We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Yorkshire Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Lovely hotel. We paid £22.50 for afternoon tea with a selection of finger sandwiches, scones and mini cakes coffee and tea. Didn't wait long to be served and the service from the waitress was excellent. All staff were friendly and we enjoyed having a look around the hotel afterwords. We sat in the conservatory for afternoon tea which was absolutely gorgeous setting. Would love to come back and stay over! Thankyou!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting the Clocktower restaurant and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We were delighted that you enjoyed an Afternoon Tea at Rudding Park and the food was to your taste and served in true style. What did you think to our Olive tree did you know that it is over 200 years old!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park and maybe on your next visit you can complete your Rudding Park experience by staying with us in our wonderful hotel, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,619
    245
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
331
1,742
36
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed for a weekend as a solo guest to get away and complete a major writing project. This is a very busy hotel - they seemed to have a wedding on each day for 3 days straight - but there is space enough to find quieter corners and events take place away from the main hotel building. Customer service standards are almost impeccable - staff are very professional, friendly and helpful. The location and interior design of the hotel are both stunning and I enjoyed the private terrace and sauna in my spa room. Bar and room service menus are limited but food is of an excellent quality - breakfast in the restaurant is excellent. Only thing missing from this hotel is it's own swimming pool rather than expecting guests to go across to the kids pool in the holiday park. Expensive stay but well worth it because the quality is so good. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Spa bedroom worth paying a bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

It was lovely to read that you chose Rudding Park to complete a major piece of work which we imagine would require peace, quiet, relaxation and an ambience to be creative in, to be inspired by Rudding Park, magic. At Rudding Park we do have a lot of weddings, it has been known to have one every day for a week, we can be inspiring too, but for you to notice this and still be able to work shows we can keep the environment right to cater for all our guests.

It was delightful to read that your received impeccable customer service and the location of the hotel and décor was to your liking. The library is a truly relaxing area and some of the books are classics maybe next visit you'll have more time to chill out and read, maybe even use the swinging chair.

As you rightly say we do currently have an outdoor swimming pool, but I am pleased to tell you that we are currently working hard with our architects to finalise the plans for our new development which includes an indoor pool and extension of our Spa. Watch this space it's nearly here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Rudding park is somewhere I often travel too. The hotel is excellent, rooms lovely. However this time I stayed in one of the luxury lodges. They are not far from hotel. You have more space. My friends can stay together. We have 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms and lounge kitchen and private terrace with a hot tub.
The lodge is called Gleneagles. Excellent idea if family or friends want to go away together, be close to one another but still have your own space.

Room Tip: Gleneagles lodge on Repton green
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

Its wonderful to welcome back a regular guest and thank you for your continued support. We're sad you've left the hotel, but delighted that you enjoyed one of our luxury lodges which have their own terraces, hot tubs and all the comforts of home, great fun if travelling as a family. It sounded like you all had fun, and still only a short walk from the hotel.

Thank you for your comments complementing the beautiful hotel we love you; be sit the hotel or Repton Green lodges you stay in, they say that variety is the spice of life.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We selected Rudding Park for our wedding and we were not disappointed. The restaurant has excellent service and the food is delicious. We and our families ate breakfast, lunches, and dinner at the hotel. Specifically the servers for the wedding breakfast (dinner reception for Americans) were extremely attentive. The food was unexpectedly scrumptious...and so much food. Out of all the various banquet dinners we have attended, this was the best food by far! The chef was able to accommodate all of the special dietary requirements. All the guests commented on the quality of the food and the exceptional service. Thanks for helping to make our wedding day special.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your marriage at Rudding Park and for taking the time to write your lovely review, the whole team are delighted that your Rudding wedding experience was so enjoyable. The positive comments we receive act as a constant source of motivation to us all.

Weddings are very special events and not something you can go back and improve on next time, you get, we hope, only one shot at it, and it has to be right. The whole team were delighted to read that we did not disappoint you that your wedding day was so special and created such special memories for you and your family.

Everyone who waited on your wedding breakfast was delighted by your comments that they had served you well. All the Chefs were also delighted that you enjoyed your wedding breakfast, that it was scrumptious and the best you had ever tasted, and that the food was also excellent in the Clocktower enjoyed by one and all.

We're truly delighted you enjoyed your wedding day, why not tweet us a picture. We do hope to welcome you back to Rudding Park again soon, be sure to keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and service.

With kind regards



The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This hotel is a triumph.We spent 3 nights there in the middle of August, celebrating our wedding anniversary. The service is exceptional without being too 'in your face'...just helpful,obliging and friendly.Touchingly, we were given a bottle of Cava in our room as well as a"chocolate" plate wishing us Happy Anniversary.We had a lovely room with a terrace:very tastefully furnished,as is the whole hotel.The grounds are charming and very well tended.Breakfast and dinner are both of the highest quality.We particularly enjoyed eating in the Conservatory.And a splendid golf course only 5 mins from the hotel....with green fees included in the package.Golf was a bit slow..but it was ever thus.One of us made good use of the Spa which is very well done out. Not cheap, but excellent value for money.And this from the most discerning and fussy hotel guests...!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park to celebrate your wedding anniversary and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Happy Wedding Anniversary once again from us all.

We were delighted that your celebratory stay was so good and you enjoyed the benefits of a room in our Follifoot wing with a terrace to sit and relax looking out over the beautiful grounds and fairways. We're sorry to hear that the golf was slow, this happens occasionally we can't all be Tiger Woods and some leisurely golfers forget this, but we hope this didn't spoil your round.

It was pleasing to read that when you were out golfing someone else was indulging themselves with spa treatments, so pleased that you had the opportunity to visit the spa before meeting up to enjoy dining in the Clocktower.

Thank you for your comments complementing the beautiful hotel , outstanding food and "not in your face" service a pleasure to read and which acts as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was my first visit to Rudding Park and I have to say I was very impressed.
The service on arrival was second to none and the garden room was extremely well equipped and decor was to a very high standard.
The Tower Restaurant was awesome with fantastic food and great service. It wasn't the cheapest but worth paying a little extra for. Bar prices weren't the cheapest either with Prosecco nearly £40 a bottle.
The grounds were beautiful and the premises maintained to a very good standard.
My only comment about the hotel was that the spa wasn't that comprehensive and there was not pool. Shame really otherwise it would have been 5 stars!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We were delighted that your stay was good and that we were able to impress you on your first visit to Rudding Park, the service was second to none. Thank you for your comments that the Clocktower was awesome with fantastic food, what about our Olive tree isn't it awesome?

We're delighted you had the opportunity to visit our Spa its popularity has taken us by surprise so much so we are building a new, bigger, bolder better one that has a swimming pool - do I get my 5*'s yet...... we do currently have an outdoor swimming pool, but I am pleased to tell you that we are currently working hard with our architects to finalise the plans for our new development.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great value luxury accommodation with a fantastic staff and with a few niggles: narrow bath with shower curtain; expensive evening meals and a bad mistake in the restaurant - my wife ordered a salad with truffles; when it arrived, seeing no truffles she asked where they were. The waiter pointed to a random part of the dish and said "under there." Dissatisfied with the answer, further clarification from the kitchen revealed that truffles had run out!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We were delighted that your overall stay was good, enjoying the benefits of Rudding Park and its beautiful location.

We’re so glad that you chose to visit the Clocktower during your stay but disappointed that your experience was not perfect, we can only apologise for the error and how it was handled these standards fall below those upon which we pride ourselves and we have put in place some retraining to prevent any further reoccurrences. I trust you have now had the opportunity to speak to our Guest Services Manager, if not then please ring us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.