We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresented” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keegan Ales

Keegan Ales
20 Saint James St, Kingston, NY 12401-4534
845-331-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 194 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Misrepresented”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We went here based on a recommendation and wish we had not driven the hour to get there. Upon walking in, there was a smell of mold and must and we almost left immediately. We went to the bar and walked by picnic tables that were set up as dining tables; there were about 4. When I went to sit down at a barstool, I realized that I was sitting next to a black cat; he was napping on the barstool next me! To top off this horrible start, the bartender was miserable and couldn't be bothered to be nice or be helpful. We had a beer, which was delicious and then left. It is a shame that they don't have a more motivated group of people involved because the Mother's Milk beer was amazing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Car broke down on interstate and got towed to Kingston. Proceeded to drown our sorrows with some "Mothers Milk" from Keegan Ales that was suggested by the clerk at a local carry out. The clerk said the ale was brewed locally and the next day we sought out the brewery restaurant and walked on over.
There was a home brewing shop that Keegan runs next to the Restaurant and as a home-brewer it was great to browse the grains, hops, yeasts and equipment offered. Then off to the restaurant for a 6 glass sampler of the Ales with Mothers Milk again winning our palettes over. The chowder was hot, salad delightful and quesadillas cheesy. Hell, we forgot about the car and enjoyed the conversation with the bartender and another guy at the bar who turned out to be the brewer.

On my next trip up from Maryland I won't wait for a leaky hose to rupture to find Kinston, but am putting Keegan Ales on my map AS A MUST SEE AGAIN SPOT. Yes some "Mothers Milk" did roll home with us. Just go...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glad we visited Keegan's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I visited this past Friday night during an overnight trip in Kingston. Stopped in around 630pm on a dreary rainy Friday to sample the local brews, and glad we did.
Met a local at the bar named "Murph" who suggested a few beers, all of which were damn tasty.
Very mellow vibe, nice mix of regular people quaffing a few at the end of another work week.
We did not eat there, and would have liked to have stayed later to catch that night's live music.
Our bartender was friendly, and offered a few sample tastes so we could decide which of their beers to choose from. Bought a Helga beer glass and a Keegan's Ale baseball hat to show we had been there, done that, and would definitely go back next time we are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The beer is ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nothing special about the place,except for free music on the weekend,otherwise not a place for brew heads to go out of their way to visit.Magic Hat in South Burlington Vermort offers alot better selection of beers,alot better atmosphere,and was way more family friendlier and plus had a more varied food menu,plus their prices were better.If you live in Kingston this is unfortunately your only place to get fresh overpriced mediocre ales/beer,that's what happens in most small towns.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rustic with decent food and good beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Keegan is a brewery in an old garage type building. The brews are made right there and are good. You go in the back room near the brewing equipment to order food from a stand up counter. The menu is limited because I think they want to be known for their beer and live events. The night I was there they had a lively trivia game. If you are looking for some craft brews and pub food this place fills the bill. But, remember it is rustic and doesn't appear to be family friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keegan Ales also viewed

 
 

Been to Keegan Ales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keegan Ales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.