We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, close to shopping and restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kingston to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Frank Sottile Blvd, Kingston, NY 12401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Average hotel, close to shopping and restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. I am a Platinum member. I asked but did not get any upgrade. The excuse was- they were not available. I have never got an upgrade in the last 12 months at Courtyard anyway. Breakfast is not free, Internet is free.

Usually I don't stay at Courtyard, but they were free nights that I had to use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
59
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel needs a clean up and renovating. Our room was filthy. The sheets were threadbare and see through, yellowish (supposed to be white). The armrests on the sofa and chairs were black with dirt, seriously nasty. The bathtub had black mold in the corners. The room smelled stale and old, probably from the carpets which were disgusting. This was the worst Marriott stay ever. I don't know how old this hotel is but it is in desperate need of a clean up and I am amazed at the other reviews here - are people so immune to dirt? If I am asked to pay 200 for a room I want it clean, sanitized and fresh. The least tehy could do is use sheets that aren't see through after being washed so many times and towsls that aren't grayish from washing over and over and over. NASTY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I am so sorry that your stay with us was not up to par. We do strive for cleanliness and it's very disappointing to me that you found your room far below standards. Please contact me if you are coming to our area again, and I will make sure that our staff does everything we can to improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. They are working on the lobby area.
I did think the rate to be on the high side. The pool and surrounding area is ok, could use a shower to rinse off pool water. It is convenient to shopping malls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a response. Our renovation is complete and we would love to see you again in the future and introduce you to our new lobby and Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff is kind and courteous here, and the beds were quite comfortable. Our room was quiet and opened out toward the East so we didn't need an alarm clock. You do get the sense the place is run down, because the towels are mismatched and the bathrooms seem to need redoing. They're renovating something on the ground floor, so breakfast is served in a meeting room, but it's still a good breakfast with reasonable selection (read: they had bacon!). And everything is clean. It's just kind of like staying at your friend's mom's house instead of at a Marriott.

Room Tip: If you're planning on a ski or hike day, get a room facing east. There's nothing like a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response. We look forward to a future visit now that our renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here after skiing at hunter mountain. Staff was warm and welcoming starting with Rob at front desk to everyone else. Hotel and rooms are very clean. Breakfast a good value. Tons of dining and shopping options nearby with Rob providing the recommendation for his favorite Chinese food place. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I would stay again, but mainly because of the convenience of the location & the staff was great. However, the bed was not very comfortable. It was lumpy and leany- didn't lose any sleep over it or anything... Also, the breakfast was kind of terrible, compared to the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie (where the room for the same weekend was $10 cheaper AND included a FREE breakfast!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice, comfortable hotel. Great service, nice and clean rooms, pool/hot tub, and very convenient location. Loved the "Free" tea/coffee set up in the main lobby! Stayed for 2 nights to go skiing up at Bellayre mountain, and it was the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Address: 500 Frank Sottile Blvd, Kingston, NY 12401
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful Catskill Mountains, the Courtyard by Marriott Kingston should be your destination hotel when traveling to the Hudson Valley, with our newly renovated lobby, featuring The Bistro and Starbucks, and our brand new guest rooms. We are just minutes from the New York State thruway (I-87) and many exciting destinations and events. Experience Rip Van Winkle River Cruises, Woodstock, HITS-ON-THE-HUDSON, The Omega Institute, Rhinebeck, Dutchess County Fairgrounds, beautiful hikes, outdoor activities and some of the best skiing/snowboarding around at, Hunter, Belleayre or Windham ski resorts. Also Kingston is the first capital of New York, the area is filled with history and pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
Kingston Courtyard
Kingston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.