We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post-hike dinner by the fireplace, comfy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Keene Valley Ausable Inn

Keene Valley Ausable Inn
1809 Nys Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943
518-576-9584
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East coast, US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Post-hike dinner by the fireplace, comfy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great ambiance, good food, a little overpriced compared to other places in the area. I would only order appetizers here, the entrees are not upscale enough to warrant the prices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buffalo burgers are worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There are buffalo burgers on the dinner menu, but if you call ahead, they will serve them to you for lunch. Especially good after a long day on the trail.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Clean cheap rooms, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed here twice and eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The food is incredible (get the duck wings - amazing), and staff has always been friendly and attentive, even when busy. As for the rooms, the are very basic, but comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are also clean and serve the purpose of a cheap, good room for an overnight in the mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfiled
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Why Bother?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We tried to eat but were told the wait would be 45 minutes by a VERY surley female. Why attempt to enjoy when the management is less than appreciative? Try Baxters!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for dinner during the week. Started off with cups of beef lentil soup that was rich, hearty, and not salty. My husband went for the veggie burger which he thoroughly enjoyed. I opted for one of the specials of the day --broiled cod. The fish arrived hot and perfectly done nicely but lightly seasoned. Fluffy rice pilaf and tender baby green beans accompanied the fish.

Service was prompt and attentive without being overwhelming. We will return :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keene Valley Ausable Inn also viewed

 

Been to Keene Valley Ausable Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keene Valley Ausable Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.