hudson River Valley region. Plenty of fun can be found at the hotel, too, in the Garden Courtyard, with an indoor heated salt water pool, NEW fitness center and game room. Kingston has become a center for the arts. Working artist studios, galleries, music and performance venues create a vibrant cultural mix, minutes from the hotel. Make a reservation today to book your next stay! Businesses near the hotel:United Health Care, Huck/Alcoa, Ametek Rotron, Kingston Hospital, Benedictine Hospital, Adirondack Trailways, Bank of America, Ulster Savings Bank, Smith Barney, Ulster County Community College, Bard College, Northeast Center for Special Care and Iron Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.