We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ambiance and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoffman House

Hoffman House
94 N Front St, Kingston, NY 12401-3832
+1 845-338-2626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 194 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Beautifully restored 17th century stone house at corner of historic stockade district in Kingston, NY. Summer patio dining, winter fireside dining.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We dined on a weeknight here but there were a lot of people as it is a good place to eat. We came very early and ate in the dining room as there is also a bar. There was a nice beer selection and there were a lot of food varieties as well. The wait staff was kind and friendly and the ambiance of the old building made it special. I will return if I am every back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been to the Hoffman House twice for lunch in the past two months and thoroughly enjoyed my meals (as did my lunch guests) both times. Both times we ate on the back patio and it was really comfortable and lively. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a nice lunch outing! (The only reason I give the service a 4 is because I should have been asked if I needed a refill on my water when I emptied the glass; otherwise, we were properly cared for.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Kingston restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Hoffman House is a must if you are visiting Kingston. The owners, Pat & Ginny are the greatest. The old stone building has a quaint interior with fireplaces and wood floors. A nice covered patio in the rear makes dining great' The food is well prepared and delicious.We live in Florida and visit the Albany area in July and August and try to visit the Hoffman House several times during our stay. Being from Kingston originally, Pat & Ginny have been close friends and wonderful people. My daugter lives in Woodstock and this is there favorite restaurant. She also had her wedding reception there a few years ago.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is a nice variety on the menu to please everyone in your party. There is a bar menu for lighter fare. The building is one of the original building from the Stockade era of pre Revolutionary War days. One a nice evening the patio is a delightful way to enjoy your meal. The specials are always good. My personal favorite is the fish and chips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde park
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great meal. We had a small wedding receiption there many years ago. It was nice to eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffman House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoffman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.