We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kingston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1307 Ulster Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have been staying here on the way to weekend ski trips in the Catskills. Like other Hampton Inns - great hotel for the value. Clean, with all the services you'd expect. Lots of families here - partly because of the pool. The rooms are in great condition and the breakfast is what you'd expect from Hampton.

Location is good too - very close to the highway but on the main Kingston retail strip so access to all the retail.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevator is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    125
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
155
115
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Coming from 2 weeks in manhattan from a starwood prefernce hotel we werent sure what to expect...the reality is that we were much happier and comfortable here!!! And a 1/3 of the price!! When we booked we werent so sure where we would end up, but this place is wonderful if you plan to go skiing around the area. Yes...its about a 50 min drive to a sky resort, but there are 3 mountains to go to. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient...from the manager to the janitor. Wi fi is complementary, as it should be, while in ny city they cahrged 20 bucks per day! They have simple complimentary breakfast, not wonderful, but you really dont need more: bagels, fruit, creals, yoghurts. There is not really anything around the town, but the commercial area of the hotel gets you by and entertained, with a mall, target, costco, restaurants and shops justs crossing the street. The train does go by, but no one in my party minded it. We were happy and relaxed in this simple clean hotel. What you pay is what you get, plus the hotel is almost new!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

.All of the staff was polite and helpful. The room was neat and clean. The location of the hotel is very convenient for Kingston. It is located in the shopping area. The breakfast with the room was more than enough. The women who put the food out were very busy insuring nothing ran out during breakfast. What I liked the best was the size of our shower area it was huge. There were no regular rooms left so we ended up with a handicap room. The shower I would guess would be able to accommodate a wheel chair. It was a large shower area. I would return to this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is located 25 yards from a main rail line, with trains moving and blowing their whistles pretty much all night long. Walls and floors are paper-thin. It is one of the noisiest places I have ever stayed, bar none!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIKingston, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kingston, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise issue you encountered from nearby transit while visiting us. We know how important a good night's rest is and regret not being able to provide this for you. If we may be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Thank you,
Ramona Vazquez
General Manager]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff was proactive in offering a foldaway for our adult daughter who was traveling with us. They were cheerful, fun-loving, and a joy to talk to. We had booked the jacuzzi suite with our Hilton Honors points and were very impressed with the whole suite.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. James, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booking a last minute New Years ski weekend at Hunter Mountain we needed a place that allowed us to stay with our three kids and offered breakfast. We have had much success in the Hampton Inns so we chose the Kingston location. The quality and service is what we have come to expect, the breakfast solid, the decor nicely done, the room tasteful and clean. Additional drawers in the room would have been helpful with all our winter clothes and ski wear but we made do. The staff was helpful and always cheerful. We were right across the street from a huge mall, which was helpful in last minute birthday shopping. The local restaurants were casual and affordable. The only downfall was the distance from Hunter that also required paying the Throughway toll in each direction, probably running up the cost of this location quite a bit more than another closer competitor. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this Hampton Inn for a family or business trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stay here on weekends that our son is skiing at Belleayre. We love this hotel and so does our son. Pluses: (1) clean, clean, clean hotel and rooms!, (2) the breakfast area can be used in the evenings to bring in food from Panera or any of the other local eateries (if you don't feel like eating at a local restaurant)--Target is also right across the highway and the Hannaford supermarket within walking distance, (3) comfortable couches and chairs around the fireplace in the common area (I spent early Sunday morning with my Ipad in front of the fireplace-- fresh coffee was also already available from the breakfast area), (4) very clean pool and surrounding pool area (my son and his friend had a great time swimming on Saturday night), (5) very nice healthy breakfast selection (i.e. fruit salad, hardboiled eggs, oatmeal), plus some not so healthy (but good) choices!-- and it's included in the price, (6) very nice staff-- and accomodating, and (7) reasonably priced. Although we often only stay for one night (we live about a 2 hour drive away), we view it as a mini vacation. :). The hotel was recommended to us by a friend, and we continue to recommend to our friends (friends stayed this weekend, while we were there an also remarked how much they liked the hotel).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Address: 1307 Ulster Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.