We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1433 NYS Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Ski - Free night
Ranked #1 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Camden, New York
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was't sure that I wanted to write on here because I'd like to keep our little secret :) Anyway, we stayed here due to the close proximity to the high peak trail heads. We were so pleased with our decision. Amy was so warm and welcoming (and very fun to chat with.) We later met Wayne and he was just as friendly. After a long day of hiking it was great to come "home" and relax on the front porch. Unfortunately, we never got to try the "gourmet" breakfast because we stayed during the week. However, because we were unable to partake in the regular breakfast the first morning, Amy left a nice breakfast in our room for us. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our third stay at Snow Goose B&B and it was just as wonderful as our other two visits. Amy and Wayne are the best hosts and are always willing to accomodate any special needs we may have. This time we showed up towing a big motorcycle trailer and we were able to get it parked and hooked up to an electrical outlet via a loooong extension cord. We stayed in the bigger Legacies room as my husband was participating in the Lake Placid Ironman for the second time and the room allowed us to have all his equipment, bike, bags of supplies, etc. without us feeling crowded. We also loved that we could make our own breakfast at 3:45 am on the event day, right in our room. We have stayed in other rooms here and all have been neat, clean and homey. We love the breakfast gatherings where we got to spend time with a young triathlete and his family, and a few days later, were part of an "international" table of visitors from Scotland, Canada and Belgium! It was so interesting to hear about their own countries! Breakfast is always delicous.....note that a bigger breakfast is served on weekend mornings. We used the B&B as a home base when we took several motorcycle rides to Plattsburgh, NY and also Burlington, VT. Hubby is signed up for next year's Lake Placid Ironman and we have already reserved our room at Snow Goose! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cdn in Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's funny, this place isn't perfect in all tangible aspects but Amy's many helpful and warm personal touches provide enough bonus points to get a five out of five rating. e.g. Amy is very available, very patient and quite knowledgable about local hiking and eating to provide excellent guidance for an enjoyable outing; when we decided to come back in mid-afternoon to watch the hummingbirds on her feeder but the feeder happened to be empty, Amy immediately filled it up (without being asked of course). The main tangible drawback is proximity to the main road, route73, whose traffic noise does interfere with the pleasure of sitting out on the wide veranda. However, in our room (Harmonies, facing the hillside away from the road) with the window open at night to avoid the noise of the window air conditioner which did bother us, the road noise was faint and didn't bother us at all. It might also be even better if breakfast was a bit more flexible than the standard 8:30 ... but then a good thing happened when everyone showed up at the same time to eat, the conversation got going really well and both mornings breakfast lasted a good hour (and patient Amy was not making any "you folks need to get moving I have beds to change, dishes to wash" noises, indeed she was taking part while keeping the coffee going). The combination of a US submarine veteran, his Hawaian wife, a couple from Belgium and us from Canada+ Scotland makes for an interesting variety of perspectives and experiences. Don't know for sure but it seems this B&B doesn't serve any meat with breakfast. Anyone wanting to load up before a big day hike might feel a bit short on stuff that will last for hours of high exertion. The room itself was very clean, very spacious, comes with a small fridge, a corkscrew and two wine glasses (let's get our priorities right, huh?) We could have benefitted from having two, not just one, of the tiny bars of home-made soap in the bathroom to avoid moving it back and forth from sink to bath - (I know, I know, life sure is tough). The house is a bit too far out of Keene Valley to walk to dinner, so someone needs to restrict the alcohol, but it's a very short drive. The short hike out the back door to the waterfall is very pleasant and not frequented much. The trail intersects other longer trails too.

Room Tip: Harmonies faces the hilside away from the road and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Snow Goose is a special place.
The Hosts make the guests feel special as well.
They are present and make you feel like at home away from home.
The breakfast is also something very special, with home made goodies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Clean and comfortable B&B located in Keene Valley, perfect for hiking excursions. Keene Valley is a lovely little community with a few good places to eat. The B&B was closer to the main road than we anticipated and there is traffic noise during the day if relaxing on the front porch (which we did not do, since we were hiking every day). But very little noise at night with fan on even with windows open. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful although it would be nice if it was served starting at 8 a.m. in order for guests to get an earlier start. Owners are very helpful about the area and lots of hiking info in the reading room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Could be either for romantic or for just friends (men's trip like I did).
Excellent for visiting the Gothics (less than 5min drive). An hour drive from saranac lake.

We could ask what we want for Breakfast... We chose banana/chocolate/coffee muffins (in addition to other goodies).
Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a great visit to the Snow Goose. It was worth the 9.5 hour drive from North East Ohio.
The house was extremely clean, and very beautiful.
The hospitality was above and beyond. We got good advise on some great local trails within walking distance of the B&B, and the Breakfast was great.
Thanks for a great time. We will be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1433 NYS Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.