We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship to Shore Restaurant

Ship to Shore Restaurant
15 West Strand, Kingston, NY 12401
845-334-8887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 193 restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner in this charming restaurant across from the waterfront. Before dinner we enjoyed walking along the waterfront to look at all of the boats. We ate early and were able to get one of the tables in the front window which was a pleasant place to watch the admittedly limited action. Our waiter Brian was very knowledgeable about the menu which was helpful on our first visit. I enjoyed the meatball appetizer for my entree which I found was plenty for dinner. My friend had the macaroni and peas with the crab cake. She found the breading crust on the crab cake overwhelmed the crab but she loved the mac and peas. The serving size was more than she could eat but she was happy to take it home for another meal. This restaurant deserves its high rating on tripadvisor. When we're in Kingston again we'll definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    50
    30
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Highland, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great meal, except for.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Delicious meal, great service. Poor choices of beer. My husband enjoys craft beer from one of the many micro breweries all over the US. The beer choices here are from the 1990's. I am sure many other customers would appreciate a more interesting beer selection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience. Loved atmosphere, staff, drinks and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The restaurant has a great vibe. You walk in and the lights are soft, candles, dark wood bar. Not showy. All staff that worked there provided a friendly greeting.

Nice drink specials like house made raspberry infused vodka cosmo. Mmmm. We ordered the calamari to share, it was done perfectly. I had the Ship to Shore noodle bowl and it was truly amazing. Big portion and I forced myself to eat most of it because it was unlike anything I ever ate before - it was that tasty. Nice, snappy, grilled shrimp, a few dumplings, noodles and the broth had a bit of umami that made it sing.

Our waiter was so attentive and helpful and also friendly. We will go back again when we are in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ship to Shore is one of my absolute favorites in the Hudson Valley. The food is always excellent and prepared exactly as you request. There are always interesting specials. The service is always excellent and the wait staff is very knowledgable. The steaks and seafood dishes are especially good. The kitchen will try to meet any special requests you may have.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Ridge, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“RE-review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our last experience wasn't so great due to the service BUT through the grapevine Samir, the manager, heard about our complaints and took it upon himself to contact me directly. He was polite, apologetic, and extremely friendly. Samir told us to let him know the next time we were coming in. Needless to say when I hung up the phone I was extremely pleased. About a week ago my wife and I stopped back in for another visit without letting Samir know so we would have a 'true service' experience and boy am I glad we did. The food was awesome and just as important, the service was five star!!! If I could delete or rewrite my prior reveiw I would. I could go on and on about the prefection we saw and ate but I will keep it short. AWESOME DINING EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship to Shore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ship to Shore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship to Shore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.