We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in a beautiful part of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dartbrook Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dartbrook Lodge
Save
You added Dartbrook Lodge to your Saves list
2835 NYS Route 73, Keene, NY 12942   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Keene B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a beautiful part of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fantastic spot. I have stayed twice and the accommodations and people could not be nicer. It is great to have your own cabin to come an go as you please and to start your hikes from each day. Very centrally located for dining, hiking, exploring and everything else. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Four of us stayed in the Owl's Head Cottage at Dartbrook Lodge in Keene, NY, for two nights. It was a marvelous experience. The cabin itself was so full of character, was immaculate and had every amenity one could think of and yet it was isolated from the cabins around it and the main lodge as well. The staff was courteous and attentive, extremely helpful about surrounding attractions and entertainment. The restaurant next door (part of the lodge I think) was great. Original food offerings in a rustic setting, great service as well, dinner and breakfast and a great bakery too. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a great cabin, wonderful surroundings and a variety of things to do. Well worth your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Found the Lodge online but the website really doesn't do it justice. Immaculately clean, with homey touches and a charming rustic feel. We stayed in the North Center House, and it was just the perfect size. A little foyer with beautiful slate floor as you walk in, with a wooden bench & wall of windows. A coat stand in the corner, with an old fashioned wood-handled umbrella hanging made us feel at home immediately. Nice size living area, with dining table & four chairs. Gorgeous slate shower in bathroom, galley kitchen with small fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker & toaster. Fully stocked with plates, mugs, wine glasses, silver, pots/pans, etc. There is the ADK Cafe next door if you decide not to cook, and they offer take-away meals to warm up at the cabin if you prefer. Lots of wood, gorgeous beams, refinished floors, & many windows so it was light & airy. The layout was well thought out, with a full closet in the hallway but also plenty of hooks in all the rooms whether it be for bathrobes, wet towels, jackets, etc. A sweet front porch w/rockers & view of mountains beyond, and a screen porch off the bedroom was key for evening reflection, and also afforded lots of air flow. Even tho other folks were close by, we never felt our privacy was compromised.
About 14 miles from Lake Placid, it was a short drive to walk around the town yet we loved coming "home" to the secluded cottage that was ours for a long weekend. We didn't even mind the rain Saturday afternoon, as we had a couple of old movies (free at the lodge) to watch as we curled up together in our little piece of heaven.
Plenty of hiking trails nearby, and the staff could NOT have been more gracious. Our heartfelt thanks to Beth and Katie for the warm welcome and for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our 2nd stay within 3 years at the Dartbrook Lodge and our experience was as wonderful as the first. Very clean and centrally located to great hiking and dining. Most cottages were booked, but we still had a peaceful experience. Hand made soaps, very comfortable sleep number bed, soft plumb pillows, comfortable Adirondack furnishings, surrounded by wildflowers and nature. A cafe is next door that serves delicious meals breakfast, lunch, & dinner seven days a week. Their open at 7 and close at 9 - They also do take out and have a nice deck to enjoy your meal, or if you just want to have a drink - they aim to please! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just had our second stay at Dartbrook Lodge and loved it again. First stayed here as a couple in 2010 and took advantage of Adirondack hiking for a long weekend and some R&R from NYC. It is beautifully situated in the small town of Keene. The lodge is rustic decor but very comfortable with perfectly thought out amenities from handmade bath products to very comfy beds, the lovely smell of the wood cabins/cottages and spacious cottages. I love the porch of each one and you don't even sense that you have neighbors nearby. Beth is lovely and the lodge offers a great library of DVDs and wifi if you need it. The cafe next door is super convenient for all meals.
There is a lovely creek that runs along the property with wooden lawn chairs situated at variously secluded spots to zen out in.
It's a really nicely done place.
We just revisited for a stop on the way back from Montreal with our toddler son (after a cancellation opened up a room for us--book early!). It was a joy to share the tranquil bliss of this place with him.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just returned from three days at Dartbrook Lodge in Keene, NY. We had read about this in Martha Stewart Living and Trip Advisor, and it did not disappoint. Our little cabin was Woodruff, a one room (bedroom/living room combo) with bathroom and small outdoor porch. As all other reviews have stated, it was very clean and inviting. The rain shower in the bathroom was a treat, and the best thing was all the homemade soap products. Thank you Martha for the most amazing soaps! Also, Katie was very helpful in advising us about hikes, and Beth went out of her way to show us the house property. The ADK Cafe next door is the perfect place for meals. All in all, it was exactly what we were looking for to get away from NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is our first visit to the Lodge. We've passed by Keene before on our earlier trips to Lake Placid and had also wanted to try. This is going to be one of my favorite places that I would like to keep coming back too time and time again. It's a place that you almost selfishly don't want to tell others about. We stayed for 2 nights in the Halcyon cottage. The moment we checked in, the stress just melted away while we sat on the front porch to enjoy the cool summer evening. The cottage, the surroundings, the attention to details. We just could stop saying "wow". We later met the owners and the manager and they were all very engaging and friendly. We ate at the ADK cafe on the property and also at the nearby Cedar Run bakery which we enjoyed tremendously. It's a short drive to Lake Placid and we went there for dinner. I would like to give a little shout-out to Pan Dolce in Lake Placid, great food, friendly service, reasonable price. We have been there several times and were never disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dartbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbrook Lodge

Address: 2835 NYS Route 73, Keene, NY 12942
Location: United States > New York > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge in heart of Adirondack High Peaks with private cabins and suites offering rustic comfort of a mountain home. Furnished in the Great Camp tradition by local artisans, the Lodge has a range of well appointed private cottages and suites, with fireplaces, kitchens, Select Comfort beds, premium linens and soaps, slate rain showers, flat screen TV/DVD, in-room phone and other unique features. Lake Placid Olympic attractions and Whiteface Mountain skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dartbrook Hotel Keene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartbrook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.