We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
lytham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Magnificent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as part of a golf society. This hotel from the moment we checked in till the moment we checked out was five star. The young gent on the front desk gave us a lovely welcome. The rooms were really comfortable spacious really clean and modern. The food and service at our meal in the evening was top class. This hotel is simply fantastic and I will be returning in the near future. The golf course is fairly forgiving if though a little long.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,841
    271
    58
    11
    5
See reviews for
363
1,885
38
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

First stayed at Rudding in November/December 2012 and then again this summer, both visits were excellent. Great hotel, great facilities and one of the best rooms I've stayed in. The staff were all friendly and very helpful, but a special thanks to Danielle in the restaurant for putting up with all every night! Rudding Park is a perfect location for us and I'm sure we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a short stay at Rudding Park, having stayed a number of times in years gone by I was looking forward to our stay.

As always, the hotel staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel sets such a high standard that I was then disappointed by the service at breakfast, service was acceptable but not particularly warm and friendly, we were left to clear some coffee that our waitress accidentally spilt, we fully appreciate that accidents happen and while she was quick to give us a new menu that the coffee had been spilt on, she then left the coffee for us to clear up.

This aside, everything else was excellent but we certainly felt that the warmth of staff at the reception and throughout the hotel were not matched by those in the bar and restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for your review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you received such a warm welcome. However, we were sorry that you felt the service at breakfast was not ‘warm and friendly’ and felt it didn’t match the ‘excellent’ service throughout the hotel. Guest service is incredibly important to us and making our guests feel comfortable is fundamental as such we were shocked to hear that you had been made to feel otherwise. We have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager, Stephane Legendre who has of course carried out additional training with all of his team reminding them of the importance of guest services and we can assure you that such an error will not be repeated.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, so we can ensure you receive the best possible service and leave feeling relaxed.

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recently reviewed Ruddying Park and my disappointment in it being so inconsistent . I had a reply from the guest relations asking me to contact them . I will always give credit where it is due and once I had sent my details they duly contacted me . After a lengthy discussion in which they actively listened to my concerns we resolved them.It is rare that Hotels / Restaurants do reply to you when you have not been happy. There are some excellent reviews on this Hotel so if like myself you visit and you are genuinely are not happy then do bring it to their attention . I am confident after talking to them they will do everything within the power to resolve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The most Magical place to stay
All the staff treat guest with friendly Yorkshire respect.
First class service from Paulo & his team in the Clock tower Restaurant
If you enjoy that feeling of receiving a warm welcome & excellent food & service combined with a sumptuous bed to lay down your head -- Rudding Park needs to be at the top of your list
A Very Special Place to Visit Exceptional Place to Stay !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel on my way to Scotland having driven from Kent. I was most definitely not disappointed. I was greeted by one of the very friendly and helpful porters, the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful and so it continued for my overnight stay. I stayed in Room 165 which is one of the new rooms near to the Spa - very convenient for having a treatment.

I then stayed for a second time on my way back from Scotland a week later and again nothing could be faulted.

This hotel has to be one of the best I have stayed in and they certainly know what "Customer Service" is. Comfortable, safe and quiet.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and would most certainly recommend it to anyone travelling in this area - which by the way has some lovely scenery especially along the A65.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed three nights at Rudding Park last week for our wedding anniversary. We chose the hotel from a tripadvisor search for hotels in Harrogate and the rating as "the best hotel in England" was a draw and gave us a mental high bar bar for the hotel to meet when we arrived.

Well, it reaches that bar! The location is great, set in rolling parkland with superb golfing facilities, just a 10 min taxi ride to Harrogate town centre. The hotel building is lovely, a country house that has been sympathetically extended. Inside it's very contemporary in design, with all the mod-cons you'd expect. Staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough for you.

We've been fortunate to stay in some wonderful hotels and Rudding can certainly hold it's own in their company. I've been trying to think of a little niggle to report but I can't come up with anything.

Well done to all the staff.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 88 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.