We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated luxury but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Stays for £99.50
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Sophisticated luxury but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have deliberated for nearly a week before writing this review. I am always absolutely honest in my reviews but our stay was a gift and so I wanted to be as positive as possible. I did consider a personal email to the hotel but if we don't share the bad with the good on TA, it defeats the object.

Overall, considering our whole stay, it was very good. The room was stunning … we were in the Follifoot Wing and the room was large with an excellent bathroom - separate shower and free-standing tub. In addition, we had a lovely terrace area that was not overlooked. Unfortunately, as with many hotels, there was only one comfy chair in the room despite it being a 'double' room. Apart from this, the room was absolutely spotless and very well equipped. The complimentary water beside the bed as part of the turndown service is always very welcome … nice touch.

Our package included dinner in the Clocktower Restaurant. We were seated in an area that seemed dedicated to couples … nice and quiet and definitely relaxing. The dinner was excellent but expensive … I guess that you get what you pay for. Unfortunately, our first choice of wine was out of stock … a little surprising considering the size of the hotel. The lamb and venison were perfectly cooked. I was a little surprised not to be given a sharp knife for the venison, but when it arrived, I found that I could probably have cut it with a fork … and it was not overdone … perfect and tender.

Unfortunately, breakfast the next morning was not so good. Cereal and fruit etc. are available from the buffet. Some of the fruit had run out when I went to the area. Cooked breakfast orders are taken by the staff and brought individually to the table. Initially we thought that this was a good idea as many buffet hot breakfasts are either cold or overdone. Unfortunately, our 'hot' breakfast took a long time to arrive and when it did arrive, it was quite small and was cold/tepid. As there were no staff around at this time and we wanted to make an early start, we decided to eat what was ok and head out. When a member of staff collected our plates, they saw that we had left a large part of the food and asked if it was alright. When we explained that it was mainly cold, they immediately went and called the restaurant manager who offered to bring another meal. Whilst this was a very good prompt response, in my book, the breakfast should have arrived hot in the first place.

Checkout proved to be the biggest problem of our stay. Despite having received confirmation of our gift voucher in writing and having handed in the voucher at check-in, the price of the package had been added to our bill. When I challenged this, I was informed that that was the price I had to pay. Fortunately, I still had the written confirmation of my booking confirming the use of the voucher. The young lady on reception took the confirmation and credited the voucher against our stay. Overall, the process took a long time and was acutely embarrassing … I would hate to think what the delay would have been if I hadn't had the confirmation.

In summary, a stunningly beautiful hotel with outstanding food, albeit expensive. Despite no mention of a pool on the website, I was surprised that there really wasn't one. I don't think that we have ever stayed at a hotel of this status that doesn't have an indoor pool. A fabulous gift but would we go back … ??

Room Tip: Room 261 has a lovely terrace that is not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We were delighted that your overall stay was good, enjoying the benefits of a room in our splendid Follifoot wing, and we have noted your comment as to their only being one chair in a room for two people.

We’re so glad that you chose to visit the Clocktower during your stay and enjoyed an excellent evening meal, equally we were disappointed this did not extend to breakfast. We can only apologise for your experience in our restaurant and reception on departure, these standards fall below those upon which we pride ourselves and we have put in place some retraining to prevent any further reoccurrences. I am pleased that you have now had the opportunity to speak to our Guest Services Manager.

Your comments complementing the beautiful hotel with outstanding food are all a delight to read and act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park. I am pleased to tell you that we are currently working hard with our architects to finalise the plans for our new development which includes an indoor pool and extension of our Spa in late 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,045
    292
    64
    11
    5
See reviews for
400
2,011
40
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
porthcawl
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel in beautiful surroundings. All the staff were so helpful especially at reception and the concierge. On a very busy sunny Summer's day it certainly looked at its best. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing to stay with us here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that all the staff you encountered were helpful, we will be sure to pass on your complements, especially to the concierge and reception teams!

We’re equally delighted to read that the sun came out whilst you were with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon when it will hopefully be out again!

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Like a previous reviewer , I suspect we may have visited enough times now to be considered regulars, and as such am cautious about being to gushing in my reviews lest they sound sycophantic.

Because of previous experiences we always visit with high expectations and I can honestly say they are always met and usually exceeded. Have they always got everything right? of course not they are humans, but on the odd occasion there has been a "slip up" they have taken every step to put things right.

Great rooms, in a great hotel in great surroundings.

But by far the biggest asset is the great staff, all of whom from gardeners, to domestics, to porters, to reception, to bar and restaurant staff combine to make our stays so enjoyable. In fact even the management staff do their best ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us once again here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to write your lovely review.

It’s the highest compliment to our efforts in providing out guests with the highest standards of service, when they decided to return to us again and again so thank you for your continued support.

Your comments complementing all the staff, from the gardeners to housekeepers, porters, reception team as well as the bar and restaurant staff are a delight to read and will of course be shared with everyone here at Rudding Park.

We hope to see you back at Rudding Park again soon, as well as many more times after that! Do remember to keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and by booking directly with us we can guarantee the best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good quality hotel, very comfortable and good location.
Stayed several times and enjoyed each stay.
Clock tower food selection and quality very good, and the bar has a good selection of beer and spirits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us again here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much, we will be sure to pass on your comments to the relevant departments who will be equally as delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Reviews like your own act as a constant source of motivation for all the team, so thank you once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and do remember by booking with us directly we can guarantee the best available rates and special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our second stay at Rudding Park.
First time round we had a few niggles but this stay was excellent.
We had a Follyfoot Wing Spa Room which was spacious and luxurious.
Dinner in the Clocktower restaurant was delicious, as was breakfast the next morning.
All in all, an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Follyfoot Wing rooms are worth the extra tariff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Guest Relations Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again here at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad to hear that having experienced a few ‘niggles’ on your previous visit you enjoyed your second stay with us so much. We indeed strive to provide all our guests with the highest standards of service and are delighted that on this occasion the standards we pride ourselves upon were met.

Your comments complementing the Clocktower when you dined at both breakfast and dinner, have of course been passed on to the team, who are equally as delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Once again thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Rudding Park in the near future. Do remember when next making a reservation, by booking with us directly we can guarantee the nest available rates.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked to stay at Rudding Park as part of a spa break which included dinner, bed & breakfast and a spa treatment. The hotel is beautiful both inside and out. We were made to feel very welcome by every member of staff who couldn't do enough to help you. The room we stayed in (Follifoot Wing Spa Room) was absolutely amazing with a huge bed and tasteful décor, the bathroom had a gorgeous roll top bath and our own private steam room. The spa area of the hotel is lovely and the massages we had as our chosen treatments were the best we've ever had! The evening meal in the Clocktower restaurant was wonderful. Delicious, well presented food, served in lovely surroundings. Breakfast the following morning was excellent too, with a vast continental selection and cooked menu. We would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Follifoot Wing Spa Room - Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Rudding Park with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were made to feel so special. Your comments complementing the beautiful Spa room with its big bed and roll top bath, and staff that were nice and friendly are all a delight to read, equally our team in the Clocktower are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience. Your comments act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park in the near future, do be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and please do book directly so that we can personally look after you on your return.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After reading all the great reviews for years we have been looking forward to finally seeing for ourselves what all the hype is about. We celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary and wanted to do something special.
We booked a spa room with steam room and upon arrival had been upgraded to one of the spa suites. This was a lovely room and I already didn't want to come home.
We both had a spa treatment which was lovely. We would have booked extra ones but were put off by the £15 per treatment weekend supplement.
Instead we relaxed in the room prior to dinner.
We enjoyed our food and the staff were fantastic, however the set up of tables always puts me off somewhat with rows of 2x2, we could hear both sides conversations so somewhat put us off ours. The couple on one side were not enjoying the food and were saying rather loudly how much so whilst eating it all up! We made our escape before it turned nasty! A bit off putting for your anniversary meal. And a somewhat pin in our bubble.
As a result we paid £10 to have our breakfast in our room. Just to avoid this. For a treat we were happy to pay, but the toast arrived cold and no butter. Other bits we had ordered were not on the tray but we didn't want to bother anyone yet again. As a result we felt a little let down especially for the surcharge we had paid.
Would we return? Possibly and probably. For the price we paid it is a lot of money to justify for one night to have to listen to other people's problems in public and have small things overlooked. On the other hand we've returned home to the kids feeling relaxed and money can't buy you that!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park for your Anniversary and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Happy Anniversary once again from all of us.

We’re so glad that you chose to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary with us and enjoyed one of our Spa suites which left you feeling relaxed and special .Your comments complementing the hotel room, the staff and beautiful surroundings of Rudding Park are all a delight to read and act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Rudding Park.

We can only apologise that the table set up in the restaurant was not to your liking and caused you to be disturbed by other guests which I am sure you will understand is not easily controlled. Equally we were disappointed that the treat you had arranged for yourselves of breakfast in bed had items missing, this falls below the standards upon which we pride ourselves and we have put in place some retraining to prevent any further reoccurrences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park, and do remember that by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rate and latest special offers.

Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Follifoot
2.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 33 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#15 of 33 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 88 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.