We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valerie Cook- Outstanding Service‏” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Yorkshire Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Valerie Cook- Outstanding Service‏”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I visit the hotel on numerous occasions.

Valerie Cook, who is one of your managers in the reservations department always provides me with outstanding service.

She is polite, pleasant, prompt and very attentive to whatever I require for when I am staying with you at the fantastic hotel.

Rudding Park should be extremely proud to have someone with such a high level of customer service within their nature working them.

Valerie always goes the extra mile to assist us in find us accommodation that we require which always meets our requirements and recently put together a fantastic voucher for me for my wife's 30th birthday present in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Rudding Park with the Trip Advisor community.

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park I hope your wife likes the voucher you've bought her for her birthday gift. We’re so glad that you're impressed with the service we provide and for your lovely comments complementing our Reservations Manager you can be assured that a copy of your comments will be past onto her. Guest comments are always a delight to read and act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park.

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Rudding Park to celebrate your Wife's birthday in the near future, do remember by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,587
    240
    52
    11
    5
See reviews for
327
1,725
36
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Arrived here Sunday evening after a 7 hour drive to be greeted very warmly by all the staff. Little confusion with time we would be able to eat dinner but the Concierge quickly dealt with this and fitted us in within 20 mins which is exactly what you want to hear after a tiring drive.
The hotel was beautiful and i was especially impressed with the room and amenities provided.
As it was World cup final i was very keen to watch it and this was arranged in their private cinema - didn't expect this but was a great way to watch the game. Throughout my three day business stay i enjoyed all aspects of the hotel particularly the restaurant but what deserves special mention is the excellent staff. Have already booked for next year and i am only disappointed i have not transferred my business here sooner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, the whole team are delighted that your Rudding experience was so enjoyable.

We were delighted to read that after a long tiring journey you found time to enjoy a meal in the Clocktower restaurant and start to relax before watching the World Cup Final which we were able to show in our cinema.

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Rudding Park we were delighted that you found the hotel beautiful and that you were impressed by your room and amenities. The Team at Rudding Park take great pride in their work and the praise we receive acts as a constant source of motivation to us all.

We hope to welcome you back to Rudding Park again soon, be sure to keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and service.

With kind regards



The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a family wedding we were well looked after the rooms were well appointed and all the staff were well trained and treated us well The wedding was fabulous excellent food and the rooms were beautifully decorated Only downsise no pool yet

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the wedding you were attending. Your comments complementing the rooms, food and staff are a delight to read and act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park.

I'm also pleased to be able to tell you that the next phase of our development is well under way and this will include a new swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool and further treatment rooms for our Spa. We hope to begin the project in late 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park in the near future, do be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and please book directly so that we can personally look after you once again.

With kind regards


The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have deliberated for nearly a week before writing this review. I am always absolutely honest in my reviews but our stay was a gift and so I wanted to be as positive as possible. I did consider a personal email to the hotel but if we don't share the bad with the good on TA, it defeats the object.

Overall, considering our whole stay, it was very good. The room was stunning … we were in the Follifoot Wing and the room was large with an excellent bathroom - separate shower and free-standing tub. In addition, we had a lovely terrace area that was not overlooked. Unfortunately, as with many hotels, there was only one comfy chair in the room despite it being a 'double' room. Apart from this, the room was absolutely spotless and very well equipped. The complimentary water beside the bed as part of the turndown service is always very welcome … nice touch.

Our package included dinner in the Clocktower Restaurant. We were seated in an area that seemed dedicated to couples … nice and quiet and definitely relaxing. The dinner was excellent but expensive … I guess that you get what you pay for. Unfortunately, our first choice of wine was out of stock … a little surprising considering the size of the hotel. The lamb and venison were perfectly cooked. I was a little surprised not to be given a sharp knife for the venison, but when it arrived, I found that I could probably have cut it with a fork … and it was not overdone … perfect and tender.

Unfortunately, breakfast the next morning was not so good. Cereal and fruit etc. are available from the buffet. Some of the fruit had run out when I went to the area. Cooked breakfast orders are taken by the staff and brought individually to the table. Initially we thought that this was a good idea as many buffet hot breakfasts are either cold or overdone. Unfortunately, our 'hot' breakfast took a long time to arrive and when it did arrive, it was quite small and was cold/tepid. As there were no staff around at this time and we wanted to make an early start, we decided to eat what was ok and head out. When a member of staff collected our plates, they saw that we had left a large part of the food and asked if it was alright. When we explained that it was mainly cold, they immediately went and called the restaurant manager who offered to bring another meal. Whilst this was a very good prompt response, in my book, the breakfast should have arrived hot in the first place.

Checkout proved to be the biggest problem of our stay. Despite having received confirmation of our gift voucher in writing and having handed in the voucher at check-in, the price of the package had been added to our bill. When I challenged this, I was informed that that was the price I had to pay. Fortunately, I still had the written confirmation of my booking confirming the use of the voucher. The young lady on reception took the confirmation and credited the voucher against our stay. Overall, the process took a long time and was acutely embarrassing … I would hate to think what the delay would have been if I hadn't had the confirmation.

In summary, a stunningly beautiful hotel with outstanding food, albeit expensive. Despite no mention of a pool on the website, I was surprised that there really wasn't one. I don't think that we have ever stayed at a hotel of this status that doesn't have an indoor pool. A fabulous gift but would we go back … ??

Room Tip: Room 261 has a lovely terrace that is not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We were delighted that your overall stay was good, enjoying the benefits of a room in our splendid Follifoot wing, and we have noted your comment as to their only being one chair in a room for two people.

We’re so glad that you chose to visit the Clocktower during your stay and enjoyed an excellent evening meal, equally we were disappointed this did not extend to breakfast. We can only apologise for your experience in our restaurant and reception on departure, these standards fall below those upon which we pride ourselves and we have put in place some retraining to prevent any further reoccurrences. I am pleased that you have now had the opportunity to speak to our Guest Services Manager.

Your comments complementing the beautiful hotel with outstanding food are all a delight to read and act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park. I am pleased to tell you that we are currently working hard with our architects to finalise the plans for our new development which includes an indoor pool and extension of our Spa in late 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthcawl
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

An excellent hotel in beautiful surroundings. All the staff were so helpful especially at reception and the concierge. On a very busy sunny Summer's day it certainly looked at its best. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing to stay with us here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that all the staff you encountered were helpful, we will be sure to pass on your complements, especially to the concierge and reception teams!

We’re equally delighted to read that the sun came out whilst you were with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon when it will hopefully be out again!

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Like a previous reviewer , I suspect we may have visited enough times now to be considered regulars, and as such am cautious about being to gushing in my reviews lest they sound sycophantic.

Because of previous experiences we always visit with high expectations and I can honestly say they are always met and usually exceeded. Have they always got everything right? of course not they are humans, but on the odd occasion there has been a "slip up" they have taken every step to put things right.

Great rooms, in a great hotel in great surroundings.

But by far the biggest asset is the great staff, all of whom from gardeners, to domestics, to porters, to reception, to bar and restaurant staff combine to make our stays so enjoyable. In fact even the management staff do their best ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us once again here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to write your lovely review.

It’s the highest compliment to our efforts in providing out guests with the highest standards of service, when they decided to return to us again and again so thank you for your continued support.

Your comments complementing all the staff, from the gardeners to housekeepers, porters, reception team as well as the bar and restaurant staff are a delight to read and will of course be shared with everyone here at Rudding Park.

We hope to see you back at Rudding Park again soon, as well as many more times after that! Do remember to keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and by booking directly with us we can guarantee the best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good quality hotel, very comfortable and good location.
Stayed several times and enjoyed each stay.
Clock tower food selection and quality very good, and the bar has a good selection of beer and spirits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us again here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much, we will be sure to pass on your comments to the relevant departments who will be equally as delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Reviews like your own act as a constant source of motivation for all the team, so thank you once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and do remember by booking with us directly we can guarantee the best available rates and special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.