We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kodomo Asian Bistro

Kodomo Asian Bistro
478 Albany Avenue, Kingston, NY
845-338-7888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 193 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mid Hudson Valley NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Favorite Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Don't be fooled by the exterior. This place is awesome. Food is great, wait staff attentive, and almost every visit we have been given an unexpected complimentary treat to try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went there on Valentines Day with a group of friends and the waitress was so rude. She said I thought you were ready to order, I have other tables. We complained to the hostess and nothing was done she came back again with an attitude. The food is okay but I wouldn't go back because the service was terrible especially on Valentines Day. Other people got up and left because the service was so bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Aboslutely love the Tuna Tar Tar!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is by far the best sushi place in the area. It is a 10 minute drive from the thruway, but so worth it. Start with the Tuna Tar Tar, then get the spicy tuna or any crab rolls. You will not be disappointed. If you are going to go on a weekend night, make reservations! get there early and don't be suprised if your reservation is misplaced. Deal with it! It's that good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, NY usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bright & Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had my birthday party here last August--about 10 people who'd never been before--and the waitstaff handled the crowd nicely, drinks brought quickly, questions answered, extra treats appeared. The food and decor are bright and fresh. Lots of old favorites: Thai curries & noodles, sushi, sashimi, and chirashi sushi, but also inventive rolls and signature dishes that are outside the bento box. Plating and presentation are charming, so nice for a romantic visit as well.
At times the airco is cold enough I now bring a sweater, in case. And the last time I got the green mango salad it had morphed into a jicama salad, still good, but not quite as tartly refreshing. But it's become a once a week place. Lunch menu has bargain dishes and dinner menu is well priced for the artfulness of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Sushi and Asian in Kingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place has it all. Great ambiance, superb quality sushi, outstanding variety of both commonly found and creatively new rolls. My wife doesn't like sushi, but she loves their Pad Thai, Udon Noodles and Shrimp Teriyaki. We love this place! We'll be back again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodomo Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kodomo Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kodomo Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.