We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite High Peaks Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RoosterComb Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RoosterComb Inn
3 Market St., Keene Valley, NY 12943   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our favorite High Peaks Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our third time staying at the RoosterComb Inn, for a total of 4 nights altogether. We stayed in July 2011, December 2011 and January 2012. For us it's perfect, reasonably priced, communal kitchen, and we can book 1 night on a weekend (some places only accept 2 nights). As others have noted, it's well furnished, clean and the owner is pleasant, accommodating and fun to chat with. We love having kitchen facilities to use as we save money preparing our own meals and find it relaxing to do after a day of hiking.

There's a small grocery store a minute away for picking up meal items, with an excellent meat department. The meat is local, and good quality.

Over the years we've stayed at more than 15 different B&B's, Hotels, motels, Inns, Hostels, etc. in the area, and this is the one we like best.

Kay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here one night after a long week of camping. We booked the suite with its own bathroom and what a value! Great location right in Keene Valley with trails, food and shops all within walking distance in this quaint little town. The rooms were clean, comfy beds and beautiful furniture. Self serve kitchen was clean and convenient. We had the place to ourselves so I can't comment on noise, because it was quiet for us! Our friendly host was happy to offer lots of info and suggestions about the area. Beautiful handmade furniture is made here as well. Wish I had the extra cash and room to take some home! Memorable stay and well worth the price! Will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The roostercomb is a great value for money place in keene valley. its clean and recently renovated. however, do not trust the online availability calendar. make sure to call and speak to the owners to book and confirm your reservation. what's online isn't updated regularly and shows vacancy when there really isn't. disappointing in that regard.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

We were three men on a hiking holiday. The place is very clean, nicely furnished (comfortable beds) with a good kitchen and outdoor area. The owners are very welcoming. The location and Keene village are probably the best the Adirondack park can offer. Very good value for the money. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at Rooster Comb Inn as part of our Ironman Lake Placid trip in July. We were greeted by a large banner when we arrived, were treated like family members, and even went on a nice run in the pine woods with our host. Evenings were pleasant around the outside fire pit, telling stories and watching the sun go down behind Rooster Comb mountain. The rooms were beautiful, the furniture hand made by the host, and it felt like home. We could not have been more pleased with our stay, and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RoosterComb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RoosterComb Inn

Address: 3 Market St., Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoosterComb Inn is new to Keene Valley, NY but has a lot to offer. Our spacious six room bedroom Inn can accommodate any large hiking group or family. Full kitchen and a washer and dryer are available to all guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RoosterComb Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RoosterComb Inn to your Saves list