We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Ulster County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boitson's

Boitson's
47 N Front St, Kingston, NY 12401-3829
845-339-2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boitson's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 194 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wall Street
Transit: Boitson's is located just up the street from the Adirondack Trailways bus terminal. We are about 15 minutes from the Rhinecliff Amtrak train station and 2 miles from the Rondout Waterfront Marina.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great find in Ulster County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was our second time there. This time we brought friends, and they loved it too! Innovative and tasty dishes. The food was great. I had the duck entree which was perfectly cooked, and delicious. The liver slider appetizer was something different with great flavor. It was a lively and comfortable atmosphere. We are picky New Yorkers, and were not disappointed! I highly recommend. Only one suggestion is to increase the lighting bit. We had a hard time seeing our delicious food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Bar & Restaurant,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arriving early we sat at bar and enjoyed drinks. I tried a local NY beer and will be looking for more 2XIPA from Southern Tier Brewing Co - the best bottled IPA I have tasted in the USA, well balanced, not overwhelming in hops and great sipping beer.
Once seated in what is a really small restaurant, with a kitchen on open view (excellent as it shows organization and transparency to customers), we ordered dinner. I selected moules and frites, which were excellent, all open, plenty of them with a really great sauce base (best dish for us that night). My wife had a salad, generous size that was a little too much lettuce but still enjoyed the fruit and citric dressing.
Her steak was a bit tough and let down the dinner experience but I selected the red snapper which appeared as small grilled fillets of fish on a pea pod and pea puree (great combo of fresh mint flavors). Excellent fish and the house sauvingnon blanc well matched. (white wine oddly served in sort of large shot glass was weird and my preferred use of a stem glass would keep it cooler).
The desserts of creme brule and chocolate ice creme were a bit of a let down, creme brule was cold and obviously prepared earlier in day, a bit bland, ice cream lacked a strong chocolate flavor and was insipid. Good filter coffee. Reasonable prices for a really interesting menu and a good bar.

They need to update or remove their web site menu specials, they are out of date.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“OH MY!!!!! So far I've had the quail special with some amazing grits!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My daughter and I started the the quail(I've never had quail) after saying " aaaawwwwweee so cute and tiny! I don't wanna eat it! One taste and that quail wasn't as cute as it was YUMMY!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We discovered this place through an ad in a magazine. Very pleasantly surprised! Cool bar and interesting twists on the menu. We started with fresh oysters on the 1/2 shell, very good. Grilled figs with goat cheese, nice. Accompanied by bacon brittle, which was a strange pairing, but tasty on it's own. Ribs came with a different and interesting sauce. Fried chicken good, but needs seasoning. Will go back with friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly cool hangout in uptown Kingston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

What a pleasure it is to have an adult, foodie place in uptown Kingston - not fast food, not ethnic, just well made quality ingredients, friendly service and a fun vibe. Not inexpensive but not OTT - a great place to hang out in Maria's eaterie. One of the best in the mid-Hudson Valley.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boitson's also viewed

 

Been to Boitson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boitson's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.