We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few niggles but still a great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Yorkshire Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
birmingham
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Few niggles but still a great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had an overnight stay here a few months ago, my wife was on business in Harrogate so I had the day to myself to sample the hotel's facilities. The welcome on arrival is great, the doorman one of the nicest I have met. The spa was spotless and the gym full of equipment, ideal for a good pre-dinner workout. A hotel of this prestige should have a swimming pool though. Room was very pleasant plenty of space with free internet that actually worked. A fridge would have been welcome but this was lacking, there was also no evening turn down service unless we were just missed off the rota. The breakfast was excellent and there was no problem having an later check out while my wife completed her work. All the staff were wonderful, food in the clock tower restaurant is pretty disappointing (see separate review) but despite a few faults I would certainly stay here again although would probably not have an evening meal here.

Room Tip: Only suites appear to have a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us a few months ago with your wife and for taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased that the majority of your stay went so well and that you felt your welcome, our Porter, the Spa and the Gym were so good. We are sorry that your room did not have a fridge in it, all our Follifoot Wing rooms do have fridges in as standard, however our Ribston Wing rooms do not. Our Reservations team pride themselves on offering you both our room types at the time of booking so we can only presume that you decided to book on of our more traditional Ribston Wing rooms. We are also happy to provide a mini fridge for our guests during their stay should they request one.

We are sorry that you did not receive our complimentary turn down service and can only apologise for what must have been human error. We run a very efficient turn down service and had we known on the evening that we had missed your room any member of our team is trained to come and carry out our turn down procedure, we are sorry that you did not let us know when you retired to your room. Please be assured that our Head Housekeeper, Rachel Park has since carried out some retraining on her turndown team to ensure this does not happen again.

We are also all very upset that you felt the food in the Clocktower was disappointing. The Food and Beverage team work very hard to provide the best for our guests and are all sorry that on this occasion we did not. I am sorry that you did not let us know whilst you were here about your disappointment as we would have tried our best to put things right for you and replaced any dishes you were not happy with. I understand that our Guest Services Manager, Stephen Mahon has tried to contact you personally to discuss your disappointment in more detail.

Once again thank you for your review and we are pleased that you would stay here again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon.

With kind regards

Nuno César de Sá
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    246
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
331
1,746
37
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Faultless is the correct description. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food is excellent. It's always a pleasure to stay here. I will book a night in the spring with my wife and another couple to share this experience. The boys can have a round of golf and the girls can enjoy a spa session.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us again and for writing your second review. Faultless – wow! How amazing and for you to say it is always a pleasure to stay here really makes us smile.

It is great that you will be returning in the spring with your wife and another couple and what a perfect ide, the men play golf and the ladies relax in the Spa!

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park in the spring if not before.

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I don't think I can add anything more to the deservedly great reviews this hotel receives. Staff could not have been nicer. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for, and certainly worth it. We had a relaxing time in the spa, with massage, and a lovely dinner. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakham united kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Food excellent and service exceptional !
Reason being that the staff enjoying working here as much as we do staying there !
One night not enough !everything 101% .
My wife had a day in the Spa ... As good as ( if not indeed better)as any she has visited . Amy a credit to the Hotel.
We will be back ..and very soon
Chris Clifford

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm writing this as we pack to head home after a lovely weekend break to celebrate my birthday. The service and friendliness of the staff has been excellent from the moment we arrived. Nothing is too much trouble. We had a spa treatment on the Friday evening which was lovely and relaxing. Plenty of choice of treatments and friendly knowledgeable staff. We ate in the Clocktower restaurant on both evenings. The food choice and standard was excellent (as was the service) and the wine list was very good. A complimentary half bottle of bubbly on arrival (for my birthday) was a nice touch, as was the birthday chocolates after our meal.The whole hotel is spotlessly clean. The bar is very good and relaxing with plenty of cocktails to choose from and friendly staff. The gym was nice with a good choice and standard of equipment. The grounds were lovely and extensive allowing for a nice pre-dinner walk. Our room (near the spa) was very nicely designed and decorated with excellent wi-fi coverage and a very comfortable bed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely return. The facilities, location, decoration, etc are all excellent. However, the thing that made the stay extra special was the attitude of the staff who were perfect.

Room Tip: We were in 166 on the ground floor near the spa which would be an ideal choice in summer as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

stayed 2 nights and the room was the most comfortable we had ever stayed in and extremely clean,the staff really make this place they are so friendly polite and very welcoming without being over the top
couple of negatives...we had some bottles of water removed when we had our room cleaned which we clearly hadnt finished with and if we had we would have thrown them in the bin ourselves and as the water in the mini bar was nearly £5 not too happy..so dont think maids should be removing anything that isnt in the bin
breakast...oh dear ..first morning most of mine was quite cold, egg very undercooked. on the 2nd day the portion we had could have fitted on a tea plate, in fact thought some of the items were missing,,, half a small tomatoe a mushroon the size of a 50p and burnt, the half piece of black pudding was also burnt to a crisp so not able to eat it.There was no one about to mention this too as the retaurant was very quiet, by the time the lady did come over to check if all was ok it was too late and we couldnt be bothered to cause any fuss.

Not sure if it depends on who the chef is as portion size and way it was cooked differed greatly ?
Also as the staff are sooo nice ts quite hard to complain which sounds silly and in hindsight and fairness we should have mentioned it. For the price of the breakfast we did expect better and more of it
feel bad about being negative but wont jump on the bandwagon and praise it.. we can only comment honestly about how we found our breakfasts too be.
But to end on a positive note the staff are wonderful and they make your stay and sorry to be negative about our breakfast experience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review following your experience.

We were all thrilled that you felt the room and staff were fantastic and that the team were so friendly, polite and welcoming! This is exactly what we would like to be and we are really pleased that you felt this.

I am however very sorry that you felt your cooked breakfast was so disappointing and can only apologise for this. We are all also really sorry that you felt you could not let us know during your breakfast or on check out that your breakfast was not up to the standard you expected. We pride ourselves on providing the best to our guests and are always very upset when we do not achieve this. We would have happily replaced your breakfast or spoken to you personally on check out about your experience in order to put things right. Our Head Chef, Eddie Gray has since spoken to his breakfast team to ensure that our portion sizes are consistent at all times.

I am also very sorry about the removal of the water in your room that you had not finished with.
Please be assured that our Head Housekeeper, Rachel Park has carried out some re training on her team to ensure that this does not happen again.

I understand that our Guest Services Manager, Stephen Mahon has spoken to you personally and you will receive a letter from myself in the next few days.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon.

With kind regards

Nuno César de Sá
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at Rudding Park Hotel overnight before going on to York. Rudding Park is an excellent hotel, beautiful surrounding, fabulous accomodation and the staff are a credit to their profession. Overall one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and will definately stay again. Fabulous Hotel. Nice birthday treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.