We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took the Hudson River Cruise and looked for lunch afterwards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savona's Trattoria

Savona's Trattoria
11 Broadway, Kingston, NY 12401-6042
+1 8453396800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 195 Restaurants in Kingston
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Took the Hudson River Cruise and looked for lunch afterwards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Savona's is one of a few restaurant options near the Hudson River Cruise dock. We chose the outside dining because it was a nice day. The service was terrible from the start and they were not busy! They came immediately for our drinks order (we only wanted water) but took another 25 minutes to take our food order. We each ordered a personal pizza. After waiting another 30-40 minutes, my husband went to check on our order with the waitress. She acted surprised that we thought we had been waiting too long. When it came - another 10 minutes later, the pizza was tasteless. We ate enough to stave off hunger. When we asked for the check we were told that the credit card machine was not working. It would have been helpful to know that when we ordered. Do not choose this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    14
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last week and I can't wait to go back again. The food was delicious. Their breadsticks are to die for! The service was awesome and the price was very reasonable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ny
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2nd visit as good as the first.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a wonderful dining experience. The service and the food is excellent. The Savonas own e few eateries in the city and all are good. We had a very large party. The food was serve all at the same time and hot. If you like Fine Italian food this is the place to be. It is also a stroll from the waterfront where there is always something going on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good outdoor table.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food was good. We got an appetizer with gorgonzola cheese I think and another with fried squash blossoms. We were happy with those. Garlic breadsticks were really good too. Main dishes... eggplant and lasagna were very good. The linguini with clams... not so nice. The clams were overdone and some tasted smoky like they were burned. Sangria was good. Mojito was good. I keep saying things were "good" which is why the 4 stars and not 5. I can't say anything was excellent. Would I go back? Yes. But, I'd try a few other places in the area first.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Been here for lunch twice. Friendly people but oh so slow for average italian food. Can't even recall what I had , which speaks for itself. Maybe they are better at dinner time , but I wouldn't chance it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savona's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Savona's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savona's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.