We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stella's--Wonderful Casual Restaurant in Kingston NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's Italian Restaurant

Stella's Italian Restaurant
44 N Front St, Kingston, NY 12401-3830
845-331-2210
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 174 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hurley, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stella's--Wonderful Casual Restaurant in Kingston NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hidden away on North Front Street in Kingston is Stella's. You will probably have to look for it, and then spend a smidge of time finding a parking spot. If you don't readily find a parking spot on the street, there are two nearby municipal parking lots. In the evening there is no charge for parking.

We were a group of five, and went for dinner on a Monday night. When we called we were warned that only the "bar menu" would be available. The bar menu consisted of appetizers, sandwiches and salads--probably about fifteen items in all. It was sufficient for our needs. The sandwiches and salads came with a draft beer or glass of house wine. There were several semi-premium beers on tap, and it was nice and cold.

The house salad was outstanding--one of the best that I have ever had! It is close to a meal in itself. Everything else that our group ordered was very good to excellent. The portions were somewhat large, the service was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.

What more could you want from a casual restaurant? I recommend it highly!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Family run restaurant with a hopping bar. I usually go for lunch which is very reasonable. The have a fantastic chicken salad. They are known for their salad which is huge and is made with a blue cheese vinagrette. I am not crazy about blue cheese so I order it light. Dinner is classic Italian.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Pleasant. I cannot ask for more. Stella's is reliably delicious. It is the perfect cozy, romantic Italian restaurant and Italian food is my absolute favorite. I recommend the Calamari and the Chicken Francese (not so Italian but so yummy). Be sure you start with either a Hendricks Dry Martini or a Chocolate Martini minus the Baileys.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could've been a Contender”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been going to Stella's on and off for the last 10 years. The food has always been consistently okay. As a matter of fact if it wasn't for their amazing family-style salad I may have given up on this place a long time ago. The bar could be great with the right staff, who know how to make a real drink and not just pour a glass of wine or draft been. The service is consistently inconsistent. The host/owner will great you, if you are lucky, within 5 minutes of arriving. Every time I'm there it looks like her first night on the job. She is always scattered, running around, bussing tables, etc, while other service staff watch her do her anxiety-dance. This last time we arrived at 9:30 and even with the place half empty had to wait 10 minutes to get a table. The service this time was actually very good. However the salad was unusually salty and oily, I think the head chef must have stepped off the line due to it slowing down. My wife ordered chicken breast stuffed with Gorgonzola and asparagus. The chicken was like shoe leather, the Gorgonzola had completely cooked out of the chicken and the asparagus was soft and mushy. When we sent it back the host/owner came our table, not to apologize, but to tell us she thought it was moist and delicious, then walked away from our table with an attitude. Nice way to treat locals who have spent thousands of dollars in your restaurant over the last 10 years. We will not be going back, ever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Always great food and service. Great atmosphere. I have never once had a bad meal or experience here. It's one of my usual spots!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.