We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garden Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Washington Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kingston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Kingston
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms are clean, the beds exceptionally well made. Bathrooms nice.
Added benefits: pool and hot tub and game room for the kids.
Good buffet breakfast.
We have stayed here often en route to skiing at Hunter Mountain and Windham, 50 minutes away.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are exceptionally well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    56
    26
    38
See reviews for
53
49
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here twice - July and August. Basic holiday inn. Pleasant staff. Rooms on the inner side facing the holidrome/pool vented into the interior. Towels nice and plush - that was the highlight of the stay!!

Now for the not so good! Carpets (in the halls and the rooms) are very dated - old and worn. They needed to be changed years ago. With three of us staying in the room, there were not enough outlets to charge the phones/laptops at night so I had to get up in the middle of the night to shift things around. We had 3 phones and a laptop. Would have been much worse if everyone had laptops or tablets with them!

Restaurant food was tasty, very large portions for the price! Request a mini-fridge to store the leftovers!

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you cannot walk with your luggage upstairs, request a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the executive wing over thanksgiving. I couldn't find any evidence of the complaints from previous reviews on this forum regarding the state of the building - however that could be because we were in a good room. The most interesting thing about this hotel is the 'helidrome' - which basically means that there is a large enclosed central area of the hotel that contains i) a kind of patio area ii) fitness area iii) pool iv) spa v) pool table vi) video game and table tennis area.

While not especially opulant for adults and couples, my kids loved all the fun activities and things to do. The restaurant breakfast is nothing fantastic, but very acceptable and good value for money.

The location in Kingston is fantastic for visits to the Catskills. We also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the executive wing - these rooms have microwave and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had an excellent overall experience.
The staff was friendly, our room was clean, beds were extremely comfortable.
The food staff at Louie's was accommodated all of our vegetarian needs and went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied.
The Holidome was an added bonus as we spent one evening playing air hockey, ping pong and swimming.
The band that played in the bar saturday was fantastic.

All in all, between the great food and entertainment, there was no need to even leave the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Now I know what it is like to work under pressure, but surely customer service is judged by first impressions and the first impression was reception staff who could not be bothered, no friendly smile, no attempt at a friendly greeting. This followed the strangest experience in finding the place. Yes we found the Holiday Inn sign adjacent to the road, but down the drive it was hard to see what kind of hotel it was, it looked like any other brand but Holiday Inn. Fortunately we were only staying one night as we made our way north, but the room decoration left a lot to be desired, water stained ceiling with the plaster flaking off, and room was quite tired. The bathroom was in need of urgent improvement. We didn't stay for breakfast as we we quite keen to get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Decent room, but carpet in the hallway was filthy. Pool was nice and warm! However pool area was dark and a little unusual. The whole hotel actually felt dark and uninviting. There were outside style sidewalks around the pool complex along with wood chips and fake plants. We had a coupon, but this room would have been way overpriced for the full price of 140 a night. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were on our way to Cooperstown and stopped in Kingston along the way for one night. We had our two grandsons with us. The staff was not friendly upon our arrival. The price was way over reasonable. One room. Two double beds. A handicapped room to boot. Two children. Two Seniors. $205.00. They knew that there were few places with availability in town so stuck it to us. The room was dirty. The carpet was filthy. Hair and dirt in the corners of the bathroom. The front of the toilet was so close to the vanity that you could hardly sit down on it without pulling in your legs. The bed squeeked every time you even moved. Breakfast was not inculded for us......but we saw that others had vouchers. The served a nice breakfast, but have to wonder how clean the kitchen might have been. This place looks good on the internet. Lots of perks. But if you like a clean room at a sensible price.....stay somewhere else. Wish we had had more time to look into some alternative. Had to ask for a roll away for one of the boys and they charged us another $10.00. Ridiculous. Won't look at Holiday Inns ever again. They set the stage in my mind!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear SKan5095,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Plaza Hotel

Address: 503 Washington Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kingston)
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garden Plaza Hotel, Kingston, NY – formerly the Holiday Inn. Located in the Hudson River Valley region of New York State, the picturesque beauty of the Catskill Mountains surrounds our hotel. Centered between Albany and New York City, this Kingston hotel is easily accessible from the NYS Thruway (I-87) at exit 19. Leisure guests should know that activities change with the season, ensuring there is always something new to do near our lodging. The Catskills offer hiking and tubing in the summer and spring, county fairs and apple picking in the fall and skiing during the winter. We're the perfect pet-friendly hotel for guests participating in the Horse Shows in the Sun in Saugerties. Business travelers trekking between New York and Albany often seek lodging at our Catskills hotel and enjoy the calm, scenic atmosphere. The 24-hour Business Center and free Wi-Fi access are at your disposal as you work. We have a ballroom and a boardroom for your next corporate event, and an indoor courtyard for more casual social gatherings. At the Garden Plaza Hotel, Kingston, NY, we feature packages throughout the year to bundle your stay with activities like snow skiing at Belleayre, Hunter or Windham Mountain or golfing in the scenic Hudson Valley or Catskills . Enjoy hiking, biking and sightseeing in this historic Hudson River Valley region. Plenty of fun can be found at the hotel, too, in the Garden Courtyard, with an indoor pool, sauna whirlpool and game room. Call today to book your next stay!Complimentary Breakfast from 7am to 10am daily. Louie's restaurant on premises serving dinner and providing room service from 5pm to 10pm daily. On site bar Gather's open from 5pm to closing daily. Businesses near the hotel:United Health Care, Huck/Alcoa, Ametek Rotron, Kingston Hospital, Benedictine Hospital, Adirondack Trailways, Bank of America, Ulster Savings Bank, Smith Barney, Ulster County Community College, Bard College, Northeast Center for Special Care and Iron Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.