We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best filet mignon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's Italian Restaurant

Stella's Italian Restaurant
44 N Front St, Kingston, NY 12401-3830
845-331-2210
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 193 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Upstate, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“THE best filet mignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had the best totally fantastic filet mignon last night. A little pricey but well worth it. Cooked to perfection & the knife just slid through the meat. I meant to take half of it home since it was quite large but ended up eating the whole thing. OMG ! The ceasar salad that comes with the dinner was nice & fresh. Come a little early before the crowds because it can get a little noisy, especially on the weekends. They don't rush you so if you are going with good friends & want to catch up with the latest news, sit back & relax & enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a fine dining experience. I've eaten here 50 times or so. I live in the neighborhood.
Sauces are deep, rich, homemade. The salad is legendary. The eggplant is my favorite. Or try the combo lassagne, eggplant, stuffed pepper. It's a very romantic spot, too--you can cosy up with your date at a table for two while the rest of the place is preoccupied with the generous fare.
Romantic ambiance, good food, attentive waitstaff, what more can you ask?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not half bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

They were accomodating to our group of 6 without reservations so kudos for that. Was disappointed had to ask for butter with bread that comes with hummus. Bread and butter or oil and vinegar are usually a staple for italian food. Family style salad looked naked without tomatoes or chick peas but made up for it with flavor in the abundant dressing. The vodka sauce on the penne and colossal shrimp cinched the meal so that this review wouldn't take a turn for the worse. No one at table was dissapointed at all! This was our second visit and would eat there more frequently if not so pricey for pasta. Overall would recommend to others.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“House Salad is the tip of the iceberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Seeing the other reviews that have preceeded mine, I have to agree that the house salad is the big draw for openers. There is something about the dressing that marries bleu cheese, gorganzola and garlic that is nothing short of magical. The salads alone are a great meal but I have found any of the other dishes, including fresh Onion Rings. I enjoyed meatballs and pasta, which were all done to the right degree during dinners that were part of my charity group, as well as sausage and peppers, which were served during a cast party for a charity group show. In fact, on each night of our annual performance, I make certain to attend the parties that are held at Stella's, over and above any of the other restaurants that we can choose from.
Service is delivered with a smile and the restaurant is conveniently located in uptown Kingston on Front Street and there is muni parking not far away, if you can't find anything on the street. I have yet to try dessert, but am confident that I will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have eaten at Stella's twice now and i still am underwhelmed. I was happier with my lunch meal vs my dinner. The hostess station is located in the middle of the restaurant so when you walk in its a bit uncomfortable you just kind of stare and get stared at by the bar crowd. Eventually.....one of the staff points you in the right direction. I really enjoyed their house salad but was less that thrilled with the chicken marsala. The sauce's flavor was off and the chicken was deep fried. The staff was friendly. The price was reasonable but the food really lacking...... i wouldnt call it old school italian.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.