We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Wedding Blessing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Yorkshire Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wedding Blessing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After a six month search for a venue for our long awaited small family wedding blessing, we chose Rudding Park. Thank goodness we did, because it was 'amazing'. From the moment we arrived the magic begun. The Staff did everything they possibly could to make our special occasion fabulous. The Reception Staff couldn't do enough to make welcome, happy and comfortable. Whilst we were escorted to our spacious and lovely Suite (259), our car was being unpacked and parked up for us. Our cake was quickly whisked away to the kitchen for careful storage. Our suit carriers were hung up for us in our wardrobes, and there was also a welcome card. Our Suite (259) was superbly presented and we enjoyed getting ready in it for our Wedding, it was perfect.

I then visited the Spa, it was spotless and top class. A perfect start to our stay at the Hotel, and I would highly recommend it. Very relaxing and luxurious, with lovely Staff.

We had dinner on the eve of our Wedding in the Clocktower Restaurant, the service was fantastic, 5 star and our food was delicious. The ambience and decor was perfect, with a gorgeous pink chandelier, very romantic.

The next day was perfect. We had our own Duty Manager for the day, (Nick), and he looked after the co-ordination. He went above and beyond to ensure everything went seamlessly, he is a credit to Rudding Park and we thank him very much.

The Chapel was filled with candlelight provided by Colette at the Hotel, and again, she went above and beyond. So many, many candles, it was enchanting. It took our breath away.

Afterwards we had canapés and champagne in the library, which is so chic and trendy, with a swing seat hanging from the ceiling. Can't wait to see our pictures of it! Our Wedding Breakfast was held in Private Dining Room of the Clocktower Restaurant. It had been beautifully decorated on our behalf, and our mini wedding cake was displayed on a magnificent cake stand with a very impressive cake knife. Again, the very best. The service and attention we received in the Private Dining Room was outstanding. It was of the highest level of service and professionalism. The Restaurant Manager kindly laid up the same room so that we could have a private family breakfast the next morning. A bowl of fruit had even been decorated with chocolate ladybirds for my nephew.

We were especially bowled over by how amazing the Staff were with my three year old nephew. He was given a football on arrival, his name was written in foam letters in the bathtub and someone brought him a warm cookie with his name on shortly after he had arrived. We are so grateful for how welcome he was made to feel. RP is a very child friendly hotel.

When we checked out our car was returned to us at the entrance of the Hotel and it had been carefully repacked for us! Again, super service.

We cannot thank the Staff at Rudding Park enough for making our special occasion so wonderful.
Their thoughtfulness and special touches made our stay magic. Every single member of Staff is a true professional and gave the highest level of service, we are so very grateful to them for making our very special occasion a treasured memory.

Rudding Park is truly five star. If anyone is looking for somewhere to celebrate a special occasion or wedding, choose Rudding Park and you will not be disappointed.

Thank you to RP and we look forward to checking in again soon.

Room Tip: Suite 259 is spacious, has a lovely bedroom. Steam room and private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,630
    246
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
331
1,745
37
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to celebrate a significant birthday of mine last year. On arrival it was raining and a very kind member of staff came out with umbrellas to ensure a dry transition from the car park to the hotel. When checking in I was wished happy birthday by the team at reception which was very kind. When shown to our room (which was in the follifoot new extension) there was a birthday card and bottle of champagne waiting for me (think my partner organised the champ) but the card was a nice surprise. The room was fantastic and the bathroom was pure luxury. The whole look and feel of the place just oozes relaxation and if you aren't relaxed enough then they have a wonderful spa run by a very professional team. We both had treatments and would recommend a massage!

We will be returning this year and hopefully years to come....

Thank you Rudding park for being so perfect

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was my birthday and I wanted a treat. We saw that Rudding Park had just won best hotel so thought it would be perfect to go there. We went on the special Celebrate with Us deal they had - champagne, dinner, bed and breakfast. I also booked in for a spa treatment.

We have stayed at lots of hotel, eaten in many fabulous restaurants and worked in the Hospitality and Catering industry aswell.

The staff are a credit to this hotel, always smiling, always saying hello/good evening.

Our sat nav didn't want to work so we needed driving directions printing out as we fancied a trip to Tropical World and the receptionist told us she often goes there and started telling us about the animals we'd meet including meerkats, snakes and butterflies!

We loved the hi-tec features of the room - including the room key, the do not disturb button, the lights, the heating and the underfloor heating in the bathroom- great. i want to install it at home!

Our room was a Folifoot room on the ground floor and we had a terrace with a great view of sculptures and gardens- shame it was February and not sitting outside weather.

As it was my birthday there was a hand written card and a large carton of Rudding Park fudge as a present - I felt very spoilt.

There was also our champagne waiting for us too.

The mini bar was the most impressive mini bar I have ever seen with a sideboard full and a fridge full too. We had brought cake to celebrate with and there was room in the fridge for that- I'm rather thankful it wasnt an automatic fridge like in some hotels. We are not fans of UHT milk so requested fresh milk and that was brought to our room instantly as were foam pillows.

We were impressed with the Molton Brown toiletries - they smelt soo good!

I had a spa treatment with Amy it was beautiful-it started with filling in a form, then a short wait of about 15 minutes, I was taken through to the treatment area and given a robe and slippers to change into (free lockers), there was a steam room to use for free but I preferred just going straight for my treatment. My treatment started with a scented eye mask and scalp massage, then a beautiful Reflexology Foot Massage- fabulous very relaxing just a shame it was over so quickly. The oils and creams used smelt so good. After my treatment I carried on relaxing in the chill-out room with complimentary pot of tea and a strawberry macaroon.

We loved the quirky fun library with it's funky sofa and hanging chair- I want to redecorate my own lounge to look like it.

We had dinner in the conservatory with the 400 year old olive tree. As we were on a d,b,b, offer we had £38 credit to use. The food was delicious but if you have large appetites (like us) it may be advisable to order sides of veg/potato/bread to go alongside your main courses.

The steak we had were cooked to perfection and the chocolate marquis dessert was splendid!

They do offer wine by the glass, you will need to ask for this though.

When we returned to our room we had free bottles of still water waiting for us and an uber cute red ladybird wooden massager! I can imagine if you have kids they could make up bedtime stories or take them on adventures. (She now has pride of place on our mantelpiece we love her so much!)

In the morning before we left we wanted to walk around the grounds. The reception staff gave us a walking map of the various walks available to us- we choose the 40 minute one - it is winter after all! It was lovley to see the parkland, the sculptures and have a peek into the onsite church.

Breakfast was delicious- My other half had the full english. I am fussy so I had haddock, hollandaise sauce and a toasted muffin. The haddock was cooked perfectly.

I would have liked a larger choice of bread/s or pastries and maybe smoked fish and cheeses on the buffet but the rest was very delicious with yogurt, cereals, fruit compote, apples, oranges, croissants, ham and sliced cheese aswell as fruit juice and smoothie.

Sadly we had to check out, our stay had flown over far too quickly, the staff offered to carry our bags to our car and asked if there was anything else we needed before we left.

We drove out of Rudding Park feeling sad as we had to leave but glad we had found a wonderful hotel and now feel like part of a special club having experienced such good customer service.

If you do have any comments/queries or with any of the customer service you do receive at the hotel, do contact the hotel direct (so they can help rectify it )prior to posting here. They are a fabulous hotel and high customer service is top priority to them- you may well be surprised at how well they deal with any comments you have.

Slight aside that made us both smile...in the guest directory in the room
"In the event of an emergency-please dial 666"

Room Tip: Folifoot ground floor rooms have a terrace and views of the grounds If its a special occasion- te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

We are not sure where to start with thanking you for writing such an AMAZING review following your recent stay with us – you make your stay sound so good and we would all like to book a room for our birthday’s now.

Your words are so kind and have made everybody’s day, your review has been emailed out to everyone this morning so they can see how much you enjoyed your stay – thank you so much for this motivation.

Dotty our ladybird was so impressed you gave her a special mention and to be called ‘uber cute’ has completely made her day. Next time you stay you will receive her brother or sister…..!
Shanna our receptionist is always out and about on her days off so loves recommending places to visit for our guests, Tropical World is a favourite of hers – especially the meerkats.
Your Spa treatment sounds perfect how relaxing, we wonder if you treated yourself to some oils to take home?

Thank you for your comments regarding a larger choice of breads and pastries, smoked fish and cheeses on the buffet. We do offer a smoked haddock on our cooked breakfast and would have happily provided some more bread and cheese for you. We hope you tried our homemade muesli it is simply delicious.

Thank you also for your comments regarding our guest service, you are correct, excellent guest service is top priority to all of us.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon.


With kind regards
The Rudding Park Team

PS. We were glad you didn’t have to dial 666!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed on previous occasions which prompted us to re-book for a special family event.
We booked and were all suitably upgraded once the management team got wind of a pending marriage proposal. From that point the staff worked with us to initiate a truly wonderful stay. We were all upgraded, our daughters room was decorated with flowers candles and champagne.The staff were brilliant - Julia, Pru, Shanna and Charlotte need a special mention however all the staff make you feel extra special. We would highly recommend a stay here great staff lovely building and great location. Thanks everyone looking forward to our next visit. Kevin & Michele Burke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Rudding Park on half a dozen occasions, one being a superb three day Xmas holiday. On one visit last year I thought their standards had dropped off a little, still very good, but not as good as previous visits.
Last weekend, we went on one of their 'offers', a one night stay with dinner and breakfast.
From the moment we arrived until we left, we have never experienced such high quality in every aspect of hotel services... and we have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the World.
Receptions warm and friendly welcome set off a memorable day, all the staff smile! We had a light lunch in the conservatory, served by an Italian young lady who's professionalism, charm and friendliness was exemplary.
Our Follifoot room was immaculate, tastefully decorated and the bathroom, just super.
That evening the we had pre dinner drinks in the bar where staff want to please, be friendly and serve. Dinner was a wonderful event, from the maitre de who took us to our table to the charming waitresses; under guidance from Nico (a real gem), to the chefs, I can only say a massive 'Thank you'.
You are a credit to the hotel and yourselves.
Rudding Park has surpassed it's previous very high standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I bought this for my husband for his 30th birthday on the spa, stay & dine. Value for money !
The staff couldn't do enough for us to ensure my husbands 30th went smoothly. I wanted to put balloons and a homemade hamper in our room as a surprise, after consulting reservations before arriving, upon arrival the staff knew straight away what needed to happen. Sarah on reception was amazing and everything she did from checking us in to making sure the balloons and hamper were taken from the boot of our car to setting them up in our room were perfect. You are a credit!!!
Whilst waiting for our room ( that supposedly wasn't ready ;) because of the surprise ) we sat in the clock tower lounge for tapas and 2 glasses of complimentary champagne :) again service was fantastic.
We booked into a follifoot room room 164 ( worth the extra money) WOW! What a stunning room! we had a lovely view of the grounds, complimentary bottle of fizz, molton brown toiletries ( our favourite) a sauna in our room, bath , shower, safe, mini bar. I could go on and on.
You get dotty the ladybird along with water and option for breakfast in bed on turn down. ( it's the little things that count)
We booked in for our 40minute back massage, leaving and feeling very relaxed . The only things that Rudding misses is a swimming pool.
We booked for 8pm in the clock tower for our evening meal. Service was very good , with a lovely selection of food. Robert was our waiter for the evening, again another member of staff that was attention to detail in every single way and is yet another credit to the hotel.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in, and will be returning soon.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us for your husband’s 30th birthday and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your experience. We are all so thrilled that you both enjoyed it so much and that you especially appreciated some of our extra little touches, like Dotty, your bottle of fizz and our Molton Brown toiletries for example.

You couldn’t have picked a more perfect girl to help with your surprise hamper and balloons. Sarah just loves secrets and surprises and is a great asset to the Reception team at Rudding Park, thank you so much for giving her a special mention.

It is wonderful that we are one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Rudding Park soon. (maybe for your birthday treat…..!)


With kind regards
The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The first time we stayed at Rudding Park we were overwhelmed by many aspect of this wonderful hotel. My husband's birthday in a Follifoot wing room was made extra special by a complimentary bottle of champagne and a personally written card. The room was absolutely spotless and had every possible item you could wish for. We purchased a room for our daughter and son in law's wedding anniversary as a gift and they were as impressed as we were. We returned for my birthday on an offer price and although not in the Follifoot Wing, our room was spacious, comfortable,and again spotlessly clean.The food was scrumptious with a varied and interesting menu.What makes this hotel shine apart from all the points mentioned are the staff. It is rare to see so many people who seem so happy in their work! Everyone greets you warmly from the moment you arrive, (the porter actually ran down the drive to take our bags) and without being intrusive, all staff are so friendly and kind it is a joy to be there. Well done to the Management also who seem to know how to get the best from everyone! We would recommend this hotel, and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: The recently built Follifoot Wing has outstanding rooms, modern, spacious, well stocked mini bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.