We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant saves this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Superlodge Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Superlodge Kingston to your Saves list
Superlodge Kingston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Route 28, Kingston, NY 12401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Restaurant saves this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We rented 2 rooms..(both King smoking with Jacuzzi, and a cot in one of the 2 rooms) as we were in town for a weekend to visit family. I read the website on the inroom amenities to the fullest so I knew what to bring as there were 5 of us on the trip and space was a factor in the car. The rooms were average..for the MOST part clean (or so we thought!) Towels were dingy and worn..maybe need an upgrade but smelled clean. After going to see my daughter we ordered take out from the on site restaurant which was great!!!..We ordered 4 different burgers and a chicken sandwich, all came with fries and coleslaw as a meal. We spent less on this meal than we did on burgers the next day at MCDonalds and it was 10 times better!!! We also got coffee from the restaurant the next morning and that was great as well and very reasonably priced!! (About the same as your local convenience store) NOW to the unhappy stuff... The website clearly states in the room amenities that ALL rooms come with blow driers, alarm clocks etc.. (so naturally I left mine at home!!) There were NEITHER!! and upon asking the front desk lady (whom had clearly dealt with this problem before) she said to me "we dont offer these items in our smoking rooms & if you have a problem with that you need to take it up with the management" and she was very snippy about it! ( keep in mind that this is the same sweet girl that checked us in) I explained to her that it was false advertising on their web page and that I had a blow dryer at home that I would have glady brought had I known, and that I had to go and purchase one at their local Walgreens, she had nerve enough to tell me that it wasnt her problem!!! NOW onto the Jacuzzi TUBS..We used body wash in both tubs to create bubble baths with the jets and to our dismay in both rooms where the suds were was dirt or a black film of something?! Overall it was an okay hotel, just could use a little more attentiveness to certain things. Also I brought to their attention (not sure that they care) but the heater in our room worked in 2 positions, either OFF or very HIGH..nothing in between!! My daughters room right next door worked fine though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    21
    12
    17
See reviews for
22
28
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wife and I stayed one night at the Superlodge, just off Exit 19 of the Thruway. We stopped at the front desk and checked in with a nice young girl. We went to our room, it was chilly. We just wanted to wash up before we went to the Broadway Diner in town for dinner. I turned up the heat, but soon my wife called to me, "This toilet isn't working." She came out, and I checked the toilet. The toilet was fine, just the bowl and the tank each had a 3/4 inches of ice on the surface of the water. I flushed it three or four times, and the ice began to break up as the water arrived from the warmer parts of the Superlodge. We went to dinner and by the time we returned, the room was snuggly warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick ny
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

At the reststops on the ny thruway there are hotel magazines with discount coupons for the Superlodge. They would honor them at first just by looking at the magazine. Then they began wanting the coupon; we had to search the back of the car but got it and clipped the ad for them.
On a later visit we paid for the room and it was $10 higher than the ad. The new clerk said it was for the minor child; never had that before. Then they changed the days that the ad could be used, although not stated in the ad. One time the shower didn't work so they gave us another key to the room next door. Low maintenance there.
Rooms were generally clean, but worn and often smelly. Sliding doors seldom worked well, if at all. Noise is a big problem. The main road is a heavy traffic route. One night the room downstairs had rap/rock very loud but the clerk said there was little he could do. we said we would call the Kingston police about disturbing the peace. The jerk, I mean clerk, finally got the party settled down. Bad night. Next they let their pool turn into an algae nightmare. They fixed the roof, finally after years, and the pool but don't let peopole swim. Next, beware the long term guests. One night a chair went thru a sliding glass door in a huge argument that was heard all thru the motel. That was the end.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here. You'll be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

when we arrived at the superlodge we politely asked for a room. we had been to this lodge frequently ( every 4-6 weeks) and expected courtesy. we were bluntly told that unless we call ahead on weekends we have little chance of getting a room during the autumn season. our trip to kingston was primarily to see out 2 autistic sons who live in a residential facility. i doubt we will be going back to a place where the receptionist si so rude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a difference caring owners/ staff makes. I moved to the Superlodge after a horrific experience with the more-expensive Super 8 just down the street ( see my review of that). Like other reviewers have noted, this is a dated property that looks like not much from the outside - a worn-looking converted '60 s HoJo. however, inside, the rooms are very good, and obviously they work on them/ care about them, are updating and upgrading as they go. My room was quite large, VERY clean, and had touches like a power strip zip-tied to the desk leg so that there are plenty of power outlets for laptops etc - that might not look elegant, but it's efficient and thoughtful of them. They clearly believe in quality materials as they update - tho workmanship was not fancy, the new bath sink counter was granite, and bath floors and walls had ceramic tile (as opposed to the vinyl etc of most cheap places), and furniture, linens, mattress, and pillows were all good ( and better than most cheap places). Had some extras that the super8 didnt, like iron and ironing board. Everything worked, and Wifi was trouble- free, even tho I was at far end of longest wing. Clerks were efficient and professional. No in-room coffee but the lobby coffee is good. as other reviewers say, no breakfast, but inexpensive diner with discount is 30 feet away and the room price is lower enuf than the other area hotels to make up for it ( and you get a "real" breakfast; tho the diner isnt great, its adequate). Prices are not cheap in this area, but theirs are lower than any comparable properties, and rooms are nicer ....and I know- I have stayed in at least six in this general price range around kingston. No questionable people hanging around like at the super 8, this felt safe: I am a woman traveling alone on business to festivals, so this matters. Very convenient location next to thruway and rte 209, the route to rhinebeck. this will be my # 1 choice for lower- cost lodging for my annual trips here from now on.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here the weekend of the New York Sheep and Wool Festival, since by the time I went to book it was one of the few places left with vacancies. We paid $110/night for a non-smoking room with 2 queen sized beds. We certainly got what we asked for, the room was just a little worn. Decor was the teal/purple floral combination that was popular in the 90s, with peeling yellow wallpaper and a dusty wood TV cabinet. However, the place was clean, the bed was comfortable (enough), and we didn't have any problems. There was no refrigerator or coffee pot (although we didn't specifically request those, it would have been nice); they seem to be hoping you'll visit their diner on the property (we didn't.) Bath towels were about as thick as washcloths and very, very small, but again, clean and well stocked each day.

Overall, not somewhere I'd go out of my way to stay at again, but not somewhere I'd avoid either on return trips to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Our room was clean and comfortable and the bath new. We were visiting friends in the area and stayed here two days. Excellent price for area,convient to highway ...eat at Disings..a Dutch bakery down the road.Would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Superlodge Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superlodge Kingston

Address: 129 Route 28, Kingston, NY 12401
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Superlodge Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Superlodge Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superlodge Kingston Hotel Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superlodge Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.