We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duo Bistro

Duo Bistro
50 John Street, Kingston, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 193 restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a great find. My wife and I both had wonderful breakfasts. If you like spicy, get the chef's breakfast that has halapeno peppers mixed with the eggs ( I had that and it was awesome). Also, get the Smashed potatoes... Really good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    11
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent little oasis in Kingston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall, we LOVED Kingston and this restaurant was one of the reasons. Tucked in an historic building we went for brunch on a Saturday and had a great meal. The egg dishes were unique and they had some vegetarian selections and unique pastries. A small place, but the staff was great to take our name and call us when our table was ready so that we could walk around Kingston a little while waiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This ain't yo mama's brisket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sitting on the couch, 8:30 pm, my wife and I run up to Duo ( 5 minutes from our house), we both order the brisket over collard greens and mashies. Off the chart, best brisket I have ever had, anywhere! Melts in your mouth, tender as tender can be. The waitress, as all of them there are always friendly and attentive. We are so lucky to have this little gem in Kingston. We are customers for life...whether breakfast, lunch or dinner......

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rondout, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Duo For Two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located in the Stockade District of Kingston, NY, a city that has been experiencing serious infrastructure problems of late, Duo's small dining room is comfortable, pleasant, and perfect for seating two people at a table. The menu is very interesting, but you might want to inquire about items before ordering so that your taste buds aren't taken by surprise. My business adviser and I have eaten at Duo three times this year and everything we've ordered has been excellent. But it takes a little while to get your food, so you don't want to go there with somebody who doesn't have much to say.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small but Big in Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This small "hip" feeling restaurant is in an interesting Kingston neighborhood.
The pasta dishes were scrumptious, salad great.....could have had better mussels but overall a very nice experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Duo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.