We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, smart service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kingston

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Kingston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1307 Ulster Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Kingston
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Excellent value, smart service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is clean and quiet. When I checked in I was a bit weary because there were a lot of high school students in the lobby. The front desk clerk graciously granted my request to be placed in a quiet room away from any students. Bonus: I left something in room after check out and there was no trouble retrieving my belongings a few hours later. I paid about $150 total for 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    109
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
137
95
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been here many times and have always loved it. The hotel is in great shape and staff is very helpful. Only problem was that the phone system in the hotel was down. Otherwise all was well. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

a liitle far from Windham - but worth it- good place for a quick overnight with a a little skiing the next day- clean roooms- good breakfast- easy check inn- great beds- restaurants and shoppng very close

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Kingston for a Gymnastics meet and really enjoyed it. The room was clean, the breakfast was included, and the beds were comfortable. It was a nice place to stay as we were traveling from NYC up to a gymnastics meet at Bard College, and this was a close hotel. We ate at a nearby Ruby Tuesday. We are going to come back to this hotel the next time we take a ski trip to Hunter Mountain. The employees were sweet and helpful at check-in, and honored the government rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn in Kingston when we decided to go snowboarding in Hunter Mtn one snowy weekend in January 2013. They had a special offer - for every night stayed, guests receive a day lift pass per person (max. 2 ppl) at Hunter Mtn. This was a good deal because a wkend day lift pass is about $70 pp!

The lobby area was cozy and clean. I liked the fact that they had hot drinks and some cookies/fruits in the dining area throughout the day so when we came back from snowboarding, there was hot chocolate available. The staff were also polite and friendly.

We tried to use the pool but it was too
small to accomodate all the guests and the kids who were in there. I wanted to do a couple of laps but that would have been impossible. It was busy all evening even when we came back at 9.30pm.

The breakfast options were limited but that was ok since I thought it was a bonus that they served breakfast at all. The line to get food was a bit chaotic and the dining area was too small to accomodate all the guests. Some of us had to bring breakfast back to our rooms and ate there.

The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. We were on the 1st floor, with our window facing the front parking lot/entrance. It was noisy at times because we could hear the snow removal trucks outside intermittently throughout our stay. Also, it was a bit of an inconvenience that there was only one set of vending machines/ice machine available to guests and that was in the ground floor by the lobby.

The location of this hotel was great. There were plenty of restaurants around, a bank nearby, 24 hour CVS, dunkin donuts and close enough to the Target and the mall.

All in all, it was a better choice than staying in one of the B&Bs near Hunter because the hotel was clean/comfortable, in a convenient location and it was good calue for money. We wanted wifi and all the amenities of a chain hotel, and we got what we paid for.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again next time we visit Hunter and perhaps when we also visit Wyndham Mtn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, you have everything you need, its a very clean hotel, hot breakfast is delicious, rooms are very clean, restaurants are very close by, highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have been staying here on the way to weekend ski trips in the Catskills. Like other Hampton Inns - great hotel for the value. Clean, with all the services you'd expect. Lots of families here - partly because of the pool. The rooms are in great condition and the breakfast is what you'd expect from Hampton.

Location is good too - very close to the highway but on the main Kingston retail strip so access to all the retail.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevator is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Address: 1307 Ulster Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.