We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wed.,Jan.2,'13” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Professor's Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Professor's Diner
58 Indian Head Rd, Kings Park, NY 11754-3703
631-269-4346
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Kings Park
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Commack,Long Island,New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wed.,Jan.2,'13”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went in for a 'take out',Gyro,@$6.50,>> it was,mostly, lettuce,w/a couple of tomato slices,and,very little meat.Seemed, like, a 'lettuce sandwich',on Pita bread!
















>>got it home,and,found,mostly, lettuce,a couple,of tomatoe,slices,and,very,little meat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson Station, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where you can find a touch of LOVE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've been to Professor's Diner for breakfast, lunch and dinner and have been completely satisfied each and every visit. There are only a few eating places I've been to that transport me to a time when I remember great home cooked food, great service and a family atmosphere full of genuine love and appreciation for their customers and that certainly is Professor's Diner. My most memorable time was when I was with my entire family celebrating and we never felt rushed and there was never a lack of service. I would definitely recommend Professor's if you want your children to experience old fashioned good food and great people in an atmosphere that brings you back to when you were a kid!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cleanliness is their middle name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am a property manager and I've seen a lot of restaurants. Professor's Diner is the cleanest food establishment I've ever been to. Their bathrooms are spotless. All the decorations are free of dust. I trust a place that is clean. The food is very, very reasonably priced. We go for breakfast often. The staff is very friendly. I feel a little like I've gone back in time. Real small town feeling. I enjoy the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Choices, Good Food, Great Family Atmosphere and LOVE breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you are in the KIngs Park area, the Professors Diner should be an option for a bite to eat. Its located down from TJ Maxx on Indian Head Road. The diner is fashioned after an era gone by, thats a GOOD thing, the booths, the down home Kitschy items (many for sale), the "feel" of it. The place is quite busy on Sunday mornings when families and friends alike go for a delicious breakfast. I have eaten here for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I have also taken my young nieces here as a treat, they really enjoyed all the "things to see" and their meal as well. The food has always been served fresh and hot, staff is always with a smile and friendly. They are attentive and quick to offer up some more coffee or drink. Prices are good, serving sizes as well. I would recommend it and will also return myself. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Typical luncheonette and diner food. I felt it was overpriced for what it is

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Professor's Diner also viewed

Kings Park, Long Island
Kings Park, Long Island
 
Kings Park, Long Island
 

Been to Professor's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Professor's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.