We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Wok Chinese

Kingston Wok Chinese
1353 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401
(845) 336-6979
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 195 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Quick food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Busy restaurant with many regulars who were greeted by their first names! We had takeout which made for a good dinner. Staff was friendly and the takeout was done quickly without compromising the taste!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More than it seems to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

At first glance, both the exterior and interior appear to be "Standard Chinese Restaurant" Then you might notice that the sign on the window also says "Thai" and "Japanese". In reality, "Thai" really means "Southeast Asian", and they offer about half a dozen SE Asian cuisines.

Every thing on the menu is excellent, and if you desire something not on the menu, they will try to accommodate your desires.

The only downsides are the ambiance is "Standard Chinese Restaurant" and the service was adequate, but no better than that.

The prices are very reasonable.

This restaurant definitely is worth a modest trip or detour. If you will be dining at a popular time, make reservations..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Chinese in Kingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have tried many things on the menu and have liked them all. My husband's favorite is the tangerine beef. The big bowls of soup are excellent. Lunch I like cashew chicken, but I don't like egg rolls. They will let me have a big bowl of soup as part of the special. Very accomodating. They will also cook to order. Don't like celery, no problem, they will make whatever without. Friends like the sushi here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sellersville
2 reviews
“appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

just found out that owner cresates and hand makes all specials on appetizer menu

got to check it out

i can't believe the sauces

this food is made with love

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Visited here while staying at the nearby Hampton Inn. Was staying in Kingston on the way to skiing. Was concerned at first because this strip is one of the less popular strip malls on the main retail strip. However, I found that most of the cars in the lot were for this restaurant. The food is very solid - a good choice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Wok Chinese also viewed

 

Been to Kingston Wok Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Wok Chinese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.